We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificient”
Review of Relais San Sanino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais San Sanino
Certificate of Excellence
WASHINGTON,D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificient”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

San Sanino is impossible to properly describe. The Del Toro family have created a part of heaven on earth. Over ten years, Ubaldo, the father, built a lovely stone home overlooking a breath taking view of the Tuscany country side. It is said a picture is worth a thousand words but this view requires a talented cinematographer to properly capture the magnificence of its beauty.

Upon completion of his house, Ubaldo spent five years constructing, adjacent to his house, four guest suites of different sizes plus a kitchen dining room building for the lovely Laura, Ubaldo's wife, to cook for their guests. Ubaldo loves technology and each bedroom suite contains remote control satellite music and television, as well as electronic glass doors to a great shower. The bathroom also contained a huge jacuzzi with changing colored lights. We went to sleep and woke up to the delightful sound of chirping birds.

Breakfast is included with the price of the room. Dinner is optional but Laura is such a good cook that we stayed for dinner three of the five nights we were in Tuscany. One evening we had dinner on the outside patio and the other two we ate in the dining room. The Del Toro family including their son, Giacomo, 25, who is studying to be a judge, their daughter, Bianca, 13, and Giacomo's girlfriend, Bernadetta could no be more accommodating and gracious. The location is central for visiting a number of Tuscany towns.

We were very sad to leave San Sanino and the Del Toro family. They promptly responded to our every need and did everything possible to make our stay the best experience possible. We are already talking about when we will return.

We spent our 40th wedding anniversary in San Sanino and found it to be a very romantic spot. We believe San Sanino would be a perfect place to honeymoon.

If you planning to visit Tuscany and do not stay at San Sanino, you are making a major mistake.

Del Toro family we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BNRWashington_d_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A family owned and run intimate, farm to table villa,as good as it gets!! The family welcomes you into their home with the warmest and loveliest hospitality I have witnessed in all my travels. Each member, devotes pride & loving care to your stay making it a paradise! Each room has been decorated with the most beautiful touches. As you walk into the room, you smell the freshest fragrance of flowers.Rooms are immaculate with Tuscan charm and all works perfectly. A gorgeous outdoor swimming pool is available as well. Laura, the mom, cooks THE most stunning/delicious meals and all of the family is beyond accommodating. Your meal is Tuscan "soup to nuts" but much more! She also will teach a cooking class. Her food is like a five star restaurant, dining either outside, overlooking the most spectacular view of the Tuscan countryside or indoors in their magnificent dining room, all the while Ubaldo, the husband, picks lovely quiet background music for the meal. The son, Giacomo and his girlfriend, Benedetta, are also there with any help needed and speak very good English. Perfect, romantic, well located. A feast for your eyes, ears, nose and mouth to which every need is personally attended. Don't miss this one! It is a real treat in every possible way. Cannot be beat!
Elaine S Hoffman

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is all you could wish for in a Tuscan countryside retreat. Great location near Montepulciano; easy access from the main roads, but secluded enough for complete piece and quiet. There are only 4 suites; we stayed in the Doves which was spacious; all recently built in the Tuscan tradition, with great attention to detail and tech toys (B&O tv with a huge library of movies, ipod and airplay speaker). The relais is run by Giacomo and his lovely parents who live in the main building (not to mention Fortuna the cat who can take care of any zootherapy needs!) Breakfast was a real feast and dinners were excellent too. The grounds are vast and provide a great place to relax; great views of the rolling hills all around; pool looked good though we couldn't use it given the weather. All in all made for a great break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This new retreat provides first class accomodations in a quiet, picturesque countryside setting. There are only four spacious private suites that are all beautifully designed and furnished complete with absolutely magnificent bathrooms with the latest state of the art Italian fixtures and whirlpool baths that are very welcome after a day of exploring the Tuscan area. The family that owns this quiet retreat and provides the most delicious meals (breakfast included and dinner at a modest price) is gracious, welcoming and extremely accomodating. The location is central to all major Tuscan places of interest and daily sojourns are easy. There is a beautiful pool and the grounds are beautifully landscaped should you decide to stay put and relax. This was indeed a wonderful place to stay and it made out time in Tuscany all the better!

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful but the J Suite has a private little garden that overlooks the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefollonico
10.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
16.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lupaia
Lupaia
#1 of 14 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Sanino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Sanino

Property: Relais San Sanino
Address: Loc. Sant'Ansano, 53049 Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena > Montefollonico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montefollonico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Relais San Sanino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing