We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chichen Itza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland(Chichen Itza)
$135
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen(Chichen Itza)
$33
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oka'an(Chichen Itza)
$64
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Quinta Marciala(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonte(Valladolid)
$102
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
$37
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Candelaria(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
$14
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
139
233
98
26
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
233
98
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschichen itzaate dinner and breakfastrocking chairsnice hotelswimming poolnice poolan early startbeat the crowdsarchaeological sitegrilled chickencoffee machinerooms are spacious and cleanplaya del carmentour buses arrivehotel restaurantthe air conditioninglarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 502 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We arrived after an 11 hour flight followed by a 2.5 hour car journey from the airport to a wonderful greeting, made better by the fruit drinks handed to us as soon as we arrived.
For UK travellers we were staying here for the 1st 3 nights of our Thomson's Yucatan Explorer tour.
It is a nice basic hotel, conveniently placed in the town centre but not disturbed at night by traffic noise and as others have mentioned with the Oxxo mini supermarket right next door.
The room was spotless and kept clean daily, beds were a bit firm but comfortable and we had 3 excellent night's sleep. Being inland it was noisy at dawn and dusk with the animals and birds in the woods, a bit different to the dawn chorus at home.
It had air conditioning which kept it cool and a huge bathroom with shower over the bath.
Water temperature was fine, but we did have trouble with the slow draining of the sink.
The lounge and bar area was open plan under a roof with no doors so no air conditioning which made it a bit on the warm side for us.
We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. (Air conditioned thank goodness) the staff. as all staff at the hotel, were lovely and nothing too much trouble.
The evening menu was a bit limited if you were staying more than a few nights.
The service was fast, too fast in fact as they tended to bring you the main course before you had finished the starter so it was lukewarm by the time you ate it.
As the hotel was mainly quiet when we were there they only did the breakfast buffet on one morning, otherwise we chose our food off the breakfast menu.
Overall a lovely hotel to spend a few nights at while touring, but not a holiday

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerind20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Really enjoyed our 3 nights here for a tour of Yucatan with Thomson holidays. We were pleased we booked this hotel and didn't upgrade. It was so pleasant to be able to walk down the town in our free time. There was an Oxxo store next door which was a little convenience store selling all sorts of food and drinks. It opened at about ^am. It had a coffee machine too.
Louis on reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
We were in room 201. The air con was noisy but effective. We had no hot water, it was sort of room temperature and quite refreshing. We never complained.
Food was good. Not many people were in the hotel. One morning for breakfast there were few in there and we chose off the menu. The other days they seemed to be having coach parties in to eat and it was buffet. Lots of choice.
The dinner menu was ok. Beautifully cooked from a limited menu.
We loved our stay. The souvenir shop next door advertised broken English spoken badly. He spoke it well. His silver bracelets were cheaper there than later in the holiday ay Playa del Carmen.
It was a superb start to a wonderful Mexican holiday.
A wine in the hotel was 57pesos.
Sorry a bit disjointed I keep remembering things
The jungle noises were really loud but we felt very safe here

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We lucked into this hotel. Very close to the ruins. Very clean; great pool area.

Wonderful staff.

Not the lap of luxury; but you are in the middle of a jungle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CocoaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for the first three nights of the Yucatan Explorer tour and were pleasantly surprised. The room was really nice - clean, effective air conditioning, good bathroom. Breakfast was good, though limited. Evening meal was a bit confusing, we found it hard to work out exactly when the restauant was open! Food was fine though. We also found bar service good and not too expensive. We didn't use the swimming pool as it didn't look too inviting.
We do have one really big complaint though. The second night we were woken in the early hours of the morning by noisy chatting from a group of people who we think were staff which carried on until about 4am. We did complain and our guide offered for us to move rooms, but it didn't happen next night.
This is not a hotel for a holiday, but a good place to stop for a few nights of a tour.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nellymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My friend and myself stayed for two nights. We were happy with everything on offer.
Last year I stayed at Mayaland and of the two hotels felt Hotel Chichenitza offered much better value. The staff were very kind and nothing was too much trouble. We were overcharged several times at Mayaland and when this was pointed out it wasnt received very well by the staff concerned. I know the hotels are run by the same group but I felt much more relaxed and comfortable at Hotel Chichenitza.
The only thing I would like to see at both hotels in the future is cold drinking water available for free.
Yours Sincerely Viv Hutchings (English)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfachWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews