We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Gilhooleys”
Review of Gilhooleys - CLOSED

Gilhooleys
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A typical Gilhooleys”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Average meal, average price, average service and not that clean.

Dinners are ok have been a number of times. Some good deals depending on the night.

At the moment we have been going for th $10 lunches normally the 200g steaks. These are always been cooked the right way and never had issues at lunch.

Maybe a different chef on?????

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zacmac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went to Gilhooleys chermside last night and we will not return despite having an Entertainment Book voucher. Our meal took a long time and when it arrived was cold. The best part was the salt and pepper calamari yum! The young couple at the next table ordered before us and still had no meal when we had finished ours....there were many empty tables??? If I was the owner I would take a goo look at the staff. The toilets were not up to scratch either my husband said there was vomit on the floor of the men's room and there were cockroaches in the ladies.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We dined here on a Saturday night and we got in early. It was our first time at this establishment and we had a Groupon voucher. The insideof the pub is a little old and shabby but it adds to the ambience. Perhaps a steam clean might do the place some favours. The variety of food is quite good and the service is great. We could not fault any of the staff we dealt with. One unfortunate thing about the place (like most similar establishments) is having to run the gauntlet of smokers to get in or out, and the smoke wafts through the restaurant. Overall, we had a good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't do a second visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went to Gilhooleys on a Wednesday night, and we left disappointed.

The lady that served us was nice and friendly, however the guy that bought us our food was not a delight. There was "background music" that was so loud we sat outside and to be quite honest, the place needed a good clean.

My daughter and I had the oven baked chicken which was OK. The same can't be said for my better half's prime rib steak. He ordered medium rare and it was well over medium and very average quality. The whiskey mustard sauce that came with it was horrible, considering this place is a "steakhouse" I would have expected the steak be the highlight of our visit.
We also ordered two serves of garlic panini which we didn't get. We went up to the counter TWICE to remind them but it still didn't come.

I emailed management and phoned the next day but no one got back to me, This outing cost us over $120 and no one has the decency to call back or even reply to an email.

My advise? Avoid like the plague, there are much better places to eat for around the same money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilhooleys also viewed

Chermside, Brisbane Region
 
Chermside, Brisbane Region
Chermside, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing