We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always welcoming and lovely food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Inn

Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hursley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always welcoming and lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I've visited the Dolphin many times, from a quiet drink to the pub quiz on a Thursday night. I thoroughly enjoy the hog roast and live bands on the last Friday of the months and have loved dinner on various nights with the other half or the whole family. I can only say good things about this welcoming establishment!
The food is always lovely, most of the options are home cooked and the portions are always very generous - great value for money! The service always comes with a smile and the staff are always friendly and accomodating. Even through the recent floods, the Dolphin remained open and kept to it's high standards - a credit to landlady Mandy and her staff!
If you're looking for a good family pub, tasty grub and great friendly atmosphere; then The Dolphin, Hursley is the place to visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    21
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Proper Welcoming Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We've just got back from a lovely evening at the Dolphin, good food, good company, extremely welcoming staff, great pub quiz. A traditional pub we love. Really well cooked jacket potato with salad. Food and drinks for all four of us all evening £60

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KJames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good old pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It's friendly, with decent grub, good beers and a gorgeous garden. For a very good price you can enjoy some good hearty pub food (crab, liver, whitebait and pies come particularly recommended). It's not "gastro dining" and thank god. Just a really nice place. If you want to unwind after work on a Friday night then get down here. It's lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoldieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited the Dolphin today 29/4/14, very disappointed. After a very long wait, and after the table that came in after us had been served, we were eventually given our food. I had a cheese burger with cheddar cheese, chips and salad, not a difficult meal. The plate was cold, bun was cold, burger very thin and very dry, they had not even bothered to melt the cheese onto the burger, salad consisted of a piece of ice burg lettuce sprinkled with balsamic vinegar. My partner had the steak and guiness pie, whilst the meat was nice the pastry was poor, very soggy on the bottom. Vegetables were carrot and cauliflower which although they tasted O.K. did not look appetising. Waited for the waitress to ask if our food was O.K. but we never saw her. So mentioned our disappointment at the pay desk, the cost of the burger was removed from the bill, which was helpful but didn't solve the problem that I was still hungry. I just wish that I had read the reviews before I visited the Dolphin, and what a pity the owners are not reading them as maybe both food and service would improve.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good meals, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The 'cheaper' of the pubs in the village, this had all we needed for a party of six (two locals, four visitors). Service was friendly and as speedy as it could be; good range on the menu, including specials on the blackboards. We had a range of meals and drinks, and total cost around £14 a head, including our drinks, which has to be excellent value for money.

Quality of the meals was universally thought to be good by our party. My boring fish and chips from the standard 'pub favourites' menu was very good - the chips appeared a bit mass-produced compared to some others I have had recently, but nothing to complain about. My friends were more adventurous choosing from the specials and everyone was complimentary.

The only complaint might possibly be that seating was maybe a little crowded; we were there on a Saturday lunchtime. Plenty of parking. They also do takeaway from the menu, so for locals who are a bit rushed, a great way to pick up a meal on the way home!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Inn also viewed

 
Otterbourne, Hampshire
 
Ampfield, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing