We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliantly authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante 13 Gobbi

Ristorante 13 Gobbi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliantly authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We tried to book on the day of our visit but were too late. The tiny restaurant (approx 7 tables, 30 seats) was fully booked. We walked in that evening anyway and our host was kind enough to find us a spot. We were at the end go a long table shared with another couple. We didn't mind at all. Great food. MUST have the pasta pecorino tossed in the cheese wheel. Also the chingale prosciutto was divine! Excellent wines too! And all served with a cheery no-nonsense approach. We loved it! And highly recommend a visit... Just book ahead :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank justanothertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    160
    29
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good we booked an evening visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Read about this in local tourist guide and decided to visit. Brilliant restaurant, especially the pasta mixed in the pecorino wheel. We enjoyed it so much for lunch we decided to book a table for the following week for dinner to try some more of the menu. The small town of Montefollonico where the restaurant is based is also worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank DPBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best adult Mac and Cheese ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

It is probably a crime to call 13 Gobbi's signature dish, with fresh home made pasta tossed in a wheel of pecorino cheese Mac and cheese, but I think of it that way, and it makes me happy! All of the dishes at 13 Gobbi's are very good, the location in Montefellonico is wonderful. In the winter the interior is cosy and in the warner months the outdoor patio is beautiful. If you are in the area you should definitely eat here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lnewfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

13 Gobbi has been recommended to us by our friends. We particularly planned our trip around Tuscany to stop at Montefollonico for lunch. It's a very small town, placed in between the hills close to Montepulciano. Most (if not all) tourists will opt for the more popular location and probably continue to Montalcino for the later part of the day.

The restauratn served large portions of simple but very tasty and aromatic food. It's a casual place, but offering the quality of a Michelin star location.

We have tried two different starters - carpaccio is very filling, the slices are quite thick however the quality of meat is so high that it doesn't cause any trouble to bite your way through it.

For the main course, if you're there only for one day, go for the house special pasta. Prepared and served to you by the chef himself. Something that can't be missed when you visit that place!!! An absolute trademark!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Max_M84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Head, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Please come to Maine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I wish this restaurant was in my backyard! Restaurant was full at lunch so the waiter set up a table for four in the back garden. It was perfection! The prosciutto with melon, strawberries and balsamic was to die for. Then the pasta made in a large wheel of hollowed out cheese was beyond description. No reason to go to this town other than to have lunch but a wonderful stop from Montepulciano to Pienza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lobstermanslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante 13 Gobbi also viewed

Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
 
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
 
Torrita di Siena, Province of Siena
Torrita di Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante 13 Gobbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing