We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenticity”

Ristorante 13 Gobbi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authenticity”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our second visit to Montefollonico and this time with family and friends. Having raved about the place I was hoping that they too were as impressed with the food and atmosphere as we were on our first visit. Not to be disappointed the hardworking Albo, his wife and son Matteo did us proud. The food was delicious and over the course of a week we had several wonderful meals there often whatever Albo suggested and inevitably the delicious tagliatelle in pecorino. The house wine was hard to beat and the warmth of this family owned treasure authentic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clocher44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    167
    31
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
153 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like everyone else, if in the area you need to eat here”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Every day sitting on the back porch of our apartment down in the valley we would look over and see this town sitting on the hill. The sun would set behind it and would provide great pictures. I will try to add one. But when we visited the winery Poliziano, Jenny, one of the wonderful tour guides, suggested that we try this restaurant. Wow, I am so glad we did. We did not make a reservation as it was a Thursday night, and it turned out we didn't need one for that evening. We arrived a bit early before they opened so went down the street and had a class of wine with the locals. As we were coming back up to the restaurant we had a tractor with grapes pass us that was going to unload. We had a great time playing paparazzi withe camera as they weighed the grapes. On to the restaurant. We all had something different and everyone was delicious. The house bottled wine was some of the best I had in Italy. You need to try it and was only 9Euro. One of the specialties is simple dish of tagliatelle in a creamy sauce which is then tossed into a huge pecorino wheel, with the sheep’s cheese carved directly on top of the pasta. It was wonderful and full production out in the seating area. One of the best meals on our trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terryg517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The food is excellent - we were a party of 8 in October 2013. The only reason I would not rate this "Tipica Toscana" restaurant an excellent is because the service felt extremely rushed. We arrived late by an hour and the waiter and helper were also serving a table of 16 that arrived at almost the same time....so I would have to put some of the blame on our tardiness for the cold and rushed start to the evening. The waiter seemed confused at times missing a couple of orders but recovered well and warmed up to us by the end of the evening. I recommend ordering the cheese tagliatelli house specialty - antipasto included chicken liver pate and curred meats - and the sweet and sour onions received great reviews! A reservation is recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“well worth the hike up!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ristorante 13 Gobi is an outstanding little gem up on the hill. There had been a slight misunderstanding with our table booking, so we were asked to sit outside in the garden - which was very kindly opened for us, specifically for the occasion. Despite sitting outdoors all by ourselves, we received full, speedy and happy service! You should definitely try the specialty of the house: pasta prepared inside a wheel of pecorino!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank p_c_f_21_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Benessimo!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a gem in this picturesque little Tuscan village! The pici tossed in the pecorino cheese wheel and then dusted with white pepper is to die for! We could have just eaten bowls of this without anything else! Then the filleto of beef with porcini mushrooms was divine! Cooked perfectly and the sauce was incredible. The Tiramisu was marvelous, light and rich at the same time! We definitely will return here during our next trip to Tuscany!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante 13 Gobbi also viewed

Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
 
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Monticchiello, Pienza
 

Been to Ristorante 13 Gobbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing