We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chichen Itza
Nearby Hotels
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Chichen(Chichen Itza)
$116
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen(Chichen Itza)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oka'an(Chichen Itza)
$54
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Quinta Marciala(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonte(Valladolid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
139
235
102
26
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
235
102
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschichen itzaate dinner and breakfastrocking chairsnice hotelswimming poolnice poolan early startbeat the crowdsarchaeological sitegrilled chickencoffee machinerooms are spacious and cleanplaya del carmentour buses arrivehotel restaurantthe air conditioninglarge room
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 508 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

it is quite expensive for mexican standards. entrance hall and bar are nice so is the garden and the pool. the rooms are nothing special. our bathroom was not very clean with hundreds of small dead insects. average hotel for a stay-over in order to be early at chichen itza - a bit too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a pleasant stay after an exhausting day at Chichen Itza. The room had air con and there were not many hotels to choose from in Piste. This was close by and great parking in the centre. It was near local restaurants (we turned left out of hotel and a very short walk on the right had dinner, we had the best guacamole of the trip here).

The pool was small but a welcome relief after the heat although was not the cleanest it did not bother us.

Overall good value for money and would stay here again...

Room Tip: Try and avoid the roadside as the traffic is higher in the early morning as the locals go to Chichen Itza to sell.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldodgemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

If we are a "Fine Hotel for the Money", why did you rate us "average" ?
We believe we give our clients exceptional value for the money. Where on earth do you get all we give for under $56.- USD ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was a good price and we picked it because of the American Name thinking it would be comparable to what we were use to. It was attractive made in the Mexican style stucco. There was a pool, dinning room and bar, all of theses close early. The room was old and smelled of mold. We told that breakfast was free so I ate only 1 roll and was charged 10 US dollars. Could be because of the language barrier. The town is very nice to experience, drive through. If you are traveling from Cancun, fill up there because there are no gas stations on the way. We ran out at the toll booth ( cost 27 US dollars) we asked the police where to get some gas so they syphon gas from an ambulance and charged us 20 US dollars then split it between them. Fun experience even though it was scarry thinking we would be stuck there without any help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

We appreciate your comments very much. Yes, we give unusual value for what the hotel provides... takes you back to yesteryear to pay about $50.- USD for a room that today would cost over 70% more just about anywhere else. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This perfect choice for a stay in the quaint yet busy pueblo of Piste. Piste is visited for one huge reason- the World Heritage site of Chichen Itza. The hotel, which is best known by the taxi drivers as "The Mission" (named after the hotel group), is a little shy of a mile away from the entrance of Chichen. The park entrance is not only the local artiseans square but also the towns' bus stop and currency exchange center.
The hotel staff stands out for their immaculate service and clean grounds. The ladies wear traditional "hipilies" or "ternos" which are the elegant white dresses with bright colored emboirdery flowers around the chest and neck pieces. The ladies and men can be easily spotted around the premises and ready to offer any assistance. For example, any time you need to setup a taxi or ask local questions the staff is more than happy to assist. The rooms are spacious, clean and affordable. They do just the job for an over night stay and early trek to Chichen but rest a sure if you are staying longer you won't regret staying here. The rooms facing the courtyard are the quietest and the best view from your front porch/patio rocker. The groundsman, Isidro is happy to help you gather fruit from the many fruit bearing trees in the garden. The restaurant is a happening spot in town and many of the tours and buses stop by for the lunch/dinner buffet. The food is that great and super fresh! And don't worry about the extra people the traffic is nearly unnoticed by the guests. Just know that you have prime location in this little town for the best sleep, eats and service. Not too mention the pool and the garden is a great way to soak in the sun and take a dip.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter facing the courtyard than the street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceyandRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Gracias!
We work hard at our gardens... and we are delighted you noticed!
We ook forward to your next visit. Until then, happy and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After flying into Cancun, we headed straight to the town of Piste so that we could get an early start the next day at Chichen Itza and surrounding places. The town of Piste is cute. The people there are friendly which is amazing due to the level of poverty there.

We pulled into the Best Western with six of us. Me, my wife, and four kids. The main lobby is open to the outside with a big atrium. There are hundreds of birds chirping in nearby trees which gave it a very tropical feel. Most of the staff spoke only a little english with the exception of Luiz who checked us in. With six of us, we had to unfortunately get two rooms which doubled the price ($90 per room with 2 breakfasts included). By the way be careful which rate you get. There are cheaper rooms there but from what I've heard they are very small with twin beds. Our rooms had two double beds in each with private baths. The overall room layouts were quite nice with terracotta tiling. A/C worked fine in each room. We heard other reviews complain about the noise but I guess we are used to white noise due to fans at our house so it didn't bother us (especially when the other option is no A/C).

Here are some other points:

- Pool. The Pool was clean and refreshing. The front desk supplied thick pool towels.

- Water. DON'T drink the water here. Actually anywhere in MX. The hotel supplies one small water bottle per room per day which isn't enough to survive on. See advice on Oxxo below.

- Bathroom. As expected, quite simple. The windows in the bathroom actually were manual wooden blinds with a screen so the bathroom stayed quite humid. We would advise closing the bathroom door while the air is on in the bedroom to keep the bedroom cool. Signs all over saying don't drink the water and also don't flush toilet paper. Water pressure in the shower was great!

- Quick Snacks. Just 100 feet from the hotel is an Oxxo store. Similar to a 7-11. They have chips, sandwiches, water, drinks, and beer. The drink section could have been right out of a 7-11 with gateraide, Arizona Tea, etc. And beer is cheap. Maybe $3 a six pack. We took a six pack back to the pool and drank it before it got cold. The other benefit of Oxxo is payment. They take credit cards because you should save all your pesos for other things...

- Town. Lots of simple, cute shops and restaurants just feet from the hotel. As you walk toward downtown (past the Oxxo), there are numerouse gift shops and food. Some food places are as simple as a grill cooking marinated chicken/onions. We ate our first night at La Reyes which has a buffet for $100 pesos (6 USD) per person. This included Mayan styled salsa and chips, pork, chicken, and dessert. Very good! The next day we ate a one of the grill places. $100 pesos for a full cooked chicken with rice and salsa. The place was open air and maybe only sat 10 people. Grandma was cooking at the grill and her family served us. Best food of our trip!

- Breakfast. Because we had breakfast included, we ate at the Best Western's main dining hall. This place must be able to seat 200 people. If you plan to get to Chichen Itza early, get there when the dining hall opens at 7am because the services flows at a slow pace (at least for an east coaster like me). They serve either a continental breakfast (fruit, bread) or american breakfast (plus eggs/pancakes). I wish they just had a buffet but overall the food was good. Not sure if it would have been worth paying for all six though.

- Chichen Itza. It opens at 8am so get up and eat breadfast early. Our plan was to go see things in the morning and get back to hotel before final checkout (noon). From the hotel, CI is only 10 minutes away so its very close! We got there by 8:10 and were the first car in the parking lot. Payment for CI can start off kind of confusing. You basically have to go through two different ticket booths (one for the park and one for the government) to finally get into the park. The total fee is around $100 pesos per person plus $20 pesos for parking. The park stays pretty quiet for the first hour or so then tour buses start arriving. There are vendor stands both inside and outside the park. Most were still setting up while we were there so they weren't really nagging us. We basically saw everything in just over 1.5 hours including the cenote onsite. Now off to IK Kil cenote!

- IK KIL Cenote. Probaby the highlight of our trip! Only another 5 minutes east of CI. They opened at 10am and we were again the first people parking in the lot. Payment was around $70 pesos per person. Past the vendor stands, there is a changing room where they wanted everyone to lock up there belongs (Lockers were available for a fee). Luckily the lockers were not open yet so they told us to just take all of our stuff down to the cenote. We stipped down to our bathing suits, showered (which is mandatory to wash off as many chemicals before swimming), and walked down 200 feet to get to the bottom. Other than two guys who worked there cleaning the cenote, we were the only people there for close to one hour! By the way, we "borrowed" towels from the Best Western which really helped out so that we didn't get our packed towels wet!

- Checkout. We got back to the Best Western, showered, packed our bags, and checked out by noon. Then off to Playa del carmen.

- Things we would have done different. Piste is such a cute town I think next time we would stay there at least two nights just to soak in more of the culture.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool are nice and are only steps from the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PatfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments with the world traveling community!
Come back soon! We would love to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews