We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essence Serviced Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chermside
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern & great location”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The preceding reviews pretty much summed up Essence. The big plus for us was its location adjacent to the Prince Alfred and Holy Spirit Hospitals thus saving on parking fees and traffic. One minute walk to admissions. Bus stops at front door. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment facing the main road. Traffic was never an issue as the apartment appeared to be sound-proofed. Unfortunately, the heater did not work and we had only one blanket to share; thankfully we packed our thermals. Staff made the effort to move us to another apartment the next night but we weren't told of this until check-out, without apology. Another frustration was the undercover parking (see review by Juliegundy) which was limited if you came in late, unless you were willing to move your car before 7am. Would stay there again and would recommend to friends but, if staying in winter, would check that the heater is in working condition first.

Room Tip: Level one has immediate access to the Holy Spirit Hospital admissions (1-minute walk).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
38
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
International
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here last weekend and was absolutely impressed. Here's why its convenient location, ample easy undercover secure parking, free wireless internet & continental breakfast, Spotlessly clean apartments, comfortable beds and couches and comfortably sized rooms. in addition to this it was incredibly quiet throughout and all the common areas were also spotlessly clean. Check in was simple and fast and they were even able to get me into my room an hour earlier than the usual check in time.... which after a long flight was greatly appreciated. There was one appliance issue in my unit. The fan in the range hood was noisy... but seriously that was it. I can't fault it in any other way. So as Brisbane is a regular stop over for me I will definitely be trying to book here first in future particularly as it was very affordable by comparison to other options.

Room Tip: I was a little worried as the apartment i was given was on the first floor and facing the road. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justabigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Nice new apartments, continental breakfast is supplied - very basic! Expresso coffee machine doesn't work. Close to Chermside Shopping centre. Nice people, nice property.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road. Can still hear traffic in room near Rode Road even though they have gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The appartments are well appointed and have evrything you need for a stay. Parking was not a problem, but you do need to drive for any resturants as it is in a residential area.
If you need however to visit the hospilat it is next door any you just walk to it, thus eliviating any parking problems or extra expence.
Will stay therer again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Brisbane city was booked out 2 weeks ago and Essence apartments was one of the few with accomodation available. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and couldn't have been more impressed. Presentation was fantastic, bathroom huge, small flatscreen TV in the bedroom as well as the sitting room. Loved the breakfast packs and the option of frozen dinners. Linen good quality. No problem with the aircon.
No room service or restaurant. Not really designed for business / corporate travellers and it took about 50 minutes in a taxi to the CBD in peak hour but couldn't fault it if the location is right for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had an appointment at the Prince Charles Hospital so we needed accommodation near it. We were more than happy with our 2 bedroom apartment. Everything was in great condition and all you needed was there. They even had frozen meals in the freezer you could purchase if you could not make it to the shops. We did not have any problems with the parking and we also liked the 2 bed 2 bath layout.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed in the studio apartment. It was really very comfortable. The finishes in the apartment were top class. I had breakfast in the lounge which was a simple continental breakfast but adequate for me. The kitchen was well equipped and they even had frozen meals in the freezer if you wanted to try them. There was a really clever Fisher Paykel combination stove and dishwasher which was great for the studio apartment. It is situated next to the Prince Charles Hospital and would be extremely handy for anyone unfortunate enough to have to stay next to the hospital. It is also close to the enormous Chermside Shopping Mall which has it all if you want to shop till you drop.

The only downside was the linen was a little on the cheap side and the pillows where pretty ordinary. Also the air conditioner tended to blow on you when you were in bed which bothered me a little.

I would definitely stay here again though and thoroughly recommend it as good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chermside
3.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
3.2 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#38 of 157 in Brisbane
2,117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#77 of 157 in Brisbane
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chermside Motor Inn
Chermside Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Chermside
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Serviced Apartments

Property: Essence Serviced Apartments
Address: 541 Rode Rd, Chermside, Queensland 4032, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Chermside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chermside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Essence Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence is a stylish, sophisticated, spacious, and fully furnished serviced apartment building meeting the requirements of a variety of travellers. Positioned in the heart of Chermside, we offer immediate access to both Prince Charles and Holy Spirit Hospitals, a approx. 10 Minutes drive from the Brisbane International and Domestic Airports or CBD, cultural locations and close proximity to public transport. We can offer you peace of mind, value for money and most of all a comfortable and relaxing stay. Whether you're coming to stay for business or leisure, for a night, a week or a month, we have a place for you to stay. Room Options: Apartment Types•Studios (up to 2 guests)•Studio - Accessible (up to 2 guests)•Studio Balcony (up to 2 guests)•One bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•One bedroom suites (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom suites (up to 6 guests). Conference Facilities Available: Our dedicated meeting room and versatile function room is suitable for a range of meeting and training requirements. Our meeting room comes with natural light, courtyard access to outdoor terrace and garden ares, full kitchen facilities, independently controlled air conditioning, remote LCD TV, high speed wireless internet, and ISDN lines. Maximum capacity within the boardroom is as follows; Theatre Style 20 people, Boardroom Style 16 people. We are the perfect location for a relaxed and productive working environment! Day packages per delegate start from AUD $59.00 - Call us today! "Our recent team workshop at the Essence was handled proficiently & professionally." ..Joanne, Lawton. February ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Essence Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing