We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broomhill Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Muddiford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family run hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great family friendly hotel, the staff were very helpful and accomodating. We stayed with our three children and dog and were very well looked after. The food is all locally sourced, home made and absolutely delicious. The sculpture gardens are lovely with a super collection, well worth coming just to enjoy that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    77
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
182
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, owners and hosts. Beautiful surroundings with enjoyable and well presented food. The art within the hotel and the gardens was very interesting and quirky! Something very different yet homely and friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bits1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were recommended this place by a friend who sang the praises of the food, both at lunch and in the evening. We didn't eat, we went for the gardens and sculpture. It was magical! You buy your tickets at the hotel reception but if you book a lunchtime special, the gardens are free. The hotel is situated in a valley of trees with a river at the bottom. A perfect place to see large sculptures. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and the hotel has a wonderful sprawling, study, library feel with big fireplaces. Worth a detour just for a coffee and a few glimpses of the sculptures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

On the advice of friends, we stopped by for lunch before driving back to London and were very pleasantly surprised. Everyone was very friendly. The art work about the hotel was beautiful. We were seated in a small but very comfortable library full of art and cookery books and could easily spent hours browsing. Most important, the tapas we choose for lunch were absolutely delicious especially the croquettes! Excellent value and would recommend it to anyone in the locality. It was certainly the best food we had over a long week-end in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivepicker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have introduced this restaurant to many of our friends and they she all loved it.
The Christmas menu is wonderful and we have loved seeing the different sculptures and the park expand .
Excellent value for money and outstanding staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited the restaurant at the Broomhill Art Hotel one evening in October 2012 and had a very enjoyable dinner. Meals sometimes not seen on menus. I had Ox cheek and it was delicious. My sister and her husband have been there on one or two occasions and said that the chef did 'quirky' i.e. something different meals. Whilst waiting to be seated we viewed the art gallery, some to our taste others erm...to be decided. Our meals were very enjoyable and the waitresses attentive, no uniforms but that didn't seem to matter. The down side was that we were led to a table off of the first room which was quite brightly lit, dimmer lighting would have been more acceptable. Nothing was rushed and we'd definitely like to go back there again when we visit my sister in Eastacombe. One of your best bookings ....sister.... We'd also like to go back for a lunch perhaps in the Spring or Summer when we can view the Sculptures in the gardens and then sit and linger with a nice lunch and a drink.

Room Tip: Sorry but cannot complete all entries required as it was an evening visit when all was in darkness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have a holiday home in North Devon and decided to take some visitors for sunday lunch at Broomhill. It was well worth the trip.The meal was excellent value with an impressive choice on the menu. The service was good. After the meal we greatly enjoyed viewing the art on display in the gallery as well as the marvellous selection of scultures in the garden. Our friends were impressed by this special place in North Devon, One couple purchased an unusual ceramic bowl that had been produced by a local artist!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muddiford
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
542 reviews
7.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhill Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhill Art Hotel

Property: Broomhill Art Hotel
Address: Muddiford Road | Barnstaple, Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Muddiford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muddiford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhill is a late Victorian hotel with six light and airy bedrooms.The Hotel lies in one of the most glorious valleys in North Devon surrounded by hundreds of acres of woodland and bound by its own stream. The Broomhill Sculpture Park displays one of the largest permanent collections of contemporary art and sculpture in the South West.The Broomhill restaurant ‘Terra Madre’ has won the North Devon Food Awards five times due to its high standards and commitment in using the best of local produce. Terra Madre’s Mediterranean, Slow Food inspired dishes are created using fresh, organic, fair trade produce from neighbouring farms and the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broomhill Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing