We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monal Tourist Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uttarkashi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monal Tourist Home
Ranked #2 of 41 Uttarkashi B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“amazing location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Monal is situated in a beautiful spot just outside of town, making it a lovely quiet and relaxing place to stay. All you can hear at night is the gentle flow of the river in the valley. The rooms are well finished and were clean, and there is a great dining area with 3 walls of windows and a rooftop area too :) deepender is very helpful to ensure you have a great stay :) our only criticism is maybe there could be slightly more choice of food given that it is a bit out of town, bit what food there was was delicious :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
9
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Monal, by itself is very beautiful, serene in the laps of Uttarkashi but somehow did not suit us. We visited there in the last week of April,2012. We arrived there from Yamnotri. After traveling for nearly six-eight hours in the mountains, we expected a good welcome but.... The room was ready but no food. The owner informed us after sometime that we have to inform them in advance. (And nothing was told about it at the time of booking).There is kitchen but only till 10 am. Absolutely tired and hungry, angry too, hunted for food in the city. Had to walk 2 km again to the city. (The owner offered us a lift in his car but due to our anger did not take it ) .
A bad start for us.... :(
This tourist bunglow is around 2 km away from the city. Uttarkashi itself is a very sleepy town with no local transport. Had to spend for taxi all the time, wherever we went which was around Rs.500 per trip...
Room was next to the restaurant, asked for another but all were booked so... :(
Had booked for 5 days but wrapped up in 3 days only...

Room Tip: Dont take room near the restaurant... inform for food in advance and go there only if u have your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhaviRajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Monal TH is run by Deepender Panwar, who is one of the friendliest hosts i have come across. He lives in Uttarkashi by choice and pays attention to the needs of his guests himself, alongwith his tiny team, who are not always equally fond of the guests. Monal located just before the office of the District Forest Officer, Uttarkashi and hence is a very suitable place for all those who need to spend time there. The dining hall and some rooms have a great view of Bhagirathi. This is a good secret hidden away from the main road, offers quiet rest and a lovely break from the trappings of urban life, yet has internet and the phone. Deepender reads and shares his books with his guest. Go there to do nothing. You might get used to it and not want to leave.

Room Tip: Bhagirathi view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Monal in mid October. Deependar made us very welcome. The bedroom accommodation is simple [there is a choice of rooms with varying facilities at different prices]. The dining and sitting area is particularly attractive, with lovely views over the valley. Deependar's commitment to the place and knowledge of the local area is a particular attraction in coming to Monal.

Room Tip: Have a look at what's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Monal Tourist Home is the best place to stay in Uttarkashi District and, in my opinion, all of Uttarakhand. I've been coming and going from there since 2004 and the owner Deependar has become one of my dearest friends. It truly feels like home away from home. I highly recommend this location for anyone traveling to the region and I strongly suggest you stay in Uttarkashi for a few days to enjoy the historic temples, beautiful nature scenes, and breathtaking day hikes. I personally have stayed at Monal for over a month at a stretch! If you come to experience Uttarkashi and all that it has to offer, I believe that you will learn to appreciate the local sites and the friendly people as much as I do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hi,
For the past 12 years I'm coming to Uttarkashi for at least a couple of months every year. I know the place very well. I'm not staying in guest houses here because I'm a monk living in Ashrams.
So, even though I've never stayed in Monal as a guest, I know the place very well.
Dipendra, the owner and the director, is an amazing guy who pours his heart and soul into the place and its guests. His secret is so simple: He LOVES the place and the people who come there sincerely. He is not greedy at all. For him it is all about passion, and he is a very passionate about Uttarkashi in general, and Monal in particular...
The rooms are simple but very clean. Monal has the most amazing glass veranda, which functions as a dining room, reception, and Internet cafe (one computer).
The place is small and very homely.
Dipendra is also a mountaineer, and knows the Himalayas like few others do. He'll be happy to take you for a treck, or just to share with you his vast knowledge.
Uttarkashi is not a destination. Most people stop there on their way to Gangotri. But if you're looking for a beautiful, quite place to relax for a week or two, Monal is a perfect place for you. It is located about 2.5km from the bus stand (and if you book in advance Dipendra will come with his little van to pick you up), in a very quite, small village. You can walk up the mountain and find yourself in the most amazing rice fields, where you can have encounters with very friendly locals.
There is also a small ashram about 2 minutes walk from Monal where a very friendly, intelligent Swami (monk) leaves. His name is Swami Janardanananda (but you can just call him Swamiji), and you can hear from him a lot about the place, about spiritual life, and many other things.
I can go on and on writing about this place, but I guess you'll just have to come and see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
503 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

First and foremost, Deependar is a great host. He really takes good care of his guests. He is one of those hosts who always wants to build relationships with his guests, for which reason many of us do come back again and again. You're never just someone who is merely paying for a room.

He is a very experienced and reliable trekking guide, as well, and since he loves nothing more than to get out on a good trek, he is fun to go with.

The place itself has been nicely renovated since I first stayed there. The rooms are comfortable, with good showers. The dining room has beautiful windows looking with a great view. It's located in Ujeli, about 2km from town, so it's quite walkable if the weather is OK, but a little inconvenient if it's not. It's located up the hill away from the river and the location is quiet, with lots of trees.

Room Tip: The little room next to the service kitchen in the new block isn't so desirable as people are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregrineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttarkashi
0.0 mi away
Prakriti The Retreat
Prakriti The Retreat
#1 of 5 in Uttarkashi
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shikhar Nature Resort
Shikhar Nature Resort
#3 of 5 in Uttarkashi
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel KNB Heritage
Hotel KNB Heritage
#3 of 41 in Uttarkashi
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shivparivar Resort
Shivparivar Resort
#4 of 5 in Uttarkashi
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ekant Resort
Ekant Resort
#7 of 44 in Uttarkashi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monal Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monal Tourist Home

Property: Monal Tourist Home
Address: Kot Bungalow Road, Uttarkashi 249171, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Uttarkashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Uttarkashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing