We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Kemeys Mountain Hideaway
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kemeys Mountain Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 1 Mandalong B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked in here for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. Jenny and Robert were so welcoming and hospitable. Each morning we were presented with a wonderful breakfast all home cooked. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had a fire place and spa so perfect for the romantic getaway. I would have no hesitation in staying there again. If you are looking for something close to the Hunter Valley and Lake Maquarie that is a bit different and quiet this is definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: the tennis court and garden suites have a fireplace while the Orchard room doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAX684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have no hesitations in giving Kemeys 5 stars. From arrival to departure all services offered where of a very high standard, Jenny and Robert are excellent hosts. The meals prepared by Robert are top chef standard.The location makes for a most memorable stay. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07je50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are looking for a complete break from the rush of everyday life you can find it here. You are treated with particular care from the moment you are personally greeted at the door. Beautiful meals, privacy, bush land setting all within the proximity of the lakes area near Morisset and Toronto.

Jenny and Robert are wonderful hosts, and talented. Robert is cook and craftsman, Jenny tends to the details that make you feel that you are the most special person on the planet. Try out Robert's dinners - I had goat and it was delicious and so beautifully presented. Breakfast arrived in a personal picnic basket with all you needed. So many nice touches to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the natural bush surrounds so you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

What a peaceful gem!!!
This was the perfect quiet getaway.
The suite was perfect & beautifully equipped.
Jenny & Rob could have not been more helpful.
From our arrival till departure out needs were taken care of.
Everything was explained in detail.
The breakfast !!!!!!! What can I say.
Beautiful.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Amazing location being amongst the wonderful nature. The accommodation is great with their special touches to the rooms and the handmade furniture. Robert and Jenny are greats hosts, they were very welcoming, provided great service and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

WOW. what can I say this place really hit the nail on the head. We had the garden room over a long weekend stay, the daily breakfasts were filling and the eggs were cooked wonderfully, the hosts were both so kind and charming, their whole property had so much character, it was truly romantic.
The room we stayed in was large and homey, it was so welcoming I felt instantly comfortable, like an 'at home' feeling, not sterile in anyway. The fire place was romantic and the television in the main room had a DVD player so it was wonderfully to just cuddle by the fire and watch some DVDs (awwwww).
The spa bath was fantastic, all of their facilities are exceptional and we did not want to leave the room!
There were so many personal touches that really made us smile, from the candles, biscuits provided, earplugs to the DVDs in the rec room, this romantic getaway was truly special and I whole heartily reccomend this experience to EVERYONE!

Room Tip: Garden Room! I highly advise you to choose that as it has the spa bath, and is nestled right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YJay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We wanted a two night get away during our stay in Sydney with our family. What a find, thanks to previous trip advisors we took their advice. Kemey's is quite a unique experience - a house with furnishings that has been built in wood by the hands of the owner Robert, a real craftsman, and he does all the cooking too! Each bedroom has a suite comprising lounge with woodburner and kitchenette, luxury bathroom, large bedroom with luxury dressing gowns to earplugs, your own open air verandah for dining. You take meals in your quarters and a basket of breakfast fare is delivered to your door at the pre-booked time. You can order evening meals of 3 courses and these are delivered to your room - just remember to bring your wine. Table tennis, tennis, books, wifi, DVDs are all available. You will need a car as remote setting but well worth it to listen to all the wild life. A romantic and tranquil getaway. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had the tennis court room which overlooks the 'tennis court'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLM, Owner at Kemeys Mountain Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you Jollyginger for your kind words and for taking the time to record them with Trip Advisor. Our huge satisfaction comes from having appreciative guests, who enjoy the facilities, food and ambience that we are able to provide in our wonderful forest location. Yes we do seem to be miles from anywhere, however as you know we are only 10 minutes from Morisset, our local town.
Best wishes, Robert & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kemeys Mountain Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemeys Mountain Hideaway

Address: 410 Sauls Rd, Mandalong, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2264, Australia (Formerly Kemeys At Mandalong)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Mandalong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalong
Price Range: $121 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kemeys Mountain Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAKE MACQUARIE HINTERLAND, with WOOD FIRES, SPA BATHROOMS and PRIVATE LOUNGE ROOMS.In a quiet secluded valley of the Watagan Forest and set in the centre of 115 acres, Kemeys offers delightful suites that are situated in a separate wing of the rambling Australian country style home. Kemeys is at Mandalong, 10kms west of Morisset and is nestled in the foothills of the vast Watagan Mountains with its many walks, lookouts & picnic areas. It is also centrally located to explore the whole scenic area of Lake Macquarie, the Hunter valley vineyards, rugged coastal beaches & historic Newcastle.Fifty five minutes north of Sydney on the F3 & then seven minutes to our unique property, enjoy local wallabies and abundant native birds and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kemeys Mountain Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing