We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a nice pub”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hursley
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
southampton england
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice pub”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This pub is opposite the Dolphin in Hursley but without quite so much atmospher. However the food is excellent and the service very good. Prices reflect the affluent area. I had ham, egg and chips (not many chips!) and the price was just under 8gbp. Good product but not cheap...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    31
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pub, great food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This pub has a separate dining area, serving excellent food. The pub has a cosy, traditional feel and the food is of good quality. I believe the menu changes but the choice for vegetarians was limited and the food is a little over priced. Worth paying a visit for perhaps a special occasion or treat! The service was good, very friendly staff. We would recommend The King's Head!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outandabout84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went to The Kings Head for Sunday lunch on the recommendation of friends. Our party of 6 had either roast lamb or roast beef and both were very good, as were the vegetables. The desserts were equally as appetising, albeit maybe a little on the expensive side (but that seems par for the course for most restaurants).

The Kings Head has separated the dining room from the rest of the pub, and both elements are very attractively decorated, and in keeping with the age of the pub. The bar area is also a nice place for a drink or a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilJR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lovely food, great wine, charming staff. Same menu throughout so you can eat in the more relaxed bar area, or to make it feel more of an event eat in the restaurant but either way the ambiance is great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good menu, welcoming atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my second visit for a leisurely lunch with friends. My seafood risotto was excellent with lots of different bits of fish, nicely presented with herbs. Last time I had mussels in a creamy sauce and crusty bread (very good). My husband's sausages were full of flavour, the rest of the party had fish and chips which definitely passed muster.
The lemon mousse in a tuille basket accompanied by lemon granita and lemon jelly was refreshing without being too filling. The chocolate plate offered a selection of chocolate - chocolate soup, a truffle, bits of chocolate cake, a slither of cherry jelly with chocolate crumbs - if you like chocolate, this is for you.
The menu changes frequently, the quality of the food is excellent, you could eat here on a regular basis without getting bored with the menu.
The staff are friendly and welcoming, we'll definitely go back.
We were the last ones to leave at 16:00, there was no attempt made to encourage us to leave.
There is a small garden; we had booked the round table in the restaurant behind the French doors which is almost as good as sitting outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Head also viewed

Hursley, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 
Braishfield, Romsey
Highclere, Hampshire
 

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing