We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is well located on the main road, close to Chichen Itza. Perfect to be the first one on the site !
The rooms are big, clean and confortables but a little bit dark.
Nice garden with swimming pool. Wifi is available for free in the lobby.
The restaurant is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for your visit and your good comments.
We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Until then, may you enjoy safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    203
    87
    25
    6
See reviews for
93
227
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland,UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of the Thomson Yucatan Explorer Tour. It is a great base for exploring the area around it but wouldn't want to stay here for more than a few nights. The rooms are ok, they are clean and have plenty of space. We were woken up every morning by the birds outside but we were getting up early anyway. The breakfast was ok but the evening meal didn't have much choice and was repetitive, did find something to eat each night though. The pool isn't too cold. Cocktails were around £3. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ElaineDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Chichen Itza.

Your good comments are not reflected on your final score; We wonder why. Our staff tries very hard to please our guests. They are sad your comments do not reflect their efforts.

Have a safe return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Perfectly adequate hotel located on the main road of Pisté, the closest town to Chichen Itza. Easy safe parking, clean and spacious rooms and good wifi in the lobby area. Good price for the location - 5 minute drive to the main entrance of Chichen Itza. In-house restaurant (which we didn't try), pool (again, didn't try) and nice restaurant across the street. Breakfast wasn't included but there's a convenience store right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_H_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for visiting Chichen Itza and staying with us!
We are all happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us and hope to see you return again.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Perfect location for a sleepover when your planning on getting to Chichen Itza before the crowds arrive. Clean, quaint, friendly staff. Meal wasn't gourmet but it was fine. Antonio, our waiter, and the one in charge it seems, was amazing. Friendly, informative , humourous and professional! He was a gem! Would definitely go again and recommend, unless of course, you are looking for the Ritz!

Room Tip: garden view was quiet and pretty, and bonus, you get to hear bird symphonys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are happy we provided you with what you needed. Thanks for your visit !
Hasta la vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was the best location for visiting Chicken Itza before the tourist buses arrived. Gates to Chicken Itza open at 8 am and a taxi cost 35 pecos from Piste.

The hotel rooms spacious and clean and a had a good shower.

The hotel pool was very clean and a nice way to spend the afternoon after stomping around the ruins.

The only negative. .. hotel restuarant and bar prices were a bit exxy but cheaper options are available around town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kayjay176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for exposing your views to the world's traveling community.
We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel Chicken-itza is part of a chain. It is the economy one in the chain, but by no means is it a dump LOL. I have stayed there many times with friends and we all have nice things to say about it.
I recommend it.

Room Tip: The pool side maybe better for sleep as the hotel is right on a main road. I have never slept road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlOsstnewyOrkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments.

Yes, The Hotel Chichen Itza is a Mayaland Resorts property, owned and managed by the Barbachano family, pioneers of tourism in Mexico. We think our hotel is a very nice place to stay.
A great value for our patrons. Our collaborators are friendly and serviceable. All from Chichen Itza.

We look forward to being your hosts again. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We also opted to stay in Piste, which is very near to the great Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza.
Stayed 2 nights and found it to be perfect for our needs - an early start to the ruins, an easy drive to the MOST SPECTACULAR CENTOTE called Dzitnup, and excellent, affordable Mexican cuisine at LAS MESTIZAS (right across the street.)
Loved the big bamboo trees on the property. Lots of parking spaces available.
We enjoyed breakfast there on our departure day. Yummy food there, too.

Wifi was fine in the open-air lobby. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your very nice comments !

We look forward to being your hosts again soon. Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
25.0 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing