We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A masterpiece in the making” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
HULL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A masterpiece in the making”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Hackness Grange. This was with a party of six friends. Once a year we like to meet up and spend a weekend together which I usually arrange and this year we opted for this hotel. Prior to going I had read the other reviews and was feeling a little cautious, particularly as we were going on my recommendation. Having said that, we were not disappointed. To arrive in the village of Hackness and see this beautiful house by the lake is quite magical. Of course, this hotel is not yet completed. The present owner has embarked on an ambitious refurbishment and rebuilding scheme and parts are not yet completed. We were staying in the Courtyard, which is situated some distance from the main house. This is a purpose built block of about 30 rooms on two floors, but in keeping with the character of the main house. Our room, although small, was very comfortable. It had recently been decorated and the decor was fresh. The bathroom although equally small, was more than adequate, although it lacked a pull curtain (only net) and at night on the ground floor this made me somewhat uneasy. Although it is not possible to get a phone signal in the area, the television reception was excellent. Part of our stay included dinner on two nights and an optional free sunday lunch. The choice of food on both nights was good.

Although I do agree with a previous review that the hotel was a bit dark in places, the dining room in particular, it did have a feeling of grandeur enchanced by the period furnishings and coal fire and although it would definitely benefit from more lights, it had the feel of dining by candle light!!
I think that this hotel has great potential and I am sure that when it is completely finished it will be even more delightful. As a group we would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISNKirkElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    153
    69
    32
    20
See reviews for
100
295
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I visit the war weekend at Pickering every year and have struggled to find accommodation. I found this on the internet offering an amazing deal. Two nights with breakfasts, two dinners and a free Sunday lunch.
It's a lovely setting although we didn't get the full benefit of it as the weather was atrocious!
The courtyard room was comfortable and warm. The main house wasn't huge but it was very welcoming, with real fires in the bar and the dining room.
The food was first class. The service was excellent. The staff count is small but the waiters were attentive and polite. We met the owner who was very welcoming and friendly.
For the deal we had, this was a brilliant week end and one we will definitely repeat. One bonus was the background music playing in the morning and evening. Not to everyone's taste but it was nice to listen to 50's and 60's music played at a comfortable level.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are adequate. Rooms in the main house are more expensive. In summer it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

An excellent 2 night stay with one evening meal and 2 breakfasts. The hotel is gradually being refurbished but in the main is mostly done. A classical country house style which is tasteful. Staff are friendly and helpful, the owner is very welcoming. The hotel location is in a beautiful spot with a lake and resident ducks, the gardens are nice for a stroll around. Large floodlit car park which appears to be quite safe. The quality of food is good and delivered promptly, the dining room can be a little quiet and would benefit from gentle background music, but the views are excellent.
Rooms are good, small flat screen TV which is sufficient. One personal gripe is the fixed central tap on the wash basin, which I always seem to bang my head on when I encounter them, I hate them. Due to the location there is no traffic, or any other noise to spoil a good nights sleep. The bar is good but it did run out of some items during our stay. There were some nice little touches and attention to detail which was agreeable.
There is no mobile phone signal, the hotel would benefit from a signal booster, if you want no contact it is ideal.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we would go back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The car park is around 150m from the hotel but there are disabled places close to the entrance. The general impression is of a vey elegant building.
Booking in was adequate but there was no particular welcome or offer to help with bags. The hotel is dark but may be in keeping with its former days. Television reception in the room was poor
Dinner was good if fairly pricey and breakfast was OK if a bit chaotic.
The staff were friendly enough but would benefit from more hotel industry training to further improve the overall experience

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I went to the Grange for dinner last night and had a lovely experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming, they couldn't do enough to help. The food was well cooked, well presented, and tasted lovely. We had a truly enjoyable evening, and will definitely go again. The building and surroundings are absolutely stunning, and I'm sure the on going changes will be fantastic when completed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bexw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for a midweek break in early September. The hotel is in a beautiful location, very peaceful and relaxing, but not too remote. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food and service in the restaurant could not be faulted. We will hopefully return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A lovely place tucked away in the beautiful countryside and ideal surroundings for plenty of peace and quiet. Excellent service and the food was wonderful. The only downside was the courtyard room we stayed in, although clean and tidy, was very badly in need of a full update and refurbish. The colour scheme was drab and uninviting and the carpets looked tired and worn. We visited during June, so the weather was warm but if the room hasn't had an upgrade by now (October) then I wouldn't think it would be very warm and comfortable. All in all a lovely place to visit!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazyshedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing