We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magical Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basecamp Pyrenees

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arles-sur-Tech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Basecamp Pyrenees
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Magical Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The journey up to Can Rigall at first is never ending -once there you suddenly realise why you did it. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Helle and taken to our room. Absolutely beautiful - the views across to Canigou were unbelievable and spectacular. The room just felt like home the moment we walked in. Helle and her staff make you feel very welcome and their knowledge of the area is brilliant. Meals at Can Rigall were just as impressive with all the meals being an extravaganza of local produce superbly cooked and presented. We ate like Kings.
All in all a remarkable place to go and stay - there is so much to do and the walks/ bike rides are fantastic.

Room Tip: The Canigou Suite is superb. Views in the morning are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 494Bumpkin494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

trip with 13 friends. spend the weekend by the pool with a fantastic view. did some trekking in the local area. had great meals with good local wine. relaxed in front of the fire in their cosy livingroom. the host, helle did an amazing job. will deffinately be back

Room Tip: suies are prefferable due to the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionheart37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It took us a couple of attempts to brave the winding road (with startling cliffside drops) that led to the hotel. Having arrived, rather pale and slightly shaken, we didn't want to leave. Luckily, there were a thousand reasons to stay apart from fear of the return journey. Situated only 1h from Perpignan, it felt as if we had arrived somewhere far more remote. Normally, such beautiful isolation can be obtained only after hiking for days to an ill-equipped cabin. But Can Rigall provides a standard of service and luxury that we have never experienced in such a setting. We loved the architectural design and attention to detail that had sympathetically converted old farm buildings into such a clean and comfortable place to stay. During our 3 days at Can Rigall we took sunlit breakfasts on one terrace, walked through the herb-filled hillsides, climbed to a summit where we could see to the coast, swam in the hillside pool and read on the sunlit evening terraces. As evenings drew in candles appeared in every nook and cranny of the hotel, before a delicious healthy dinner was served. Many of the vegetables and fruit were grown on site. There were only a few other guests present during our stay and the shared sense of adventure made us happy to eat and drink together and exchange stories. The friendly staff made us feel like we were at home and they were simply there to cater to our every whim!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Can Rigall is well worth the journey! The drive up the steep, winding road is an adventure but it only adds to the sense of wonder upon arrival. The hotel is a renovated farm house situated on a steep hillside surrounded by the Pyrenees. The beauty cannot be described - amazing. The hotel is wonderful with great hiking all around. But the best thing to do here is relax and enjoy the company. Our host, Helle, was wonderful. She was exceptionally kind and welcoming. The food was terrific with lots of local products and wines. Can Rigall was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Can Rigall for a couple of nights in July and love it. The hotel is extremely isolated, with stunning views of the Pyrenees-Orientales all around. We particularly enjoyed the communal dinners, as our whole table was filled with interesting people from all over the world. This hotel is not for everyone, but if you are looking for some peace and quiet, or an excellent base for hiking or biking (the Mediterranean is a nice ride away), Can Rigall can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrypatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I live in Barcelona and we decided to go to France for the weekend.
We wanted to go to Perpignan for some shopping and tried to find a place to stay overnight somewhere quiet and outside the city. And we randomly found the place on Booking.com. Over our usual budget but worth every penny. You have to drive to the top of a steep and narrow road to arrive and be careful with the GPS, it sends you to the wrong place. Ask the owner or the people in Arles/Tech before starting to climb the road. The place itself is a paradise. It's like a huge house, with 11 rooms, a huge garden and a outdoor naturally build swimming pool. The view is outstanding. The house is lovely, decorated to make you feel at home with a wonderful taste. The rooms are super clean, spacious and the beds are comfortable. We didn't want to go down for dinner and we had the pleasure to enjoy a simple and tasty dinner with the other guests of the house. It creates links and we spent an enjoyable moment. The food was delicious and the wines excellent. Breakfast was included in our formula and is delicious too. Even if we stayed less than 24 hours, it was relaxing and our only regret was to leave. I would certainly recommend it to all my friends and would definitely go back if I have he occasion to. We have two kids and they also loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
165 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

A very good surprise ! The place is just amazing and relaxing. We have discovered it by pure hazard while looking a place for one night in the region, and this was a pure pleasure to stay there.

To deserve it, you need to drive a narrow tarred road till the top of the hill. Sensation/thrills will be at the rendez-vous.
But a MUST, is to exchange an email with Helle with the explanation to NOT miss the road. Don't trust your GPS, he will send you on the hill next to your destination in a naturism camp (and we were not the first apparently) !

The place has 11 rooms, and you'll share your meals at the same table that others guests, which give you the opportunity to make nice talks with people from the world.
It's clearly a place to have nice walks, and rest in a peaceful place surrounded by the vegetation.

It's not cheap ... but not intended to be a posh place. Rooms have keys, but I believe that nobody is using them. We were feeling like at a friends place.
This has been the best WOW effect of the year so far !

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric_PAQUAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arles-sur-Tech
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 1 in Arles-sur-Tech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mas di Luna
Mas di Luna
#2 of 2 in Arles-sur-Tech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Pyrenees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Pyrenees

Property: Basecamp Pyrenees
Address: Can Rigall | BP 24, 66150 Arles-sur-Tech, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Arles-sur-Tech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Arles-sur-Tech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Pyrenees is our restored Catalan mountain farm, into a small charming boutique hotel. Located just opposite the holy peak Canigou - it will simply take your breath away. Access is by private road, its exclusive and charming. Mas Can Rigall is a ecological Basecamp destination, with hybrid eco-technology, with energy supplied by solar panels and biodiesel. We have an outdoor swimming pool, and the majority of the food and wine we serve is organic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing