We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ideally located in a beautiful valley which feels remote from the stresses of everyday life yet is actually only a few minutes drive from Scarborough. We enjoyed peace, quiet, good food and friendly service all for a very reasonable price through an Amazon voucher. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Room 3 was very comfortable with a view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemimawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    157
    75
    34
    21
See reviews for
108
305
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you like your hotels with a touch of faded splendour in a beautiful location this is for you..
Our two night stay in a courtyard room (22)was very pleasant. However the room was very small with only just enough room to squeeze past the Queen sized bed into the bathroom. Here only one set of towels was provided..
The evening meal was very good but choice of desserts was rather lack lustre. Breakfast was poor. If you don't want a full English then its just tinned grapefruit and cereal. Where are the croissants,yoghurts,fruit etc which are standard fayre at other hotels charging similar rates?

I understand that the hotel is to have a new function room replacing the abandoned swimming pool but I think it would be better to upgrade the main rooms and spend money on the grounds. Flower beds full of weeds do not make an attractive venue.
The staff however are the redeeming feature - they all work very hard with a smile on their faces at all times and the service they provide is great!
All in all - could do better would sum it up.

Room Tip: Room 22 is very small avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely hotel, good food, attentive staff and good value deals. The new owners have done a lot in the last 12m and are planning many more improvements. Plan to return again in the future. Ideal for couples wanting a quiet break in beautiful location and only 5 miles to Scarborough for those wanting more excitement

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerrynMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for a number of years and have recently returned from our second visit this year. It is great to see the enthusiasm and commitment that the new owners have for injecting new life into this wonderful building. This hotel has a very special atmosphere and much of this is due to the professional yet warm and friendly attitude of all staff. Our last stay was in a courtyard room and yes, this room was a little tired. However in a recent communication from the owners it is great to hear that a number of courtyard rooms are now being refurbished, and this is only one of a number of improvements which are taking place. We have always found the food excellent. Both breakfast and dinner are first class, high quality and offer varied choice. Hackness Grange is in an idyllic location. We are about to book for our third visit this year. We strongly recommend that you just go and see for yourselves. If during your stay you have any views, positive or negative then seek out the owners and you will find them very receptive and welcoming of your comments.

Room Tip: Room 22 has an excellent outlook and has now been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is set in a beautiful location and is lovely building. Our room was in the courtyard and was a generous size with comfy beds and a garden view. We also appreciated the thick curtains that enabled us to sleep a little later than other hotels we've stayed in.
Unfortunately, there were other things that made our one-night stay feel decidedly average.
The toiletries in the bathroom were dispensed from large, generic pump bottles containing less than a centimeters worth of hand wash / shower gel / shampoo in each. This felt very cheap and a little miserly considering the price of a room on a Saturday night. We had to find the towels (located in a wardrobe along with extra bedding) as only one hand towel and one bath towel had been laid out in the bathroom.
Breakfast was the usual cereal / tinned fruit / fruit juice option upon arrival accompanied by tea or coffee, a single slice of toast and a cooked breakfast consisting of a single slice of bacon, a single sausage, a single egg ... perfectly satisfactory, but a touch on the tight side for the price. I would have liked to have had kippers for breakfast, but these were an additional cost and I had no intention of paying more than I already was.
Hackness Grange benefits from an absolutely beautiful location, but I'm afraid that isn't enough to warrant the price tag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Beeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Whist this hotel is 'work in progress' the continuous improvements do not affect your stay. Roger, the owner, is charming and is clearly very concerned that each individual guest enjoys their time at his hotel. He is prepared to spend time getting to know his guests and this certainly wouldn't happen in any of the chains.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting and has an air of 'country house weekend'. the staff are helpful and welcoming. A country location within a short drive of the sea and the North Yorkshire moors.
The excellent breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and are served to your table in the very pleasant dining room which has large windows overlooking the grounds and one side the lake. At dinner there was a good choice which catered all tastes and was good value for money with imaginative vegetarian options. The young man who waited on at dinner was first rate and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room or it is worth the extra money to stay in the main house for the convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLeggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here. This is our third visit; the first visit since Roger became the new owner. We are aware of the improvements, which are obvious and we are looking forward to seeing the future plans come to fruition. We think the hotel is in the lovliest setting and this time we stayed in a garden cottage, which we both preferred, being able to walk out of the double doors and enjoy the wonderful views and fresh air. Everyone is very friendly here and it was lovely speaking with Roger and his wife, who are enthusiastic about this venture.
We will be returning, I know. It really is wonderful place to stay. I may be biased, as I was brought up in this area and went to Hackness School, but I know you will fall in love with it too.
Nearly forgot to say, the food is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,795 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing