We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge in the clouds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellavista Cloud Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellavista Cloud Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lodge in the clouds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights and 3 days here. The setting is stunning. You are at the top of a mountain looking out over pristine forest. The views can't be beat! I'd recommend the Mirador Suite.
We booked the package where they picked us up in Quito. They were nearly a half hour late and at 6:30am that is a real pain. I'd add 20 -30 minutes to the time they tell you for pick up.
The trails here are quite difficult, since the hotel is at the top of a mountain every one involves a lot of going down or climbing. Particularly the Discovery falls trail, we nicknamed it the "trail of death" there has to be nearly 1,000 steps. When we first arrived we took the organized tour with the guide Andrea, she was great, very knowledgeable. We then decided to hike on our own, our favorite hike was to the waterfall on the S & Y trails. It is also very difficult, walking in the river and some rock climbing but it was beautiful. Really the only wildlife to see there is birds. If you aren't interested in birds then you should enjoy hiking or you will be disappointed.
The power was out for about 24 hours of our stay. It was fine, but I'd recommend bringing a flashlight. Also, the lodge is staffed by a number of students and volunteers some are quite good but others are obviously just trying to get through it so that they can get their free lodging or get their school project done.
On the last day we took the day trip to Mindo. We saw the butterfly farm, orchid farm, chocolate factory and hummingbird garden. The butterfly farm and the chocolate factory were great! The Orchid farm and hummingbird garden were a bit of a disappointment. Also, we should have eaten lunch in Mindo, the hotel recommended Nalgito for its world famous fritadas but the restaurants there were quite dirty and by the time we got there at 1pm were out of food!
Overall, it is a beautiful setting with great hiking and lots of birds.

Room Tip: Mirador Suite has an amazing view, just don't expect to sleep past sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
107
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Bellavista in the top floor of the bamboo building. The accommodations were basic but nice (and quite fun sleeping in a room made from bamboo). There is no heat except for space heaters so it's sort of like camping indoors, which was fine with us. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and our walking tours with our guide. Since it's a place for birders most of all, it's a bit difficult to keep younger children engaged (ours are 8 and 10) just because it tends to be a bit slow. Our first walk through the cloud forest was great for the kids and us, but they were happiest when we hiked to the waterfall on our own and could go at a pace they liked. The food was good--granola and fruit and yogurt started every breakfast followed by eggs cooked however you liked. There were no choices for lunch and dinner, which was not really a problem for the adults (the grilled rainbow trout was especially fantastic) but harder for the kids. I recommend bring snacks and cookies, etc. because they are only available for purchase for $1 per small package. And finally--be prepared for the van ride, especially if you have motion sickness. The ride from Quito was beautiful, but twisty and fast, and once you get closer you switch to a gravel road which is quite rough. We enjoyed the ride, but I was glad I had taken motion sickness meds before.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeejayteeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this lodge. A special place because you're in the heart of the cloud forest, but the rooms (the dome) were a bit small and and moistures and at night very cold (not so comfortable).

For hummingbird photography it's a nice place, but for other birds the lodge didn't put much effort to attract them (banana trees or pin banana's on a tree to attract Toucans). Most of the trails are very steep and hard to walk. If you compare this lodge to San Jorge de Tandayapa Hummingbird Sanctuary (which is in the same area) the San Jorge Lodge exceeds this lodge on every aspect (we stayed on this lodge as a part of "San Jorge Magical Birding Circuit").

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were on a tour for 2 weeks with Adventure Life and stayed 2 nights here. The nice thing was we got there early enough on the first day to have breakfast and go on the waterfall hike. The second day was full and didn't leave until after 3 pm on the third day, so we had lots of time to enjoy the place. The staff were fantastic and our local guide David is Bird Nerd Extrodinaire! I think I saw over 50 species in 2 days, including toucans, quetzals, hummingbirds, trogon amongst others. Food was awesome! Only reason it's not 5 stars is there is no WI-FI, I own my own business and need to be in touch while gone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in July. It's a great place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to see birds. Our guide, Jorge Luna Munoz was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the region.
The food was excellent. It was simple, but tasty and hot. I love that every lunch and dinner was served with a hot soup. It was a good way to warm up the body.
Two things I would suggest for improvement: cleaning up the room daily and having a thicker curtains to block out the lights. We found that the walkway light kept us up as we stayed on the first floor facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bellavista for 2 nights this past week. The cloud forest surrounding the Bellavista is magical and we saw some beautiful birds while we took hikes with our expert guides, David and Nelson. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We were so pleased to meet the owner Richard so that we could personally thank him for his vision in conserving this beautiful area. Thank you to everyone for making our visit so wonderful.
Frances

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franythegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were very excited to visit the cloud forest to see the wonderful bird life. We spent three days here and spent much time watching the many varieties of humming birds. There were many other species of birds there too and the guides were only too happy to tell you their names. Our accommodation was comfortable but more heating could have been provided. The only complain we had was that they did not have a comfortable and warm lounge where the guests could sit and chat about their experiences. However, we will never forget our visit to Bella Vista with its friendly staff , great guides and magnificent birds. They are to be congratulated on their efforts to preserve this special place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aftonjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tandayapa
6.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
6.5 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.9 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
5.4 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Cloud Forest

Property: Bellavista Cloud Forest
Address: Jorge Washington E7-23 y 6 de Diciembre, Tandayapa, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Tandayapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tandayapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellavista Cloud Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bellavista Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Cloud Forest Hotel Tandayapa
Bellavista Cloud Forest Ecuador/Tandayapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing