We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Ayton Lodge(East Ayton)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$121
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
363
174
80
37
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
363
174
80
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefunction roomnew ownersbridal suiteno mobile phone signalforge valleywonderful weddingdaughters weddingevening buffetwedding venuethe general managersunday lunchdalby forestpeace and quietthe north yorkshire moorsmr and mrsthis lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 676 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay DBB for our friends 60th birthday. Stayed here a couple of years ago, and as stated you can see the start the new-owners have made to improve the hotel. The staff in the hotel are all very good, friendly,polite and always with a smile on their faces and always trying to please a real credit to the place.

Stayed in courtyard rooms 22 and 24, no complaints about either, 22 was smaller but had great views over the surrounding countryside, 24 was a lot bigger and had a double and a single bed in it. Yes the place is old but both rooms were clean.

The food in the restaurant could not be faulted, breakfast was great, nice to have it served to the table rather than the horrible buffet style, the evening meal was first class, the quality was excellent, portions just right.
The lady and gentleman who looked after the restaurant in the morning and evening ( April 6/7) were wonderful nothing was to much trouble for them, changes to the menu for us where possible where carried out with a cheerful " yes madam no problem".
Keep up the good work, will return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huggy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I both have March birthdays, so decided to have a break to celebrate. We hoped for a reasonably comfortable stay but what a surprise we had. The courtyard room was delightful and snug. The meals(including bucks fizz for breakfasr) were wonderful . The dinner menu gave a wide choice and we did not find that this compromised the quality. The food would have graced any London restaurant. The pace of life slowed dowm as we relaxed in the welcomimg surroundings which are very comfortable and promise to be even more so as the new owner slowly develops this lovely hotel with the sensitvity it deserves.Thank you to all the staff for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

A great review, many thanks for your kind words and so happy you were pleasantly surprised. The team do try their best to make guests stay as happy and memorable as possible. I have passed you comments also to the Head Chef, he is well chuffed!
Hopefully we will see you both again sooner rather than waiting until next years birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

booked in here for two nights dinner bed and breakfast, we were shown to our room by the new owner. Pleasant quiet room, we were told that all the rooms are going to be updated soon. Pleasant relaxing bar with open fire. The dining room retains its old world charm. The food was very good well presented, and as described on the menu. Aparently the indoor pool is due to be turned into a function room, also to be made available for dinner dances, as not many Scarborough hotels offer this. We will be back to se the referb.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are cheaper but no covered walkway if it is raining
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Alas yes, for Courtyard rooms there is no covered walkway. Planning authority rejected ours, and others before us, for such! That said, they are lovely rooms nonetheless....
Thanks for your comments, much appreciated.
Yes, we are turning the pool into a function room.....dinner dances, murder mystery events, wedding parties...here we come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As highlighted by other reviewers this hotel has been under new management since July 2012. Therefore I would ignore any reviews prior to that date as any findings cannot be attributed to the current management. Instead I would suggest the most recent reviews should be the greatest consideration as developmenst to the hotel are ongoing.

In that regard my wife and I have just returned from a very peaceful and comfortable Easter break at the Hackness Grange. We stayed two nights on a DBB basis and had a main house room.

The Hotel is a comparatively small Country House and has all the fittings and furnishings associated with such a building. Lovely high ceilings; ornate decor; open fires in the bar and dining room; large windows looking onto the lake and grounds and overall has the feel of a grand 'high life' in another age. It is a lovely hotel set in its own grounds and surrounded by the peace and quiet of the edge of the North Yorks Moors. Ideal for walking!

Our room (Room No 9) was both spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you need such as armchairs and table; flat screen TV ( albeit a fairly small one); tea/coffee making facilities; trouser press and hair dryer. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean. As with some old bathrooms the huge bonus was a deep bath and as there was ample very hot water available, a long soak in the bath was perfect after a days walking.

The heating in the room for us was also fine - although you are not in control of your own heating. I am led to understand this is a matter that is to be included in future developments. However, despite the cold outside we were very comfortable throughout the night.

The staff - led by Mr. Len Foster, the General Manger - were all very courteous; professional; helpful and willing to assist in making your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you - we appreciated your efforts.

The food was very good indeed. Every meal we had - that is two breakfasts and two dinners and one Sunday lunch - was thoroughly enjoyed. The menu choice was absolutely fine in its variety and the quality fo the food could not be faulted.
Little touches such as the provision of chocolate eggs ( it was Easter) were another sign of the attention to detail. The dining room itself is well laid out and decorated with chandaliers; large fireplace etc. It was good to see the effort of the guests dress appropriately for such a setting e.g. men wearing jackets.

The bar prices are a little high but this is something you expect in a hotel of this calibre and standing. The bar area is almost in two halves. One has the bar itself and one has a lovely open coal and log burning fire as its centre piece around which you can make yourself comfortable on the Chesterfield furniture. It is a nice area for a pre-dinner drink and a post dinner chat with other guests.

There is a second lounge area upstairs in the main building which has a large flat screen TV and equipped with an assortment of games. Also with regards to past times, the hotel offers free use of a tennis court and a 9 hole pitch and putt course. The maintenance of the latter is fairly poor - perhaps it will improve in the spring/summer weather - and therefore its use is for those - such as ourselves - who just enjoy hitting a few golf balls around without talking it too seriously. A little work on the greens and the inclusion of flag poles on the greens however, could make this past time much more welcoming. The staff at the hotel also are willing to offer 'local knowledge' and can provide advice on local walks.

Car parking is readily available and indeed we managed to park our car outside of main reception despite numbers being limited here although the main car park is only a matter of 20 yards from the entrance.

Although I can only comment on our main house room - which as I have said was very good; spacious and comfortable - other guests we talked to, also spoke well of the courtyard rooms. The walk from these rooms to the main house is very short - indeed across a courtyard!

We did not meet the new owner Mr. Brooks but other staff members updated us on the plans he has to develop the hotel further. We wish him well with his plans and perhaps we will meet him in the future as we are returning.

We enjoyed our stay so much that before we left the hotel we decided to book another stay. We will be returning for another two night DBB stay in October 2013.

If you want peacefulness coupled with comfort, accompanied by very good food provided by very efficient and respectful service; in beautiful countryside then you will be hard pressed to better the Hackness Grange Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Wow, many thanks for what can only be described as a well written and thorough report. And a very fair one at that!
We are striving to make give back the reputation The Grange deserves and it will take me time and a lot of effort and money to do so. That said, when I read reports such as your I realise that it is all worth it.
I d hope that I have the pleasure to meet you the next time you stay with us, which I hope wont be too long on the future, but long enough for you to see some changes.....which I assure everyone are happening every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and i stayed in room 26 in the courtyard this room was cosy spotless and spacious
was close to the main house which is a lovely edwardian building set in wonderful grounds
i have mobility problems and am unable to walk any distance and though there are no lifts or disabled entrance for wheelchair users this is something that roger and pinky the new owners are to address asap please do take into consideration that this is a grade two listed building and as such roger and pinky have to get permission for all renovation works which takes time the food was excellent and the staff first class and could not do enough for us the thing that impressed me was that the new owners take the time to mingle with guests and are extremely interested in any comments you may have i would recommend this hotel to anyone but ask that you give the new owners the time they need to complete refurbishments and be patient the wait will be well worth it
david hughes and val binns date of stay 17th and 18th march

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_dadvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We take al comments seriously especially those that refer to disability access. As part of our improvement programme we will be installing wheel chair access to some of the courtyard rooms as well as allocate car parking space nearer the hotel for disable badge holders.

Our refurbishment is definitely being carried out in line with a Georgian building / hotel (sorry, not Edwardian..sic..) and we hope this will meet with our guests approval.

It is a slow process, and I do hope that guests will give us the time to make these changes. As the saying goes, Rome wasn't built in a day.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews