We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“le chene gris”
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Reviewed September 26, 2012

used le chene Gris as a base for Disney, Reims and Paris. we stayed in a pre erected tent (2 adults 4 kids) and found it clean and comfortable, with lighting, fridge and cooker.
all the staff we encountered were very friendly and spoke good English. the pool area is nice as was the bar. I don't think the little supermarket was too outrageously over priced, no worse than a spar shop in the UK. Found a little supermarket just up the road too.
we paid about £55 for a ticket to Paris on the train (youngest was free) and included a day pass to the Paris metro, which I thought was good value, the train was clean and on time. buy the tickets from the reception of the campsite as the staff speak great English. I think you can also buy Disney tickets at the reception too.
a great place for a Paris/Disney base, some of the reviews on trip advisor really slate the place but its ok, it was really cheap, so don't expect 5 stars! the motorways are close by too. one gripe is only one toilet block, could do with another at the far end of the site. would definitely go again but would get the static home with toilet and shower for convenience.

Room Tip: easier to have a static caravan if you have young kids needing the toilet late at night, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rich364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We made the grave mistake of visiting this campsite without a car. We made the decision to fly and get the train. The train station was right on the door step of the the campsite which was helpful but there was no information at reception to help with journeys and times. We managed to get to Disney ok, but the train journey in to Paris took a good hour.

We stayed in one of the 'Bali' homes and were very disappointed to find that we had to clean it, and it had to be checked before we were allowed to depart - it was like being on school camp. It was also very cold!

The food in the restaurant was terrible!!! Over priced and microwaved!

The staff were polite and helpful, but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Le Chene Gris

The campsite is located right next door to the railway station of Farmoutiers Pommouse and can easily be reached from Central Paris. Just jump on the train from La Gare de L´Est. The entrance to the campsite even opens up into the carpark of the train station so there is little more than a one minute walk from when you alight the train to the campsite reception. You most definitely DO NOT need a car to travel to this campsite. The RER system serves the campsite - just make sure that you catch the train which is marked Coulommniers as we accidently got on the wrong train from La Gare de l´Est and had to go back again and catch the correct train. No one even looked at our tickets thankfully so we just used them again!
A return ticket to and from Paris costs upwards of 17 euros so the campsite doesn´t exactly work out much cheaper (if it works out cheaper at all) as a base to travel into the city every day. You may be better seeking out a cheap hotel in the city than paying a return ticket every day if there are several of you travelling back and forth. The train also takes about one hour from Farmoutiers-Pomousse to Paris Est and the trains only run once every hour. You can buy a ticket inside the train station in the morning when it is staffed or from the ticket machine outside. Train tickets are also available from the campsite reception.

There is a small shop next to reception which is open all day during two months of the summer but which is only open a few hours in the morning and evening the rest of the season. We travelled in early September so had to time our visits to make sure it was open. The shop was convenient but VERY expensive even compared with higher French prices. Milk certainly does not cost 1.50 euros anywhere else I have visited in France. Criossants and Baguettes and other basics were also over priced. There was no press available at the shop. A large bottle of Coca Cola cost 2.50 euros which was even more expensive than at the campsite we visited in Italy (and the prices in Italy were severely inflated).

For cheaper shopping I recommend that you catch the train from Farmoutiers-Pommouse up to Coulommniers. This takes just ten mins and is only two stops away. When you get off at the train station walk to the end of the platform and turn right over the level crossing. Keep walking straight on for 5-10 mins and when you see the sign for McDonalds, turn left. Here you will find a Lidl. Much cheaper than the campsite shop! In Coulommniers there is also a small market on Wednesday mornings which might be worth going to see if you are looking for some cheap French souvenirs. The town is also typically French and so is a nice change from the campsite. A return ticket costs 3.50 euros but there never seems to be anyone checking tickets at either train station or on the train. Get a train timetable and plan your trip well. There is only one train an hour.

The campsite is fairly small so even if you are located at the far end of the site (which we were) you don´t really have far to walk compared with at other European campsites. You can hear the trains from Paris trundling past as the site runs along the edge of the track - but the noise isn´t so loud that it becomes an annoyance. There is an aerodrome nearby but again, noise from this isn´t really a problem.

There is only one area for dumping rubbish which is located at the entrance to the park - hardly handy when you are located at the other end of the campsite. Vacances Soleil expect the caravans and tents to be in a perfect state when you leave or they withhold your 150 euros deposit so it would be handier to have bins throughout the campsite so that it was easier to keep the caravan and campsite tidy.

We found out from some Dutch travellers half way through the week that they had located families staying for longer periods at the far end of the site and those staying for just a night or two nearer the main area and entrance. I don´t understand why this was and if true, I found this very unfair. Half of the caravans en-route from ours to the reception area were empty and were of the same style as ours - so I wondered why we couldn´t have had one of those just about every time I walked past with my tired 4 year old. Okay so the campsite isn´t that big in comparison with others we have been to - but when the facilities are all in one place and they are a ten minute walk away - it is a long journey with a tired toddler when you are having to walk back and forth several times a day.

There are no trailers for hire (for carrying shopping and water and such like) nor are there any bikes etc.

There is a large swimming pool area - part of which is covered with a sort of greenhouse for wetter and colder days. We went into the pool ONCE during the whole week and it was FREEZING. I don´t recommend taking a dip in September, even on a sunnier day and even in the covered bit of the pool.

The kids club is held in the decking area beside the swimming pool and upstairs from reception. There is a tent covering this area for sunny and wet days. Beside this there is a small adventure area with balls and a soft play area as well as netting and slide. This too is covered. My little girl lost her ring down the slats of the decking area - so be careful not to let your kids play with anything small and precious at this part of the campsite as you will never be able to get it back out again if it falls through the holes.

There isn´t much entertainment at the campsite compared with other places we have been to. We were given an animation programme when we arrived. There is kids club once a day with a short activity in the afternoon and a SHORT kids disco at 6pm which lasts for just half an hour. Some evenings there are other activities such as bingo - but there appeared to be a two hour gap between the kids disco and these activities. The songs at the kids disco are sung in lots of different European languages. CDs are available to buy at the disco and kids club for about 10 euros as we have found to be the norm at the different sites we have been to.
The animation team WERE nice people but the entertainment wasn´t a patch on what I would have expected for the extras charged by the campsite. They were on par with every other site we have stayed at but there were no all evening shows or daytime activities in the swimming pool etc. I think it is just assumed that most people use the site as a base for Disneyland Paris and Paris and so they don´t plan much for the guests to join in with. Activities are also too spaced out, for example the kids disco is at 6pm but IF there is any other activities they are planned for 8pm. That leaves at least an hour or so of a gap and so most have got fed up and gone back to their caravan. I wondered if there was a secret ploy behind this? The afternoon kids activity is also several hours after the kids club finishes and so if you plan for a meal out or something, then you might just arrive too late back to join in. We had hoped to meet the bee mascot (buzz?) but went to McDonalds in Coulommiers and just missed the 2.30 start by the time we got back. We had left the campsite just after the morning kids club and caught the train at 12.06. Never mind.. but I had enough of staying at the campsite so even a trip to McDonalds was better than hanging around to meet one of the team dressed up! Perhaps Buzz should have came to the morning kids club??

Wifi is available at the restaurant- snack bar and costs 4 euros per hour. Using the internet on one of the three computers available is slightly cheaper at 3.50 euros. We didn´t use this as there is free wifi in McDonalds in Coulommniers and as my phone company only charge me 5 pounds per day for unlimited internet access in Europe.

The caravan was quite big and spacious compared with other mobile homes we have stayed in at European and UK campsites. The decor was newer and more modern than any other mobile home I have stayed in to date and there was ample storage space. BUT... the toilet had no wash hand basin and so this was very inconvenient as I am trying to teach my little girl to wash her hands after she goes. This meant she had to go from one end of the caravan to the other - where the shower room and wash hand sink were located (as did I) to wash our hands after going to the loo.

There was no oven in the kitchen area - only a hob. There was a microwave located above the fridge freezer instead. The fridge freezer was very big and about the same size as you would find in a normal house.

There was heating in the living room area and we left this on all night and it was sufficient to heat the whole caravan in early - mid September. There was also an air conditioning unit with the remote control left in the caravan for when we arrived. There was no deposit or charge for this. It was not necessary for us to use this (I don´t tend to use air conditioning anyway as I am not a big fan) but this was a bonus given that it might have been welcome at other parks we have been to but where it was not available. There is no television or radio in the caravan. Having no television seems to be the norm in Europe but even in Italy we have had a CD player with radio supplied. At Le Chene Gris there was nothing. Take a laptop or ipad etc to keep your kids entertained and download lots of movies, music and cartoons on to it.
There IS a TV in the bar area which shows mostly Dutch television if it is actually switched on. When the bar staff don´t have this tuned into the music channels then the programmes shown are mostly in English with Dutch subtitles.

The large bedroom had one double bed and the small bedroom had a bunk bed and a single bed. There was also a large corner couch in the lounge area which two people could easily have napped on. Although we did not try it - I think that this turned into a sofa bed.
There was a dining table inside with two extra chairs the caravan and it was also possible to eat meals on the balcony - terrace. This was partially covered with an awning and so we could even eat there when it was raining. There was a table and four dining chairs outside and two deck chairs. There was also an airer provided and a parasol.

Cutlery and utensils were sufficient for eating and cooking. There was even a plug in kettle for making tea and coffee...

There were ample plug sockets - of the european kind - so there was no problem with finding somewhere to plug things in to charge. We have had problems with this before in caravans so this is something we always seem to notice :-)

There was no particular play area outside the caravan and the caravan backed on to a field in one direction and the little path which ran around the campsite on the other - cars are not prohibited from driving up and down this during the day - only after 10pm at night until 7am in the morning. This meant that there was no real place near the caravan, except for the balcony, for my little girl to play at. There was a little gate that you could bolt shut on the balcony¨decking area, which was a plus and this meant that toddlers could safely be left to play on the balcony for a few minutes.

There was supposedly a car parking space at either side of the caravan - but luckily for us we travelled by public transport as ours appeared to be being used by our neighbours.

In resumen, I have never been soooo bored in my life at a campsite - and that´s putting it nicely. We had one hottish day the whole time we were there (which meant my little girl got to spend some time in the pool which she had looked forward to enjoying ) - on our very last day, after almost a week of cold and rain! The French "red arrows" were also performing at an air display nearby on the last day so this cheered us up somewhat as we could watch it for free from our caravan.

The most exciting night we had on site involved playing bingo with the animation team and some lovely Dutch couples - who unfortunately left the next day... and I wouldn´t normally play bingo AT ALL unless there was absolutely NOTHING TO DO. Luckily I won a prize for my little girl and so she now has a mini-disco CD to play in the car. Hopefully the songs won´t bring too many memories back of Le Chene Gris as we won´t be back any time soon!

I would suggest that this is also not the accommodation to stay at if you are on a budget. There is nothing to do, everything is expensive and you will need to pay out to travel and find something to do. We went into Paris for 2 days and visited the market in Coulommniers one day and the McDonalds in Coulommniers the next (just for something to do). Good weather isn´t guaranteed in the Paris area and so unless you are lucky and get a sunny week then you will be looking for something to do that doesn´t involve hanging around the pool. I would also recommend that you don´t spend any longer than a few nights here. We booked for a week and it was waaayyy too long. Next time we are looking for a few nights or a week away in September or October - we will be considering our local Haven site instead of booking a campsite such as Le Chene Gris.

Room Tip: ask for a caravan NEAR to the reception and swimming pool area or you will be walking back and forth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank somoslagente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked this site using the Sun £9.50 deal and stayed for 7 nights (3rd – 9th Sept)

After reading mixed reviews we arrived with an open mind.
The reason for booking this site was to use it as a base for going to Euro Disney

Facilities
Shop – Small but a great place to get your morning bread, but stock up with a big shop at the hypermarket about 5 miles away
Pool – This is a fantastic pool if you have small children with slides and very shallow water. This is also a deeper pool and one that is undercover. They are not heated
Restaurant/Bar – The food is pretty limited to pasta, pizza and burgers so for a couple of meals it is fine but not sure how you would feel if you ate here every night. There is also a take away option which is about half the price of the restaurant.
Entertainment – We only made it back from Disney to see the entertainment a couple of time which our 2 year old enjoyed, mini disco and games
Soft play – There is a very large soft play area ideal for younger children.
Caravan – We stayed in a 2 bedroom Bali. It was basic and clean. Our outside raised decking was a little wobbly.

PLEASE NOTE – When you arrive you have to either give a deposit of €150 or a copy of your passport. This is for cleaning. If you don’t clean you van and area on departure you will be charged €150. If you clean you van then this is returned. On the morning of departure they do check you van before you leave so please allow an extra 30 mins for this process. We left something in the fridge and had to return to empty it before they would return our deposit. You are also expected to but your rubbish in the waste centre.


This site is 15 miles to Euro Disney the most direct route is to pay €2.10 and go 1 junction on the toll road. We over heard several families refusing to pay the toll and take the back roads and they got lost most days 

We would use this site again as a base for Disney. I would recommend this site for families with young children as I think older children would be very board unless you are going to Disney

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank funkeyminiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We wanted to take our 6 year old grand-daughter to Disney for a couple of days, but needed somewhere to stay for a week in the area. This site is ideal. It has the proximity to the Disney Parks (about 15 minutes drive), it's not too far from Calais and there is a train station right next door with a regular service into Paris. For the days we spent at the site, there was an adequate kids club with a mini disco at night, a restaurant and snack bar if you wanted them, although the menu was a bit sparse and the service very slow ( but we weren't rushing anywhere anyway), and the pool and play area for younger kids was great. I suspect there wasn't much for older children though. For what we wanted it was great, not too expensive and the caravan was clean and just as described. We didn't do much outside the camp and compared to other parts of France we've been it did seem very quiet, but there were a couple of largish supermarkets not far away and the village of Crecy de Chapelle had some lovely looking restaurants. I'm told Coulommiers is very nice too, but we didn't go. On the whole, very good value for money if you want the Disney area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and have had many holidays in France. I booked this site with my husband and 14 year old daughter for a short drive on from Calais and for the proximity of the excellent train service into Paris. The other reviews speak volumes. I spoke with very few people who had ever spent time in France before and who were there purley for Disney and maybe a trip into Paris. Therefore, many of the clientele were families who seem keen to throw money into the Disney empire. Personally, I would rather poke my eyes out. The staff are young, mainly Dutch kids, who are working for rotten money on very long hours. They are constantly spoken to like they are worthless and respond accordingly. I showed a little empathy and they were so appreciative of a few words of kindness. The food in the campsite cafe is probably just an extension of the rubbish offered at Disney. We bought fabulous food at markets and shops, using the adequate cooking facilities, as did most of the none English clientele. French food is amazing - go try it. There is an adequate auberge next to the restaurant, where we ate twice. The fact that the restaurant was quiet in August was heartbreaking, but as they were not selling burgers and chicken nuggets, they will not pull too much custom. I have not read any reviews where people mentioned visiting anywhere in the area. We were spoilt for choice - the Sunday morning market in Coulommiers is amazing. Gorgeous produce and the local cheese is a divine Brie. We followed that with a trip to Provins where there was a fete celebrating old customs with amazing music. I did some reseach beforehand, took the 07:45 train into Paris and took the 10am Blue Bike Tour around Paris. My 14 year old declared it the best experience ever. Our guide was a Parisian who knew his beloved City like the back of his hand, showed us a secret entrance to the Louvre with no queueing and an amazing area to eat. We drove out to the Burgundy region for a lovely lunch one day and we went on the Velo Train from the Tourist Office at La Ferte-Gaucer - cycling on a contraption fixed to a disused railway. Great family fun. We never got to visit a chateau or loads of other things as we were only there for 4 days. As a base, we could not fault La Chene Gris. Our accomodation was fine, but it is quite clear from the booking condtions that you have to clean on leaving. Not everyone has the same standards and if that is going to spoil your holiday, then really you should book elsewhere. Our gamble paid off. Two bathrooms, air condtioning, a lovely verandah. Beats camping anyday, but it really just is posh camping. If camping is not your thing, then maybe you should bite the bullet and pay more to stay at Disney. Oh and how many people have mentioned this is in a lovely walking area? I was annoyed by the number of selfish, spolit, whinging, sugar fuelled small people, but I screened it out. The lack of access to decent food and the excess of annoying kids needing constant attention would stop me visiting again, but for a camping location, it is really hard to beat.

Room Tip: Don't be rude to the staff and you might get treated better. A smile goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pudlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very apprehensive about staying at this site, following some poor reports. However, I am glad to be reporting positive feedback! We stayed for 5 nights in an OTTAWA Tent - 366. We were lucky for it to have been sited in its own little "COMMUNE" of similar tents, with adequate space for all the children to run around outside with no risk of being knocked over by a car. I say we were lucky as there were other similar tents sited along the main road through the site.
It was clean and comfortable.

The pool was nice and quiet, although it could have been warmer.

My only gripe is that we ate once in the restaurant for dinner and the food took over an hour to arrive, the kids were not bothered as they were entertained by the kids club and in compensation we were given a free carafe of wine.

All in all a good experience and I would no doubt return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
9.6 mi away
Explorers Hotel
Explorers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,097 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-Fran...
#1 of 3 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Camping le Parc de Paris
Camping le Parc de Paris
#1 of 1 in Villevaude
90 reviews
8.3 mi away
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
#1 of 2 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
4,926 reviews
12.0 mi away
Camping Le Village Parisien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Address: 24 Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pommeuse
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing