We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally chilled cycling in brittany”
Review of Breton Bikes

Breton Bikes
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Gouarec
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1989 Breton Bikes provides unique cycle camping and hotel based cycling holidays in Brittany - France. Real touring bikes, superb equipment, wonderful places to see and very family friendly. Routes suitable for all ages and abilities. Come and see why Brittany is a Mecca for cycle touring.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“totally chilled cycling in brittany”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

myself and partner Liz have just returned from the most relaxed cycling holiday ever. Geoff and Kate at Breton bikes supply you with super quality camping equipment and bikes. We changed our minds on arrival regarding our route and this posed no problems for Breton bikes. We decided to have a fixed stay and have to say absolutely superb. we had a ten choice route with varying difficulty, managed seven as this was an introduction to cycling for Liz. (totally hooked now). I think my cycling days are over with the boys now ha ha. if you are curious about this type of holiday i would urge you to go as you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    6
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best way to experience Bretagne”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We did two weeks, mixed camping and hotels depending on weather.
The bikes are great, backup fantastic, routes interesting and varied. We did Carnac or bust and then Binic and back. We are 57 and 61 reasonably fit and found it challenging but very doable.

The tents are the best I have seen, easy to erect. The bikes, light and strong, very comfy. We had no breakdown or punctures but Geoff and Kate were always there if we needed them.

I could not recommend this unique service more highly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a cycling holiday in Brittany. We ride regularly in the UK often using the National Cycle Network, but we wanted a route that was relatively flat and not too far each day. Having discussed our needs with Geoff we settled on “Two Chateaux and the Blavet” staying in hotels

Our one week holiday exceeded our expectations in all respects. Having been before on hotel-to-hotel cycling trips on the continent, we were cautious about the quality of cycles to be provided, but we need not have been. We gave Kate our height in advance and the bikes provided, made by Orbit to BBs spec, were absolutely right for us. In particular, they were light even when laden, with ideal gear ratios that really came into their own on hills

The troubleshooting back-up was most reassuring. We called Geoff out once to attend to a brake problem and creditably he came out a second time of his own accord to check something else

We loved the route, particularly the canal towpath – a wide tarmac surface made for easy cycling, and it was so beautiful and quiet with surprisingly few people around

The accommodation was a nice mix of characterful hotels and Chambre D’Hotes and at all of them we felt welcomed. On our last night our host was part of the village band dressing up and processing through the streets for the annual 21st June “Fete de la Musique” followed by dancing in the community hall where Kate and Geoff were part of the music making too – a great way to end a really enjoyable week

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A happy adventure”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a great time completing the cycle-camping ‘Carnac or Bust’ route in June 2013. Some of the scenery we encountered was breath-taking and being on a bike meant that we were able to take our time to fully enjoy and appreciate the beautiful surroundings. Kate and Geoff provided a very helpful and personable service, the bikes and camping equipment were of a really good quality, the recommended campsites were of a very acceptable standard, and the route information was detailed and easy to understand. We would definitely recommend this type of adventure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hi Geoff
>
> Return journey went well thank you, but we were all very sad to be leaving. What a beautiful
> place you live in. We had a fantastic holiday and loved the cycling, the scenery and the
> peacefulness. The people were so friendly and we will always remember our time in Gouarec.
>
> We wouldn't hesitate to recommend you and hope to return for another
> holiday in the future.
>
> Many thanks
> Gary, Tracey and Matt

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breton Bikes also viewed

Saint-Aignan, Morbihan
Saint-Gelven, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Breton Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing