We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
37
18
9
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
37
18
9
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Let me say upfront this is not a luxury hotel: its very basic, and its off the beaten path. Make sure you have clear directions because it isn't easy to find.

But the staff (Luis especially) make this hotel a phenomenal place from where to see the surrounding areas. From the moment we got there, Luis took care of us: set us up with tourguide, explained us how/where/what to eat/do/travel. There is a lovely pool area we didnt get to use, but looks like a great place to hang out and meet other travelers after a long day. The hotel is able to connect you with whitewater rafting, visits to waterfalls, pretty much anything you would want to do. Their dedication to the customer is simply incredible.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

I went to this hotel for a couple trip and it was a nice experience. The hotel is comfortable, beautiful, clean and a nice place to relax and disconnect from the busy life of the city. Highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Nata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

Super charming building with simple but spacious rooms. Near the main road, so you hear trucks driving by the whole time. If that does not bother you, the hotel rooster having his wake up moment between 3am and 5amnight do. You need a taxi to go to town or the activities and breakfast is served super slow. We waited 30min to 1 hr every time. Nice pool.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Susanninternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

I tried 2 others hotels before and we chosed this one because it is outside of San Gil, so the weather is much better, is calmer and price versus quality is faire. People at the hotel were also very friendly and helped us to accommodate. Breakfast is not included but they offered at affordable prices.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016

We flew into Bucaramanga from Bogota and then had to take a shuttle to the toll, walk across the toll bridge with our luggage, have another bus pick us up and drop us off on a ramp, walk to find a cab, drive to the bus terminal, and then take a 3 hour bus ride (they say no stops, but they always stop) to San Gil. Looking back, I would say either bus straight from Bogota to San Gil or private transport from Bucaramanga airport to San Gil. We finally arrived at 11pm on the night of hotel reservation here. The place was gorgeous. I love the courtyard! The staff was so friendly! We were able to book a tour that night with bike junkies who picked us up the next day to ride to Juan Curie waterfall. (We <3 Bike Junkies). The rooms are country style and nice, but the landscape of the hotel is just stunning. I could've stayed at the hotel the whole trip and had a great time just laying on the hammocks, lounging by the pool, or chatting with the staff. We came during the slowest season for San Gil, so we didn't see any other guests the whole time we were there, and it was very refreshing after all the busy hostels we'd been staying in. We had spa appointments that were extremely affordable in USD. It was about 5mil (less than $2) to take the 5 min cab ride into the square of San Gil and eat at gringo mikes and go shop. I just loved San Gil, and it is so worth it to stay at this beautiful paradise with such a professional, knowledgeable, and friendly staff. If you're going to stay in hostels in all the big cities like we did, San Gil's Hotel Camino Real is the place to live it up (because everything is less expensive in san gil, and so so beautiful!). We also took the private transport from the hotel back to the bucaramanga airport to fly to santa marta. That 2hr transport was the most expensive thing we paid for the whole trip (including flights in Colombia!) and was 140mil/person or $44USD at the time.
If I were to plan another trip to Colombia, I would've spent more time in Cartagena and San Gil and less time in Santa Marta and Bogota. Also check out Taganga if you like scuba.

Room tip: Best Views
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pARISA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews