We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relexed Living”
Review of Bracken House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bracken House
Certificate of Excellence
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relexed Living”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is our fourth stay at a Wolsey Lodge and Sue & Guy Sherratt made us very welcome.especially as they are relatively newcomers (July 2010) to this association. Wolsey Lodges are comfortable B&B's in character houses. On arrival we were presented with fresh scones & afternoon tea to wash away the 4 hour journey. We had also requested an optional extra evening meal on the 1st night with our hosts which was most acceptable.The Jeeves room was conmfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately our 4 day stay was accompanied with almost continual rain but that did not prevent us from coming and going as we pleased.. Our only warning is to those with TomTom sat navs: Don't follw the advice down Old Recory Lane off the high street. Take the turning 300 yard shigher up opposite the Baptist Church - it is signposted and much easier!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
50
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our stay fulfilled all our hopes for three nights in comfortable surroundings for a 90-year-old mother (together with daughter and son-in-law): good food, antiques, high ceilings, attention to detail - and all in a gracious house set in a small valley with wonderful views. We received a warm welcome, and accommodating kindness throughout.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nw0x0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Please disregard previous bad reviews of this B and B. The present owners have only owned Bracken House for 12 months. In that time they have created a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious environment in which to explore the wonders and mysteries of Exmoor.

I stayed here with my retired father and my daughter aged 10. We all enjoyed our stay.

Wonderfully comfortable beds and thick white towels, everything spotlessly clean and newly decorated. Little touches like disposable shaving razor in the bathroom, just in case one had been forgotten. Flowers in the room, picked from the huge garden. Stunning views from the bedrooms.

Fabulous breakfast cooked to perfection by Guy, the owner, who along with his wife Sue, made us feel so welcome that it felt as if we had known them for a long time. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would like to return to stay longer and would definately recommend Bracken House to anybody looking for somewhere quiet and special to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alveston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

As a friendly welcoming family home in a beautiful rural location in North Devon Bracken House is to be thoroughly reccomended.Guy and Susan are charming hosts who went out of their way to make sure we(and our Dog!) enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumneylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We booked two nights at Bracken House to break the journey to Cornwall and avoid the weekend traffic and it turned out to be a highlight of the holiday. We booked the Jeeves and Wooster rooms, elegant, high ceilings, bright, well furnished with period pieces and lovely views. Powerfull showers and huge "White Company" towels - typical of the attention to detail that Guy and Sue have paid to creating this experience.

We arrived in sunshine and after unpacking found a wonderful Devon cream tea awaiting us on the terrace - sublime - and the views are stunning.

There are some great places to eat and we took Guy and Sue's recommendations both for dining out and for walks in the area.

Breakfasts were excellent and everything from local producers.

We just wanted a stop-over and got so much more...a real welcome into their beautiful home and a special treat. We now look forward to next years "stop over" !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrangeFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bratton Fleming
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
3.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
12.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stoke House B&B
Stoke House B&B
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rivers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.0 mi away
Twitchen Farm
Twitchen Farm
#2 of 3 in Challacombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracken House

Property: Bracken House
Address: | Nr Barnstaple, Bratton Fleming EX31 4TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bratton Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bratton Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bracken House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast with 4 en-suite rooms, one on the ground floor, with stunning views from two of the first floor rooms down to the sea in the distance with grounds to explore as well as the coast and beaches for surfing and swimming, Exmoor itself with lovely walking and riding and numerous gardens open to the public as well as RHS Rosemoor. One room has a four poster bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bracken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bracken House Bratton Fleming, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing