We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
BIRMINGHAM UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is mainly for tourists visiting the archealogical site which is about 10 minutes away. Most people therefore stay for 2 or 3 nights. My husband and I arrived there on 12th January and stayed 3 nights. It was a lovely experience as the staff made us very welcome with a cool drink when we arrived and were always friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was a good size,, extremely clean and the bathroom was large with fresh towels everyday. The hotel had a swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers. There were also very comfortable rocking chairs on the patio area outside the rooms. The restaurant was pleasant and provided a varied breakfast of fresh fruit, breads toast and pastries, cereals and a cooked breakfast was made to order. In the evening we had some very good meals from a menu with about 12 main choices as well as starters and desserts. The waiters and chef were very accomodating and one evening my husband fancied a spaghetti carbonara and this was produced fresh from the kitchen. All the food was freshly made and the fish was particularly delicious and the meat tender. The manager Luis runs an excellent hotel and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the archealogical sites. Thank you Luis from Stewart for the games of backgammon and ping pong. It was good fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PILAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
... Oh, are we ever happy that you "Loved our hotel " !!!!

We are investing loving care in all we are doing at the Hotel Chichen Itza. We are installing NEW air conditioning equipment, so patrons this summer will enjoy quiet, efficient cooling during their stay. Brand new LED Flat screen TV's are being fitted to all rooms as I write this. Our staff is being trained in various languages with free classes for all that wish to take them.

Comments like yours enlighten our efforts, and we thank you so much for sharing them with the world's traveling community. Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    203
    87
    25
    6
See reviews for
93
226
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was clean and cute with a little character...I mean worth $350 a night? No, but it was 2012 Winter Solstice so they were obviously price gouging. It is about a $49 a night room in the states. When we got there the guy acted like he couldn't find our reservation and called the Lodge up the street. Which I knew we were not at. So, he told us to email our confirmation email from our phone to his computer. Very weird. And thankfully my husband kept that on his phone. Not sure what he needed that for, we could clearly see our name on a reservation list on a clipboard on the desk but he said he needed it. Whatever. They do not help you with luggage. I saw them help no one. I don't think they know that's what you do at a hotel. There were four guys standing behind the desk and they watched me carry my heavy bag up the stairs, there is no elevator. But they were kind enough to move to the side so I could lug it up the staris. I thought I was in the twilight zone. Lol. Beds are cheap and hard, two twins pushed together to make a king but we slept fine. Air conditioner was super loud but it helped drown out the sound of barking and fighting dogs that went on all night. And every night. The breakfast was good...$10 for the buffet on weekends. And I don't normally like buffets. The ala carte menu was better during the week but you can't order off it on weeknds, only buffet. Which when we did try to eat dinner there once, it was 5:15 and the only thing left were black beans. It was busy and I'm sure they were just behind bringing out more food but when I mentioned it to the server that there was only one thing left to eat. The big fat guy counting money behind the desk said to tell us they were out of food. That's their standard way of dealing with complaining tourists. I was obviously going elewhere anyway but they continued to serve as few items as possible to people even until we got back at 9:00 from our fabulous meal in Valladolid. (See my other reviews on meals and the ruins) Overall, it's a place to lay your head and the walking distance to the ruins is the great thing about it. But next time, I would just stay in civilization and make Valladolid my base.

Room Tip: It's a two floor motel basically. I like 2nd floor so I don't have to hear people moving cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We thought we were going to be able to leave a positive review for this hotel until we realized that a digital camera had been taken out of a zipped-shut suitcase in our locked hotel room. We had made it all the way to Valladolid by the time we realized the camera was missing. When we called the manager to tell him about our experience, he told us that only two people could have entered our room while we were out to dinner the night before: the front desk staff person and the manager himself. Not very reassuring. We contacted the hotel multiple times to see if the camera had been turned in and provided every opportunity for the hotel to return the camera, including our email and contact information. All of our photos from Chichen Itza were lost with it.

Room Tip: We used Orbitz to reserve a room, which the hotel had no record of receiving. The front desk staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a ground floor room which was damp and noisy. You could hear the air con in the room above; tour groups woke us early every morning. Staff were indifferent and the restaurant was ordinary and over-priced. After two meals there, we ate elsewhere. Piste is a dusty town, offering little for tourists. Next time I would make Valladolid my base. Much better value and more choices. It also has the wonderful private home/museum Casa de los Venados.

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs room to reduce noise exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our 'Yucatan Explorer' trip. Room was of a good size, clean and comfortable but a little noisy as it was above the bar. Having said that it didn't really matter as we could shut the bathroom door which made it a lot quieter and we were tired from our long journey and the full, interesting days visiting local sites with our excellent guide. Food was good, though initially a bit restricted for vegetarians on the 'official' menu, but the staff were very kind in cooking something special for us when they realised we didn't eat meat or fish. The location was good, being close to the village and its shops. We kept hearing fireworks during our stay, which turned out to be the Fiesta. Long may local traditions continue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historybuff666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This Best Western Hotel sits just outside the Chichen Itza site, and we stayed here for 3 nights, whilst on tour, and had nothing to complain about, we had a ground floor room, and used both the bar, and restaurant, although the actual menu was a little plain, but on 2 nights they had a buffet which was much better, and gave a wider selection of foods. The staff at the Hotel could not do enough for us, and would recommend this hotel both for the local sites, and also being in the small town which does give you the opportunity to see what is around locally, as when we stayed there they had a local celebration going on, and the main square was all lit up, and everybody was joyful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! They mean the world to us. We greatly appreciate your visit. Come again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this budget option. The room was clean and spacious and the water was hot. We used this as an overnight stop off so that we could get to Chichen Itza first thing and it served its purpose very well. Our only criticism would be the food. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and had to send our spaghetti back. To their credit the waiters agreed it was not to standard and did not charge us. (The pizzeria down the road was great)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your pleasant comments!
I have taken note on your comment on the spaghetti. It will be hot next time you come.
Muchas Gracias! Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
25.0 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing