We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the location and money”
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Certificate of Excellence
richmond
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great for the location and money”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed here just one night for a quick trip to the ruins. We got into town late at night and it was very welcoming to see the nice lobby area. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room felt very secure-the only placed we stayed in Mexico that had electronic key cards! Also the only place that had an alarm clock which was also helpful. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were well equipped. It was nice having the restaurant downstairs for the convenience. The food was average but worth it to not have to find a nice place in town at a later hour. The breakfast was delicious-fresh fruit and pastries to start the day. The staff was great-they helped me to fax some information for no charge. It was a very easy commute to reach the ruins and the wonderful ik-kil cenote from here. I would definitely revisit. One suggestion would be to make sure you have a bottled water supply-there was no purified water supplied in the room, though it is available at the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludakristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    211
    91
    25
    6
See reviews for
98
234
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We were originally booked to stay across the street at the Piramide Inn for two nights. We spent one and got the heck out of there and went to the Hotel Chichen Itza. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. They have a very nice entryway when you drive up. Definitely worth the price. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No ice machines, had to ask for it.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank superjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

When we arrived they did not have the reservation from cheaptickets- turns out cheaptickets never forwarded it to them. They were so helpful and found us a room- and then only charged us $100 for it. It was the last room in the hotel on the day of the equinox- the room was a standard hotel room with two beds- and they were concerned that it was too small- The pool and gardens are very nice- town is very quaint- plenty of restaurants, bars and shopping for such a small dowtown area

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lauramOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2008

For going to Chichen Itza we wanted to stay one night at a cheap mid-range hotel in Piste. As the price was comparatively low we didn't expect much of it. But the hotel was surprisingly good. :-) It has a nice outside lobby, a small pool and our room was beautiful and very clean. The beds were comfortable, there was also TV in the room (although mostly just spanish channels) and air conditioning.
If we had to choose again, we would book this hotel again.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dortje_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We booked this hotel for one night expressly to tour Chichen Itza early in the morning (before the tour buses arrive).

The hotel more than met our needs. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean (basic but tidy!), and the location excellent.

We did not choose the place for its haute cuisine, excellent beers or five-star service - only for its convenience. With those filters on, we found the place more than adequate for our simple needs.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pannipannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

While we had booked many superior rooms, one of our party was not granted one on the first night. As a result of seeing both, I can report there is a material difference between the two classes. If your supposedly superior room lacks a tub, complain. The new rooms have tub and shower. Overall this hotel was a disappointment and did not represent the same price value relationship that we enjoyed elsewhere in the Yucatan. The 2 nights we were their gave us more than ample time to see the ruins and try several of the restaurants. As a result, I would recommend that if you only have time to see on of the major ruins make it Uxmal. You will get better value in hotels and the opportunity to climb the ruins so that you can actually see the detailed carvings. The restaurants in Piste, like the one in this hotel seem to focus on “tour bus buffet lunches”. Ordering “al la carte” confuses them.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — not getting what we reserved, bugs,
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Stayed two nights. Nice clean rooms, cute courtyard and garden, staff was friendly and helpful. Very convenient to the ruin sites, you could walk if you wanted. We only had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very tasty and generous portions. There are several local restaurants within walking distance for lunch and dinner. The room was $95 a night which we felt was a little expensive for what you get, but overall a nice choice for visiting Chichen-Itza.

  • Liked — Good location to the ruin sites, very clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwakaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,344 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
303 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
720 reviews
24.8 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,380 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing