We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Horizon Sky Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Sky Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mugla
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great flat at the resort. Electric went off almost daily though, although not for long periods. The free boat to Gulluk is great and very relaxing. Spent a bit of time around the pool and had no trouble getting a bed at poolside. Gulluk is great and some good restaurants Kucuk Ev, Kirchin and the in middle straight across from where you come off the boat. Took a bus to Bodrum which was great but very hot. Lots to do and see there although the market was more expensive than some of the shops in the town. There is a small clothes shop in Gulluk next to the barbers which has cheap tshirts, hoodies etc all genuine fake. Overall loved it and going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geomac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from a fortnight at Horizon Sky. Location is stunning with amazing views from our apartment and the complex. However, you are isolated having only a boat to Gulluk for shopping and restaurants. Our apartment was modern and mostly ( no tin opener!!) fully equipped and had a balcony overlooking one of the swimming pools. We arrived early evening and hadn't realised there would be no shop on site for our provisions. There is a little local shop on the edge of this and another resort where you can buy bread, water, alcohol, but little else, but it was not open when we arrived. There was a general lack of information and the office staff were not forthcoming when asked anything. Anything we wanted to know, we asked other holidaymakers. There is a small notice board with not much info on it! As an example, there is a free car which calls on site every morning about 11am and takes you to Jasmine beach, a 10 minute ride away. (He will also take you back when you are ready) It is a stunning little beach (nicer than Horizons) and the driver is from one of the bars there and the food is excellent and you get use of sunbeds for the price of a drink in any of the bars. There was only basic info in the apartment, including ferry timetable. We ate in the pool bar on our first night and was very disappointed. Our order was taken and even read back to us, yet only 2 of our 4 meals arrived and the waiter who took the order simply looked bewildered offering no apology, so did not eat there again. Getting around the resort is difficult for those of us who are not super fit as all roads are up steep hills - there are cars which transport you from the beach/ferry to main pool and then golf buggy takes you further up - if you can get one and if it can get you up the hill.....we had to get out and push it one night!!!! My hubby used the gym and was quite concerned that there is no safety information or instructions on how to use equipment. Also he said that the sauna/steam room was never switched on and on asking he was simply met with a shrug of shoulders!
On an evening, there was nowhere to go to other than pool or beach bar on site (partly because of the steepness of roads) and then you had to rely on their cars - on one beach trip, we asked for a car to take us back and had to wait 45 minutes (despite 3 requests to bar staff) We have spent a lot of time sat in buses and waiting around for cars and when you have arrived back with your many shopping bags, it isn't good!!! Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful
The ferry takes you to Gullak, but times are restricted and often the boat is busy, especially on an evening. On a positive note, there is a fridge on board where you can leave your shopping until you sail - though we weren't told about this until nearly time to go home!!! The resort has a lot of regulars who own their own apartments and they tell us it is still developing and will have a supermarket etc on site in time, which will be much appreciated I am sure.
It was certainly a relaxing holiday, though not through choice, through the isolation!

Room Tip: The higher up your apartment, the more stairs you have to climb - all apartments seem to have good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FleetwoodJulie1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got back from this resort on the back of reading fantastic reviews on the place and have to say they are way OTT!. we stayed in a duplex appartment which I have to stay was of great quality and nicely furnished only problem is it was up a very steep hill and a real slog in the heat to get up but there were great views from the balcony, they do however have cars and buggies taking you up but we found in the peak time of year they were stretched and they were not always available so standing around is common place unless you braved the hike.
The resort itself is ok but is quite spread out and the swimming pools, bar/resturant and pool and beach are a fair distance from each other so be carefull with young kids and eldely.
The beach I was impressed with and has been done quite tastefully to be honest but the staff really struggle to handle it when they even start to get busy , we had to wait 20 minutes just to get a drink and other people we met were really unhappy with the service and quality of the food so we gave up in the end and went to the bar resturant which also at times struggled with the amount of people especially at night time but the food i have to say was always pretty good.
the swimming pool at the bar and those scattered around the complex are of good standard but are way short of sunbeds and the sunbeds that are there are starting to look tatty and are in need of replacement ,same with the umberellas. The pool close to us could have housed at least 40 sunbeds but only had 6 which did make me laugh. the main pool by the bar also lacked the correct amount of beds which meant the more selfish of people resorting to the towel reservation policy.
We were also promised free wifi in the room and at the bar which in all fairness was a complete joke, you cant wash over it its just doesnt work or it might work at the bar sometimes if your lucky.I asked the office staff about this and they couldnt be any less interested so i didnt darken their door again
There is a nice boat that takes you to Gulluk which is a very nice 30 minute trip if i had i complaint is that it could run a bit more frequently.
There is literally nothing to do for kids other that swimming and swimming so bear that in mind as no entertainment is laid on.
All in all its not a bad place but its not heaven on earth for sure.

Room Tip: get a penthouse if you can as we never got sun on our balcony and they have roofs that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What an amazingly beautiful place. The staff are excellent and so are the facilities. I am going back again in October and December. When the clubhouse is completed next year, this development is going to be state of the art. I would say that this resort is ideal for couples and children but not very elderly persons because of the steep inclines, however this doesn't really make much difference as the staff drive you where you want to go. This is living the millionaires lifestyle without necessarily being the millionaire, so well done to Signature Resorts!

Room Tip: These are apartments and they all face south and are generous in size. They all have great views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Horizon Sky is brilliant and getting better as they extend the facilities. We stayed for the first time for 2 weeks in June 2013 - one of the penthouses in Coconut Grove. The staff are the best people especially the drivers of the cars which ferry you around the place at all hours of the day and night. The pools are all gorgeous and the grounds are kept immaculately. Please do not hesitate to stay in this beautiful part of Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopeep96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mugla
0.0 mi away
Pasabey Hotel
Pasabey Hotel
#40 of 234 in Marmaris
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#101 of 234 in Marmaris
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yucelen Hotel Gokova
Yucelen Hotel Gokova
#5 of 12 in Akyaka
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Azmakhan
Hotel Azmakhan
#15 of 21 in Akyaka
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baga Hotel Gokova
Baga Hotel Gokova
#3 of 12 in Akyaka
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva Camp
Shiva Camp
#3 of 30 in Mugla
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Sky Resort

Property: Horizon Sky Resort
Address: Gokliman Mevkii Kiyikislacik Koyu Tepekoy Tatil Sitesi Yani | Horizon Sky Santiyesi Milas, Mugla, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Mugla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mugla
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Sky Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Sky Resort Apartments in Iasos are a 5 star complex built in a secluded location across Mandalya Bay from Gulluk. The 7 large swimming pools,2 Jacuzzi s and 6 children's pools make for a stunning resort with 360 degree Aegean sea views. The restaurant and bar serves snacks and meals throughout the day and the private beach is a great spot to enjoy the turquoise waters.The resorts unique feature is the private boat which transfers guests across the bay to Gulluk where you will find the shops, restaurants, bars and nightlifeHorizon Sky Resort is designed for a traditional, quiet, relaxing holiday with days spent by the pool or on the beach and evenings in the resorts restaurant and bar. Ideal for couples or families looking for a tranquil, secluded holiday with activities a short boat ride away.Horizon Sky Iasos apartments are a mix of 1 bed garden and penthouse and 2 bed duplex and penthouse apartments. All the holiday apartments in Gulluk have at least 1 double bedroom, an open plan kitchen, dining, living area with sofa & coffee table and separate bathroom with shower, basin & toilet. Each apartment has stunning sea views from its balcony or terrace over Mandalya Bay towards Gulluk.The apartments are contemporary, modern and fully equipped for self catering stylish living.Horizon Sky Apartments are situated in an elevated position overlooking Mandalya Bay across to Gulluk. Just 30 minutes by water taxi to Gulluk and 40 minutes drive from Bodrum airport its a secluded and idyllic locationYou don't have to move from the resort as there is plenty on offer however the private boat runs regularly across the water to Gulluk. Gulluk itself features 2 beaches, 2 beach clubs and numerous food & drink outlets and has retained its traditional charm whilst embracing tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Sky Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Sky Resort Turkey/Mugla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing