We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Bank Holiday weekend @ Le Chene Gris”
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“May Bank Holiday weekend @ Le Chene Gris”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went on a 3 night Sun Holiday, we went prepared with duvets, pillows and toilet paper and had a lovely new Bali caravan with decking. It had one king size master bedroom and another bedroom with twin beds and an overhead bunk. Caravan was clean and ideal for short break. The site is fairly small but has all the essentials. It was situated a short drive to Disneyland, and the train station with regular trains to Paris is next to site. Staff in reception were very helpful and replaced a lightbulb straight away. A great weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornishmum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    121
    53
    33
    26
See reviews for
221
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed three nights en route to the south. The kids (7-10) absolutely loved the pools and the smallest guy enjoyed the park. Train station at the entrance for a stress-free trip into Paris, an easy drive from Parc Asterix, and within easy driving distances to loads of supermarkets for self-catering, also walking distance to a small shop. The take-out chips were absolutely dreadful - I think the guy on duty assumed that because we weren't French we wouldn't notice that they were old and reheated, but he didn't make a big deal of it and cooked us up a fresh batch which were grand. We stayed in a basic mobile home which was spotless and spacious with those inevitable pillows that appear to have been loosely stuffed with lumps only. Even though it was out of season (Sep), there were loads of smaller kids around and the pool was busy but not too busy. Quiet at night, this time of year anyway, mostly Dutch, French and English while we were there. An attractive, wooded site. Reception amenable and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snugglehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a couple of good trips last year I thought we'd go again. Got a good rate for 4 nights.
Pool wasn't ready but it was too cold to use anyway.
We were given an older caravan than previously. still well kitted out . However had a problem with the toilet which kept running water,missing a blind on the main door which luckily didn't disturb my son sleeping in the living room and the laminated worktop around the basin was coming apart.
Still a brilliant spot for disney we'll be going again
staff on reception still as helpful as ever

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaineeBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was a Sun newspaper 7 night caravan holiday in France. It was the first one of these deals we had done abroad. Having checked previous reviews we went prepared for very cold nights and thank goodness we did as the day we arrived the weather in Britain and France turned to winter over night! We travelled with 4 children, flying into Paris, train into central Paris, walked to Gare de l'est train station in paris and got the train to Pommeuse/Faremoutiers on the collummiers line. Its a direct train which is double decker but turned out the top seats seem to be for smokers. the campsite entrance is outside the train station. We had exceptionally helpful staff who were mainly dutch (its a dutch holiday company), very polite, very good english and very nice people.

We stayed in a Bali caravan/chalet which was very clean when we arrived. We knew we would have to clean the caravan before leaving or get charged cleaning fees. They only supply one thick blanket per person, and square (cushion like) pillows. You need to bring sheets, pillow cases or hire them. We brought our own and sleeping bags for all of us as there are NO duvets supplied. I preferred the Bali caravan to the british ones as we have 3 young children and one teenager. We had the small double bedroom, teenager in the living room and the other 3 were in the childrens room which has a set of bunk beds and a single bed. (the british caravans seem to only cater for 2 children in a bedroom). As previously described by other travellers, there is no TV and no oven. You get a microwave, and a hob. There was no Gas fire, we had one very small electric heater in the corner of the living room. The caravan had a lovely big decking area with tables and chairs and a sun shade.

I thought it was a lovely site and would be great in the summer. Our caravan was in amongst trees and bushes and it was very pretty as it was autumn. The outdoor pool looked great for young children. Sadly the winter weather stopped any use of the pool. there was a good size padded soft play climbing area which is inside a giant marquee and our kids spent lots of time there. They really liked going to the 'kids club' with our kind dutch kids entertainer who made them all laugh and chased them around for half an hour. he also did lots of drawing with them and face painting at Halloween. There were not many people staying at the site as this was the last week it was open. A few extra people turned up around Halloween to go to Disney which we did not bother with. You can get to it by train and bus from collummiers but I think its simpler to drive. There is a very small playground in the camp site.

We spent our time travelling to Collummiers on the train which is 2 stops. has two Lidl and a pretty town park which has some wildlife and a playground and a small museum. The kids tried out French in the local bakers. We walked from the campsite into the little town/villages of Pommeuse and Faremoutiers that also had some basic shops. The shops in the villages and towns seem to shut during the early part of the afternoon and re open about 4pm to 7pm/9pm.

We got the train in to Paris for some day trips. You can buy the train tickets at the train station but the automatic machine was not working and mostly the ticket office is not open. We got paris visitor train tickets from the campsite reception. It was 10 euros for a child age 4 to 10, or 15 euros for each adult. this covered train travel up to zone 5 and all metro and bus travel for the day. (it also covered us for the little train that goes up the hill at Monmatre). The train into paris takes just under an hour.

Our biggest expense of the week was the train travel into Paris. we took packed lunches which were eaten in the parks of Paris as during the day it was clear and sunny and warm enough to be outside.

We enjoyed the week and the campsite as a base for visiting paris. It gave us (a large family) somewhere to cook meals in the evenings and let the children have a runaround and being a newspaper deal, it was very cheap accommodation. I will be trying to get a holiday here again but during warmer months and possibly on eurostar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank pleasefeedmycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September . It is peaceful site hardly anybody was about. Used it as a base for Disney which is about 20 minutes by car and our sat nav avoided the toll road. our caravan was modern with 2 bedrooms one with a double bed, the other with bunk beds and a single bed. bathroom with shower and huge mirror toilet is on its own. living area with table and chairs kitchen has a microwave gas hob and a 'normal' size fridge freezer. it has an electric kettle but no toaster or oven.
plenty of storage space. we had to take our own sheets and towels & tea towels. a pillow which is square not oblong and a blanket for each bed. we had taken extra pillows thank goodness
there is one electric heater which is useful but in September the floors were cold and was chilly when you got up in the night. Plenty of crockery remember to take toliet roll as there will be none to start with. We arrived late and was met by the security guard who did all the paperwork & handed over the keys and marked on the map where it was!
It was a shame the weather wasn't warm enough as the pools looked lovely. didn't use the restaurant or bar. the staff in the office were lovely we ran out of gas for the boiler and it was replaced very quickly plus gave us the directions to the nearest petrol station when we'd almost run out of petrol in the car
it is in a lovely village typically french we were impressed that much we have booked for the half term in October. It is just a shame they are not open during the winter as the price difference between a basic 4 bedded room and this is almost nothing and much nicer to have the room & cooking facilities plus 2 bedrooms!!
There is much more to explore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaineeBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

No, it’s not as good as staying at a hotel within the Disneyland resort, nor like being at the David Crocket Ranch, but it is a way of experiencing the magic of Disney without spending a fortune…

Regarding Le Chêne Gris, I agree with most of the previous reviewers, but I did not experience delays at the reception, probably because our holiday did not start until 18th September. Maybe that’s also the reason for not seeing any ants, or maybe it’s because we bought some black sacks and cleared our rubbish daily. My main complaint about the campsite relates to wifi. Using my own laptop, the cost was 5 euro per hour for slow access; using the site’s internet facilities, also slow, the cost was 3.5 euro per hour and pressing keys on the keyboard did not always bring desired results – when accessing my webmail, in particular.

There was also a shortage of daylight in the mobile home that we were using (No. 9), because of a high hedge that even touched the rear windows and trees that prevented much of the sun getting to the decking area. The mobile home next door almost touched ours!

We discovered that it is fairly easy to get to and from Disneyland without using the toll road (which costs 2.10 euro for a very short stretch of road), by using the equivalent of the UK’s ‘B’ roads via Villiers-sur-Morin. To enter the two parks, we needed tickets for three adults and one child. One ticket was covered by using Tesco Club reward points; the others were purchased via eBay – saving approximately £65 compared with buying the three tickets in advance via the Disneyland website.

Picnics are not allowed in the park, but there’s nothing to stop you taking snacks in your pockets. For a cooked meal, all the restaurants are expensive. We found the best price to be at the ‘British’ fish and chips restaurant, Toad Hall. We had our meal before 12 o’clock, when the restaurant was almost empty; later it became very crowded.

On a different day, we made our way to the medieval town of Provins – an interesting place. While there, we saw a re-enactment show: The Legend of the Knights (11 euro for adults and 7.5 euro for children) – well worth the money.

Would we return to Le Chêne Gris? Yes, but would request a home in a better position. As a professional proofreader and copywriter, I will also try to persuade the owners to correct the errors in translating some of their notices into English!

  • Liked — Facilities for children
  • Disliked — Poor internet access
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasWillcox_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

used le chene Gris as a base for Disney, Reims and Paris. we stayed in a pre erected tent (2 adults 4 kids) and found it clean and comfortable, with lighting, fridge and cooker.
all the staff we encountered were very friendly and spoke good English. the pool area is nice as was the bar. I don't think the little supermarket was too outrageously over priced, no worse than a spar shop in the UK. Found a little supermarket just up the road too.
we paid about £55 for a ticket to Paris on the train (youngest was free) and included a day pass to the Paris metro, which I thought was good value, the train was clean and on time. buy the tickets from the reception of the campsite as the staff speak great English. I think you can also buy Disney tickets at the reception too.
a great place for a Paris/Disney base, some of the reviews on trip advisor really slate the place but its ok, it was really cheap, so don't expect 5 stars! the motorways are close by too. one gripe is only one toilet block, could do with another at the far end of the site. would definitely go again but would get the static home with toilet and shower for convenience.

Room Tip: easier to have a static caravan if you have young kids needing the toilet late at night, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rich364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
8.8 mi away
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-Fran...
#1 of 3 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
1,286 reviews
9.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,073 reviews
3.2 mi away
Domaine de Crecy
Domaine de Crecy
#1 of 1 in Crecy-la-Chapelle
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Explorers Hotel
Explorers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,923 reviews
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
8.3 mi away
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
#1 of 2 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
4,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Property: Le Chene Gris
Address: 24 Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pommeuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing