We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in a Challenging Environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellavista Cloud Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let me start by saying I loved it! My family liked it and were pleased we only had two full days and three nights there. The trails through the rain forest are challenging and the great sights have to be earned through tough walking and scrabbling up and with more difficulty down the often muddy mountain trails. If you can get a buzz from coming across a dramatic waterfall amongst the forest trees and have the urge to strip off and shower in the crystal clear waters before moving on wet and refreshed this is he place for you .Bellavista is at the top of the mountain and the 360o view from the top room in the geodome with humming birds on feeders all around is an image which will live with me. The food was better than I expected and the exchange of stories with fellow visitors meant the evenings quickly past. Only if you have no interest in birds at all and have no sense of adventure could you not at least like Bellavista. If your driving the 2 hours from Quito I would recommend a visit to the El Pahuma Orchid Reserve which is about half way between Quito and Bellavista and provides more than just a refreshment and comfort break as you can walk amongst hundreds of orchids.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Bamboo House. Room was okay. Near the gate so sometimes early morning bird tours may wake you up as the leader talks loudly. Meals are good and bar service is fine. Richard was quite helpful in setting up a tour to Antisana. The only negative was they forgot to come pick us up from our previous lodge as had been agreed upon. So we had to take a taxi up at extra cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I really liked my two day, one night trip to this lodge. I made the most of every minute, went on every walk available and got up at 3am to see the cock of the rocks, which was FANTASTIC. Plenty to see and do, nature everywhere. The guides were very knowledgable, friendly and interesting.

I liked my room on the first floor room with a floor to ceiling window- we could see hundreds of amazing huge moths at night on the lamp outside.

Food was plentiful and tasty. Ask for a coconut milkshake, it was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilikeclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had spent a night in the bellavista cloud forest reserve after our trip from the galapagos. The forests themselves are beautiful. However, unless you're a passionate about seeing smaller birds you'll probably find an extended stay there a little boring. Late each afternoon/evening it rains in the forests. You are able to go for shorter hikes with a guide at this time but walking in the rain really isnt that fun. If you're interested in seeing the forests i would suggest planning a day tour (you'll save a quite a bit of money by not staying the night). If you're passionate about birds i would recommend staying a night.

Also, one other note, you need to go on the "difficult" trails if you want to see any of the hidden waterfalls. So unless you're in good phyical fitness you likely will not see the waterfalls.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant place to see birds, especially hummingbirds, at close quarters. Great food. Rooms are rustic and very imaginative. Not big on privacy. Weather can be damp (cloud forest) so be prepared. For bird watchers it is excellent. Richard is a wonderful host and has incredible knowledge of the birds, plants and animals.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pros:
+ Good way to explore the 'jungle' without the poisonous critters
+ Awesome food every meal
+ A good variety of hikes that are of varying difficulties
+ Hummingbirds everywhere! Can't complain if you are even remotely interested in birds.

Cons:
- As others noted, no heating is provided so it can be chilly at night. They give you lots of blankets though, and there is a space heater.
- Not good for seeing animals, mainly just birds and plants

At the end of the day, you need to realize that you are going to a cloud forest, not a tropical rain forest. It is still very densely populated by plants, but there are very few species of reptiles and fewer species of mammals. If you hate bugs and lizards, but want to see the forest, this is your place. Almost nothing is poisonous so you can also touch plants and such if you feel the urge to do so.

I found my guide to be fantastic even though she over-estimated my hiking abilities I think - certainly more challenging than I expected. I actually really liked the rooms even though they are fairly basic. I do agree with the other posters than a one night stay is probably ideal, given the relatively short list of things to do (mainly just hike).

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a price difference, but ask for a room in the stand-alone houses if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were recommended this place by our tour operator in Quito as a possible attraction for our month visit to Ecuador.

This is definitely the place to be if you are a birdwatcher just judging from the gushing and constant enthusiasm coming from other visitors. The guide David was brillant- very polite and knew his stuff. I was impressed with his understated expert knowledge and also for forgiving us for not being bird experts. It made us feel not so out of place. However that being said, we did do some good walking trails that did not just focus on birds for example a waterfall trail that took you through the waters up the mountain, complete with wellies, to see a waterfall.

Our accommodation was on top of the restaurant in rooms that were so close to each other you could everything they did and said next door. The lady next door had the electrical heater on all night for example. She would also be using her hair dryer for hours at a time. This of course shows just how cold and damp it was if not to say loud.

The place does not offer any activitiesin the evening. The lighting emanating from all the lamps whether indoor or outdoor are particularly sterile. A very cold bluish light that robs you of any ambience. There was a tiny lounge area with some six chairs but it was cold and damp. People just tended to play cards to pass time and then went to dinner at 19 hrs and then off to bed at around 20.30... I was expecting more entertainment choices in particular when the owner mentioned they try to make people stay two nights. Then he should provide an atmosphere for that. The place certainly has all the ingredients - something he is wont to stress. Actually candle lights would be great or some old oil lamp types can make for an atmosphere. They could also provide chairs with wollen blankets so you can sit outside in the evenings (like what you often see in city cafes).

The food was really good. The kitchen was located in another building, yet the sprinting service was still able to offer three meals, hot at that and very good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tandayapa
7 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
222 reviews
8.9 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#42 of 112 in Quito
207 reviews
18.6 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
265 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Cloud Forest

Address: Jorge Washington E7-23 y 6 de Diciembre, Tandayapa, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Tandayapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tandayapa
Price Range: $251 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellavista Cloud Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellavista Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Cloud Forest Hotel Tandayapa
Bellavista Cloud Forest Ecuador/Tandayapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing