We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base camp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivlinga Tourist Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uttarkashi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shivlinga Tourist Complex
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good base camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a good place to stay in Uttarkashi. Don't know what the status is now after the floods, but the riverside view and a little bit of lawn in front made for a peaceful setting. I have stayed here twice. A good starting point for Dodi Tal, Kedar Tal, Gowmukh and similar treks. Functional kitchen and restaurant. Compared to a lot of restaurants in Uttarkashi, the food is in this hotel better. Check out the geysers when you check in - they may not work in some rooms. The rates were affordable, but I went both times in the off-season. It is a good 10-15 minutes walk from the township, but that's why I preferred it - Uttarkashi town is pretty noisy. You will get share jeeps also to get to this place.

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the ground floor. A swing and a small lawn comes for free. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SajishGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great Location on river banks safe enough for you to see surging Bhagirathi Ganga surge in front of you at holy town of Uttarkashi. Clean rooms, food and good bath before you climb, drive up to higher altitudes where you might not bath even. Stay spot for all who go and come back to, from temple town of Gangotri at 3100 meters. Great hub of mountaineering as NIM is here. Resort is away from town which has no rickshaw etc, walk you must unless you have your own vehicle which most who zip past in char Dham yatra circuit do. Great spot to recuperate after a hard trek like we did as we stayed two days before and later after our Tapowan Shivlinga trek.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santhemant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The mark of a good hotel is determined by not how they treat their guest when the times are good but how they take care of them when the times are challenging. We were stuck in the Uttarkashi during the recent floods (June 2013) when on a char-dham yatra. We were enroute to Gangotri when we had to return due to heavy rains, landslide and road damage. We stayed in Shivlinga Tourist Complex for five nights. The length of stay was variable as we had no idea how long will it take before the roads to Rishikesh will open. The floods during this time were so severe we saw houses on the opposite bank of Bhagirathi being swept away. There was severe flooding and damage in nearby villages as well.

The staff that works in the hotel instead of fleeing and taking care of their family in nearby villages decided to work 24/7 to take care of the guests staying in the hotel. To give you a perspective: there was no electricity, limited diesel for generators, no fresh supply of LPG cylinders, no new fresh supply of water, and limited rations. Despite of these limitations the cook and the staff ensured that guests received breakfast, lunch, dinner, and morning & evening teas. Each of these meals were prepared with love and care. During this time they ensured that hotel remained clean, the guests tended to, and maintain a positive atmosphere to keep their guests calm. Most importantly, there were rumors that other hotels in the area had jacked up their tariffs by two to three times, Shivlinga decided to maintain their sanity and kept things under check.

It is not easy to smile and keep working when you know that your own house and loved ones might be danger. This is what I consider as epitome of service quality. The owner, Mr. Puri, the manager, and other staff members of the hotel deserve kudos for taking care of their guests when they knew times are tough.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had booked 2 rooms enroute to our visit to Gangotri. On our arrival we found the Receptionist trying to pacify other guests at the Hotel. This set the tone for our stay here. We were booked into rooms 102 and 101, of which 102 deserves special mention. Though the rooms were big, regular maintenence was low. The attached bathroom was as messy as can be imagined. Leaky flush, poorly lit, non floor, dirty accessories. There was a foul smell too.
We tried changing the room, but the staff were unable to do so. Despite repeated arguments with the Manager we had to stay put in thr room for 2 nights. The Manager suggested that we look out at the Lovely, well maintained garden at the doorstep, what more could we ask for, hinting that our demand for a clean room was unreasonable.
The bed linen too was old and needed replacement. Luckily we were carrying our own blankets that we used. The humming of the mosquitoes combined with the clatter of utensils from the floor above kept us awake most of the night. I also encountered cockroaches and other insects in the room. In the morning we found that the room was just below the kitchen.
Even in other areas like food service, the Hotel lacked trained staff. Almost all guests were complaining about delay in being served or dirty dishes. Moreover the Manager decided to look away when we complained about the poor service. I was amazed at how this place managed better reviews on trip advisor and also sported the trip advisor sticker on its front door.
The Manager and Owners of the property demonstrated a nonchalance whenever we complained saying "You can find any other place to stay, all our rooms are full".
The place needs a serious overall and more importantly the Owners and Staff need to rethink about improving the existing rooms

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vip2003in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on 29th and 30th March 2013. Had booked two rooms for my family and parents; one with extra bed. One of the rooms, no. 310 was smaller than other rooms in the property. Firstly, the minor irritants; the managment needs to pay attention to the qaulity of linen. My parents room bedsheet had two clearly visible holes in it. It is time to change towels, though clean were worn out. Washbasin in the dining room needs ot be replaced as it is cracked and chipped, not changed since I visited last year.

Now to the great part. Superb location, no parking issues. Mr, Bhagendra is a very capable and highly accommodating manager. He provided us with the food we wanted it to be cooked in a particular manner; superb taste and reasonable portions. We made our request and everytime they complied with it almost perfectly.

Rooms have righly oriented and large balconies so that one can have an uniterrupted view of Bhagurathi river which flows just 100m away. Toilets are of resanably good size. If you find your geyser not running anytime during day then please ask reception to put the switch on in the min panel which is near reception. As we went there in off-peak season the total stay cost including food was extremely resonable.

I reommend it for groups, couples, families and solo travellers. Try it.

Room Tip: Preferably avoid room no. 310, it is a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This part of Uttarakhand is known for its torturous back-breaking roads. Uttarkashi is even worse with roads full of slush all around. You don't really expect a nice place to stay here overnight and Shivlinga Tourist Complex is a nice surprise. The place is clean and have basic facilities. Further, the backside view of river Bhagirathi makes it worth staying for. But, don't venture for front view, which is the classic dirt road of uttarkashi. The hotel has hot water facility, which is a rare luxury in Uttarkashi. But, this hot water is delivered through the taps not through the shower. Hence, no shower no matter how badly your back aches because of torturous roads of Uttarakhand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhi_P_Bpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

i went here with my friends the rooms were warm and cosy we were four they gave us two extra bed they were good not bad....... the bathroom were spacious and clean the good was good they had multicusine...... and that was the best hotel there ........ the staff was friendly with us.........and the hotel is low budget.......

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttarkashi
0.0 mi away
Shikhar Nature Resort
Shikhar Nature Resort
#3 of 5 in Uttarkashi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nirvana Yamunotri
Camp Nirvana Yamunotri
#4 of 37 in Barkot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Devbhoomi
Hotel Devbhoomi
#2 of 12 in Barkot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shivparivar Resort
Shivparivar Resort
#4 of 5 in Uttarkashi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yamunotri River Bank Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mandakini
Hotel Mandakini
#6 of 15 in Rudra Prayag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivlinga Tourist Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivlinga Tourist Complex

Property: Shivlinga Tourist Complex
Address: Gangotri Highway | Ujeli, Uttarkashi 249193, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Uttarkashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivlinga Tourist Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing