We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive!”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hursley
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Just back from lunch with a friend and while the quality is ok it's very expensive. Small soup with a small sandwich costs £9.50, if you don't have the soup it's still £9.50. Add on a side of fries that's £3.50...
Expect to pay £6.50-£7 for a medium glass of wine.

Small sandwich+fries+medium wine+tea=£25

Atmosphere is nice but at these prices we won't be going back, service is automatically add to your bill.

(Mains typically £15 but I have no idea whether these are value for money)

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 838Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 363 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2017

The Kings Head at Hursley was booked to celebrate my Son-in-Law's 40th Birthday. We had a party of 7 for Sunday Lunch at 13.30. The drinks order was fine and delivered quickly. The Starters were very good and seemed freshly prepared. The main courses though were very disappointing for the high price paid. We were all told that we could have a Yorkshire with our meals even though the menu only said they were with the Beef. Some got them and others didn't and we were told the Chef didn't have enough to go around. The biggest disappointment was the roast potatoes. they were hard and dry and must have been kept warm for ages. The meals themselves weren't very warm and we had to ask for condiments and sauces. Our servers were also very hit and miss, we had to chase them to order our deserts.
Wouldn't go again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We have never had a bad Sunday roast here! The gravy is delicious, as are the crispy potatoes. Super lovely staff.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonTarquin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

I've reviewed the Kings Head before and we loved it. New menu means limited vegetarian choice and as for vegan, no longer. Disappointing attitude too which is a shame as it's so close to home. Good place for Gin if that's your tipple

Thank mikey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Good afternoon mikey123

Many thanks for your review. Nothing really has changed since your last visit and positive trip advisor review. We do have a new head chef, he is very accommodating and will prepare food for you if you have any specific dietary requirements.

Your first review states when referring to vegan options ‘you do need to ring ahead, but three courses will be individually prepared for you,’ yet your second review states ‘limited vegetarian choice and as for vegan, no longer’ which we can’t agree on and is not true.

Chef Larry will certainly assist you with a vegan menu, this has never been an issue and we wonder why this wasn’t discussed prior to, or during your visit with us rather than post via this site? We are sorry you felt this way.

Perhaps you can email or telephone me directly for your next visit so that any confusions can be eliminated? We only had hoped that this situation and post could have been avoided by a simple communication to me directly at The King’s Head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We recently hosted a family 60th birthday party in the private room downstairs. It was perfect for the kids to run up & down playing skittles without bothering other guests. We all played and the oldest one there won @ 70 years old.....
The pub laid on food and it was very tasty especially the warm sausage rolls & quiche. We brought in our own birthday cake.
The pub staff were very accommodating and we had a relaxing, family, 3 generation evening out, perfect.....

Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Head also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Hursley, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Ampfield, Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing