We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Shivparivar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivparivar Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Shiv Parivar resort in Uttarkashi in June. It wasn't planned on our itinerary; we just asked around in town and landed up here. I must say it was a beautiful surprise. The location is gorgeous. Unlike many other visitors to Uttarkashi, we were not here on a religious pilgrimage, but just being in the location, against the terrific backdrop of the Himalayas, was a spiritual experience in itself. The architecture of the resort, the large glass front windows, the spacious, airy rooms make sure you feel one with the majestic outside. Very thoughtfully designed!

And the staff was so courteous and engaging! (Mr Gautam, a big shout out to you, if you're reading this!!:)) The service was personalized, which is priceless and a big, big rarity. I have been recommending shiv parivar to everyone travelling to Garhwal: it's a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavishi_pande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

When you visit a place like Shivpariwar you realize there are still people around who are so devoted to their profession, for whom what matters most is the smile of satisfaction on the face of the guest.
Beautiful location, excellent housekeeping, willingness to serve, homely food & great people, I will certainly visit many a times more & suggest friends too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Praveen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I wanted to stay at shiv Parivar. I visited the location and decided not to stay there. Horrible approach road. Away from the town. There are far better places to stay in the town. I visited during off season and there hardly anyone to even talk to you. God have mercy on any one staying there during off season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank jpaul217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I along with my 4 friends stayed in Shiv Parivar in the month of May, It was the most pleasant and awesome experience of our whole trip... Very customised Service... delicious food....Super awesome location.. clean rooms.. the most well behaved and smiling staff... it was all thumbs up... felt like a home away from home.... the management took care of all our demands...It was a wonderful experience and i would recommend everyone to stay in this place when in uttarkashii..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meera108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I broke my car 45 kms prior to uttarkashi. I casually called up the hotel to look for the options. to my extereme surprise, they sent a car along with packed snacks.
Surprises kept on coming , be it cold towels, nature friendly welcome drink, bath at personal ghat or the ganga aarti at personal temple.
this property is amazing and a must stay for anybody who is on Chardham yatra.
Food is one thing i forgot to tell you. Chef Buga is so verstile that he served Gujrati and South Indian with equal proficiencies.Yuummmmy food , another feather in the cap.

Room Tip: Aircoditioned room on first floor should be picked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil0mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itinerarykumbhmela, Owner at Shivparivar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments about Shiv Parivar Resort. It has certainly motivated us to serve our valued customers in whatever little ways we can do best.

Thank you for traveling in Uttarakhand and staying at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Shiv Parivar Resort is one of its kind in Uttarkashi located on the bank of river.One is able to get a very good view of sunrise in the early morning.Hospitality was beyond expectations.Quality of food and service was very good.Staff was very cooperative and even made arrangements for trip to Gangotri ji.Rooms are spacous and very well furnished.If anybody wants to have a good and comfortable stay then this is the palce.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nimashrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice hotel. Custommized service. Excellent location. Owner helped us plan our trip very well. Went out of the way to pack our lunch at 5 am in the morning. Very nice rooms. wonderful scenic beauty. Staff was very hospitable.We initially planned to stay at Uttarkashi for one one day and the nice hotel made us relax their for two days.They helped us arranging our visit in Uttarkaashi as well. It was the most wonderful part of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pallaviatpari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttarkashi
0.0 mi away
Prakriti The Retreat
Prakriti The Retreat
#1 of 7 in Uttarkashi
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shikhar Nature Resort
Shikhar Nature Resort
#5 of 7 in Uttarkashi
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Kunjh
Shanti Kunjh
#3 of 7 in Uttarkashi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shivalik Valley Resorts
Shivalik Valley Resorts
#2 of 5 in Rudra Prayag
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nirvana Yamunotri
Camp Nirvana Yamunotri
#1 of 38 in Barkot
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nelangana Resort
Nelangana Resort
#2 of 5 in Harsil
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivparivar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivparivar Resort

Address: Chungi Barethi, Uttarkashi 249193, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Uttarkashi District > Uttarkashi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Price Range: $67 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the banks of Bhagirathi river, Shiv Parivar Resort is 4 kilometers before hustle bustle and traffic jams of Uttarkashi town. All the rooms have queen size beds,air-conditioning, LCD TV, hot geysers in the toilets and are river facing. We have a multi cuisine restaurant that serves mouthwatering food buffet as well as A La Carte meals. We have access to the river and a Shiva temple in the premises. We also have a massage room and do Sirodhara, Ayurvedic massage and steam bath (in winters) We also run daily Yoga Classes (May & June and September - November) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shivparivar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing