We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places to visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broomhill Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Muddiford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have visited Broomhill several times, loving the tranquilly and charm of the surroundings. Renus and Aniet have lived there for seventeen years and over the last ten we have watched it improve and grow. They work incredibly hard and have built up an amazing collection of sculpture and art to share with their guests. It was the first time that we had stayed at the hotel and it was tremendous fun, Quaint, quirky and rather like staying in an art gallery! Welcoming hosts, comfortable room, good breakfast and excellent tapas lunch on the terrace. Temptation was too much in the gallery and we came away clutching a Carol Peace statuette to add to our collection. A great place to visit. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just spent a wonderful night at the Art Hotel. The art is so inspiring, it was a real privilege to stay in the lovely, light, airy room, surrounded by paintings and sculptures. The food was delicious, unhurried and extremely good value, again served in the middle of a gallery! The gardens are well worth the visit on their own, without the great overnight package! A real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night during a cycling holiday. Hotel were quite happy to store our bikes undercover over night. Room was a very good size though shower was small. Service was good and friendly. We'd booked a room and dinner deal which was very good value. Due to the heat wave the normal dinner menu had been substituted with Tapas which was served outside overlooking the sculpture garden. Make sure you leave time to enjoy a good stroll around the sculptures. Breakfast was good too.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank carl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

the sculpture gardens are a great place to visit there are a very wide range of works of art to suite all tastes, the sculptures are very well laid out, you want to keep going around the next corner, we want to revisit and take more time. we had a very interesting light lunch, the food was great the staff lovely, we want to stay at the hotel the next time we visit

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful relaxing place to stay. With a fantastic wooded valley gardens full of fantastic varied sculpture. Wonderful food, and all topped off with great hosts. We will definitely stay again. The best short break we have had away for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went here for the set lunch menu which included entry to the sculpture gardens. The whole time there was delightful, the setting is tranquil, the food delicious, excellent service and great value for money, plus lots of art and sculptures to give you plenty to think about. One of the best days of our holiday and I would recommend it to everyone, although the gardens wouldn't be great for buggys or people in wheelchairs, but access to the hotel itself would be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight with our dog, which was warmly welcomed to the hotel. It was refreshingly different, with fascinating art both in the hotel and the grounds. The menu was varied and interesting, with a range of exciting dishes for dinner, whilst the breakfast was slightly different from the norm too. The dog was not allowed in the restaurant, so she slept in the car whilst we dined.
Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathBugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muddiford
2.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
685 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#7 of 29 in Barnstaple
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhill Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhill Art Hotel

Address: Muddiford Road | Barnstaple, Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Muddiford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muddiford
Price Range: $97 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhill is a late Victorian hotel with six light and airy bedrooms.The Hotel lies in one of the most glorious valleys in North Devon surrounded by hundreds of acres of woodland and bound by its own stream. The Broomhill Sculpture Park displays one of the largest permanent collections of contemporary art and sculpture in the South West.The Broomhill restaurant ‘Terra Madre’ has won the North Devon Food Awards five times due to its high standards and commitment in using the best of local produce. Terra Madre’s Mediterranean, Slow Food inspired dishes are created using fresh, organic, fair trade produce from neighbouring farms and the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Broomhill Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing