We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaya Hills Kandy
Nearby Hotels
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYLOFT-KANDY by YATHRA(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,005)
Filter reviews
2,005 results
Traveler rating
644
822
373
99
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
822
373
99
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquash courtsri lankaherbal teajunior suitegreat viewtable tennisswimming poola la carte menuamazing locationbeautiful hotelmini barmountain viewrestaurant staffour honeymoonreception areasurrounding hillswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 2,005 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at Amaya Hills both for business and pleasure. I have to say that on all those occasions, the stay has been memorable, wonderful and I was sad to leave. Amaya Hills would have had a place in tourism history if the LTTE didn't bomb the Dalada Maligawa as Prince Charles was expected to stay here during the 50th year celebrations in 1998. Staying that, I can say that Amaya Hills is indeed a hotel par excellence, a place fit for royalty but adds value to the scenic beauty that Kandy is renowned for.
The staff are accommodating and helpful, the food is delicious and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Moreover, the pool is perfect to unwind and chill. What's more, Amaya Hills is home to Kandy's first and happening nightclub Le Garage which is where Kandy teens go to let their hair down.
Indeed, Amaya Hills can combine pleasure, fun, adventure, excitement and relaxation whilst respecting its Kandyan culture being the best five star hotel in Kandy.

Room Tip: Nearly all of the rooms have stunning views of Kandy town but make sure you ask as reception before checking in!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear nilmadole,

Ayubowan!
I am pleased that you had another wonderful stay with us! Thank you so much for the kind words and thorough review. Its always nice to hear that our guests had a great stay. We look forward to welcome you back again with us soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

For the first four nights of our honeymoon we stayed at Amaya Hills. Instantly relaxing place, with a warm welcome, nice touches with the cool towels and drink on arrival, and that incredible view. The room was good - clean, spacious and great balcony looking out over the hills. Great pool. The food was good (not the best we had in Sri Lanka by a long way), and the costs for the hotel to organise transport were over inflated, but both things manageable. Friendly and helpful staff so all in all a very good experience. And watch out for the monkeys...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Trubb,

Ayubowan!
Glad we could make your honeymoon a memorable one! Thank you for your kind comments and will relay the same to our staff. Please do visit us again when you come back to Kandy.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This unique boutique hotel is located in the midst of misty tea hills. Breathe taking scenic views. If you are someone like me who likes to take out a canon L lens and take breath taking scenery look no further. The Hotel staff were more than happy to lay out a map and show me the places to go and the ideal locations for a shot. I was greeted by warm and sincere smiling faces of the staff. Food was great and quite reasonably priced. The Sri Lankan cuisine was quite spectacular, i could be biased on that front though, do let the staff know what you would like to try out and they are more than accomodating to recommend dishes depending on your palette.

Loved the heated pool facing the view, another great shot to take :)

Try the minituare golf if you have some time, helps to relax and take your mind of things.

Enjoy a walk in the garden helps to bring all that ambiance that comes with the area together.

All in all, loved my holiday there, the staff, the food, the room, the location, wish i dint have to leave...would recommend to anyone looking to spend a relaxing time with breath taking views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Rasike S,

Ayubowan!
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff! Will be sure to let them know on your feedback. We’re so glad that you enjoyed the dinner recommendation and guest accommodations and also had an opportunity to take some nice pictures. Please do share them with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is located on a elevated( hill) place , surrounded by lush greenary.It has a nice pool . The restaurant with a wide variety of food & a vast hall with well laid out tables , makes the customers very comfortable.Arrangements are there for those guests who want to sit outside &eat From the hotel one gets a panaromic view of the city. entire staff right from the reception to room boys ,restaurant staff are very friendly, cordial & helpful.Rooms r well kept & any requirement is immediatly met .our stay at this hotel was very good .

Room Tip: Select the rooms overlooking the city.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkalgudnagaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear bhayya,

Ayubowan!
Thank you very much for all your comments and this thorough review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest, the views and the service of the staff. Will relay your kind comments to our staff and we look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is located at the top a mountain with lovely views and a great swimming pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable and those on the lower floor at pool level have balconies overlooking the mountains. The hotel has a spa which is decent and a good bar and restaurant with live music and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaya R, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Hills Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear adele7882,

Ayubowan!
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities and service provided by our staff. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kandy.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews