We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chiusa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chiusa
Certificate of Excellence
Honeoye Falls, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but ate there and I am so glad we did. This spot is totally charming and set a little bit back in time, which we loved. The food was our finest meal of 3 weeks in Tuscany and it is a bit pricey.

The ravioli was light as a feather and the pappardelle was like silk! The chef/ owner,
Dania Lucherini, stops by every table and asks how you enjoyed the meal. She also offers cooking classes there and has a cook book, La Cucina Toscana Della Chiusa that is wonderful!
the service was impeccable. Montefollonico is a charming small town not far from Pienza where we stayed. I heard about the restaurant through a book, A Culinary Traveler in Tuscany by Beth Elon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janepagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
58
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in some very nice 4 star hotels in Tuscany and why this only gets three is beyond me. It is an only olive oil factory converted into a Resturant and 19 room hotel. The rooms are amazing, many maintain some of the old factory parts and are now features in the room. Our room had 20 foot vaulted ceilings and a grinding wheel integrated into the bathroom. The room and bathroom were both emormous and well maintained. Our favorite hotel on our 8 day trip to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a fantastic meal at La Chiusa with friends. We did not stay here but visited some rooms for future reference. The suites are large and very original with typical Tuscan views all around. The grounds were not very well groomed and there is no pool, but if you can get passed this, the inn is beautiful. The staff are warm and welcoming. The dining superb.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was one of our most pleasant stays in Tuscany. The views from the patio of the Tuscan countryside cannot be beat!! The rooms were well appointed, clean, and quiet. The villa like atmosphere was complete. The breakfasts and restaurant were an amazing experience. Cannot say enough good things about the staff and setting!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
673 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were here several years ago and still remember a wonderful evening in this jewel of a restaurant. Montefonico is a place you want to go to, it's a very small quaint little town than is a bit challenging to locate, but oh boy, when you find La Chiusa it's all worth it. They have an extensive wine list and a fabulous menu, the dishes cooked to perfection and served elegantly without any rush at all. My wife loved the little stools for her pocketbook and we both recall that our wine glasses never hot empty. A truly memorable evening, probably would have been enhanced if we stayed overnight in one of their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you want to experience the "heart" of Italy this is a wonderful place to stay. The food was excellent, thanks to Dania Masotti, their chef. The service that was provided was excellent with very friendly and helpful people, and our week stay was restful. The hotel has awesome views and sits within walking distance to Montefollonico a 700 year old village in the heart of Tuscany. We had plenty to do with Tucson Women Cook, fabulous meals, sightseeing, and great instruction from the local cooks. Bill and Patty Sunderland, the owner's of Tucson Women Cook, have done a fantastic job in inviting people to experience Italy's heartland. Thanks to you all!

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had dinner here with two other friends and it was absolutely divine. The location and view are feast enough but the food put it over the top. It was a slice of heaven on a summer evening and the service was spot on. The host was charming and helpful and our glasses were never empty. Truly a restaurant experience to remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefollonico
20.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Relais San Sanino
Relais San Sanino
#3 of 6 in Montefollonico
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais La Costa
Relais La Costa
#2 of 6 in Montefollonico
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lupaia
Lupaia
#1 of 13 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chiusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chiusa

Property: La Chiusa
Address: 88, Via della Madonnina, 53040 Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena > Montefollonico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montefollonico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chiusa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pleasure of Tuscany Fifteen elegant rooms and a gourmet restaurant made out an ancient oil-mill: that is La Chiusa, a characteristic and intimate place to stay in Montefollonico, a countryside guest house immersed into the Sienna province hills. We are in Tuscany , between Pienza and Montepulciano, on the ridge which divides Val D'Orcia and Crete Senesi. In the early 70's we pioneered to dedicate our lives to host in this part of the Tuscan countryside. We attended, several years later, the opening of the very firsts local guests houses and the rising of the Tuscan holidays as a must. Unconsciousness, determination or just by chance? We do not know exactly what led us up here. Without any doubt a common and unconditioned passion for scents and aromas, for the tasteful extra virgin olive oil, for Sangiovese wines, salami and cheese of our Siennese land together with the devotion for the ancient culinary learning handed down from mother to daughter as the old land cultivation techniques passed on from father to son. But what mainly spurred us on stepping forward was the confidence that people would soon or later certainly get back to appreciate simplicity and what our definition of hospitality is. Almost forty years later we are proud to say that we were right. Hospitality at La Chiusa not only means to open our house's doors to the guests, but to share with them our passion through the knowledge of our country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Chiusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chiusa Hotel Montefollonico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing