We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broomhill Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
$67
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
$202
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
$104
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
258
84
13
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
84
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssculpture gardensmoked trouton displaybay windowthree course mealtapasfresh fruit saladnorth devonwonderful foodbirthday treatroom was largea real gemfull englishhotel restaurantpoached eggsan evening mealstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 365 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

went here for a special celebration meal-very disappointing,gardens and sculptures ok,food might be locally sourced blah,blah but dont go if you're vegetarian as very little choice -wouldnt eat there again.found it pretentious......

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
6  Thank Maddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Set a gorgeous rural location yet only a few minutes drive from Barnstaple town centre. Well signposted off the main road.

Not your average hotel from the start. Amazing sculptures appear from every direction in the densely wooded grounds. On the face of it one might think to be hard-pushed to make the experience last for 30 minutes. However with the many terraces and levels and the sheer volume of artwork a good couple of hours is required to take it all in.

The interior of the hotel has been decorated and furnished to a high standard, the dining room in particular giving plenty of space between tables. We've eaten there several times and always found the menu interesting and the food top quality. Service is a touch on the slow side though very polite and doesn't spoil the overall effect.

In summary, £15 for an excellent three-course meal in lovely surroundings and a look around an unusual and stimulating sculpture garden represents a great morning or afternoon out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeandMrsJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Living nearby and never having gone before we decided to take a trip there. We spend a lovely few hours admiring the sculptures and the beautiful gardens. It wouldn't have been so great in bad weather as the paths were a little muddy even when we went on a glorious sunny day and we'd had it dry the previous few days too. It's also unsuitable for wheelchair users or pushchairs as there are many steps and steep hills. However if you are able to walk around some of the scenery is lovely. There was parking right outside the hotel for disabled and though you couldn't see all the sculptures you could enjoy the food and have wonderful scenery while eating.
We also ate at the restaurant, the food was lovely and a pot of tea gave you numerous cups!!
An entrance fee applies if you want to visit the sculpture gardens but not for everything else, although this was a reasonable fee and greatly reduced for children.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chrissie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Beautiful surroundings, beautiful sculpture park and beautiful food! Sunday lunch so good we went back in the week for bar meal! We'll definitely be visiting again when we're next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have a couple of sculptures here but don't get to visit here as often as we would like to, but every time its always wonderful - our favourite place to stay for inspiration and relaxation. This visit was with friends to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and we spent the whole weekend at Broomhill - despite the rainy weather - we enjoyed nipping out between showers to look at the sculpture and then warming up with delicious soup before venturing further to look again and decide on which work to vote for in their sculpture competition. Its so beautiful and comfortable at Broomhill that we feel at home, the art, (inside the hotel and out in the grounds) the lovely rooms, and the tasty food all contributed to our enjoyment. The staff were very helpful and accommodating - arranged a separate room for our celebration with a fantastic meal and a very special pudding - with indoor firework! All this made for a happy and memorable birthday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews