We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Basecamp Pyrenees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arles-sur-Tech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Basecamp Pyrenees
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Amazing place!
Cosy rooms, exquisite food and wine, beautiful views. Unique atmosphere.We had the most perfect sunsets! The charming staff - made us feel at home.
Great hiking - and some of us enjoyed biking.
We stayed at Can Rigall for four days in May 2013 and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent five nights in Can Rigall, aka Heaven. The most charming mountain lodge ever, combining terrific outdoors environtments with the best interior designs. Relax by the fireplace, or sleep long hours in those wonderful beds, Wake up to your dream breakfast. You are pampered by the staff. We had the best of times, and will return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

9 good friends from Norway spend 6 fantastic preeaster days at Can Rigall in March 2013. Despite relatively clouded weather we had the most wonderful stay. If you want spectacular surroundings, fantastic views, great trekking combined with the most beautiful, peaceful and cosy buildings and rooms, the nicest and most welcomming hosts you ever met, a perfect chef and great food, this is your choise. The most perfect place to enjoy nature, friendship, beauty and peace. We all loved it and promise to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorfrid Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and me wife just spend 3 nights at can rigall and its even more beautiful than the pictures and no words can describe our time there. We were welcomed by Helle the manageress and one of the most incredible chefs I have ever met. The location is perfect for a break away from normal life. There is alot of nature walks and hills to climb with breath talking views of the see and of the Spanish border. If you want to relax and enjoy what nature has to offer this place is perfect. Our stay there was the best experience we have had in france so far. Helle really makes you feel like you escaped normal life and entered into heaven. She is very friendly and if you take the half board option ( highly recommended ) she will make you food than no fancy restaurant can't ever dream of cooking. We will be back there very soon. Thank you Helle for an unforgettable time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The journey up to Can Rigall at first is never ending -once there you suddenly realise why you did it. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Helle and taken to our room. Absolutely beautiful - the views across to Canigou were unbelievable and spectacular. The room just felt like home the moment we walked in. Helle and her staff make you feel very welcome and their knowledge of the area is brilliant. Meals at Can Rigall were just as impressive with all the meals being an extravaganza of local produce superbly cooked and presented. We ate like Kings.
All in all a remarkable place to go and stay - there is so much to do and the walks/ bike rides are fantastic.

Room Tip: The Canigou Suite is superb. Views in the morning are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 494Bumpkin494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

trip with 13 friends. spend the weekend by the pool with a fantastic view. did some trekking in the local area. had great meals with good local wine. relaxed in front of the fire in their cosy livingroom. the host, helle did an amazing job. will deffinately be back

Room Tip: suies are prefferable due to the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionheart37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It took us a couple of attempts to brave the winding road (with startling cliffside drops) that led to the hotel. Having arrived, rather pale and slightly shaken, we didn't want to leave. Luckily, there were a thousand reasons to stay apart from fear of the return journey. Situated only 1h from Perpignan, it felt as if we had arrived somewhere far more remote. Normally, such beautiful isolation can be obtained only after hiking for days to an ill-equipped cabin. But Can Rigall provides a standard of service and luxury that we have never experienced in such a setting. We loved the architectural design and attention to detail that had sympathetically converted old farm buildings into such a clean and comfortable place to stay. During our 3 days at Can Rigall we took sunlit breakfasts on one terrace, walked through the herb-filled hillsides, climbed to a summit where we could see to the coast, swam in the hillside pool and read on the sunlit evening terraces. As evenings drew in candles appeared in every nook and cranny of the hotel, before a delicious healthy dinner was served. Many of the vegetables and fruit were grown on site. There were only a few other guests present during our stay and the shared sense of adventure made us happy to eat and drink together and exchange stories. The friendly staff made us feel like we were at home and they were simply there to cater to our every whim!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arles-sur-Tech
2.4 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 1 in Arles-sur-Tech
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mas di Luna
Mas di Luna
#2 of 2 in Arles-sur-Tech
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Pyrenees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Pyrenees

Address: Can Rigall | Bp 24, 66150 Arles-sur-Tech, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Arles-sur-Tech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Arles-sur-Tech
Price Range: $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Pyrenees is our restored Catalan mountain farm, into a small charming boutique hotel. Located just opposite the holy peak Canigou - it will simply take your breath away. Access is by private road, its exclusive and charming. Mas Can Rigall is a ecological Basecamp destination, with hybrid eco-technology, with energy supplied by solar panels and biodiesel. We have an outdoor swimming pool, and the majority of the food and wine we serve is organic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing