We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, but not quite up to Marriott cleanliness standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice, but not quite up to Marriott cleanliness standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I exchanged our Marriott timeshare in Florida and stayed at Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France for a week in September of 2012. Travelling with no kids, our intent was to spend as many waking hours in Paris as possible over the 7 days we were there.

Starting with the positives:
- The staff was first-class! Everyone we encountered throughout the week was extremely helpful, professional, and pleasant. I was very much impressed. Having caught the red-eye over from Washington DC, we arrived VERY early on check-in day (8AM), but the staff had no problem getting us a room.
- The ambiance of the resort was also very nice. The pond and the surrounding villas really did give it a "village" feel.
- Shuttle transportation to the Marne La Vallee/Chessy train station (also the front gate of Disneyland) was available, but spotty. We frequently waited well past pick up time and sometimes just gave up and took the city bus back to the Marriott. My recommendation....if you buy the Paris Visite transportation pass (we had the 5-day, 5-zone pass for 53 Euro per person), the bus from the front gate (about a 1/4 mile walk) will drop you at the station, as well, and you can avoid paying the 3 euro per person shuttle charge. The Paris Visite pass give you unlimited Train (into the city), Metro, and Bus privileges and is definitely the way to go.
- If you are going to be visiting Paris, the Marriott is about a 40-minute direct train ride each way. Very comfortable and easy to navigate. We visited 6 days straight and never had a problem.
The Negatives? Really only one. The cleanliness of the villa we stayed in was far below my expectations for a Marriott....especially a Marriott resort! The shower was caked with mould for starters. The grout on the tile floor was black and had not been cleaned in months. Generally, the place needed a good thorough scrubbing (and I am not a neat freak by any means!). Everything else was fine.
Would I stay there again? Yes. There were too many positives to outweigh the cleanliness issues addressed above. Feel free to ask any questions that you might have. I'll be happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    339
    81
    40
    27
See reviews for
819
193
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back from our stat at the Marriott Village and I just wanted to write to say what a wonderful time we had. Thanks to Eloide at reservations who made sure that our stay was perfect. The villas are large with two bedrooms and a large living area but since we were traveling with our two boys, the best part for them was opening the doors of the living area onto the terrace which was in front of a lake and the ducks walked up to be fed every morning. The place if lovely to stroll around in and we even managed a swim in the outdoor pool. The villas are tidied every day and it's nice to come back to the feeling that you're coming back to a house and not to a hotel room. The people at reception and the activities desk are very helpful and answered all our queries patiently. The place is close to EuroDisney and to the Val d'Europe but having a car helps as the village is quiet a distance from central Paris. There is a small village close by where we could buy stuff at the local Carrefour and the small bakery though the market place on site had very good baguettes. We took the train into Paris which is about 45 minutes but it was more convenient. It really is a great place to stay in and unwind. We also had a great meal at Au Petit Bailly which is situated in the village. All in all excellent standards throughout.

Room Tip: We had a villa situated by a little lake which was great waking up to and the children loved the duc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Upon arriving at the village you are met by a security gate manned 24 hours a day which gives a feeling of added security to the village. After signing in at the reception you are directed to your personal villa which in every aspect is above expectations. The standard of cleanliness is beyond belief (the cutlery, oven, microwave oven, washing machine, drier, kettle etc. all look like they are brand new. Every item of equipment that could be needed during the stay has been thought about and is provided. The whole feel about the village is one of relaxation and tranquillity - I really cannot rate this village highly enough and it is certainly one which I would choose to stay at again.

Room Tip: I was located in a villa that overlooked one of the ponds and the golf course - the setting was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kngdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a place with lots of character. The gardens immitate Monet's paintings, the pool has swans in it at Christmas time, swans that come to your door to be fed! It is truly a magical place and my fav Marriott one. It's proximity to Paris and routes to Fontainbleau and Vaux le Vicomte makes it our first choice. You do need a car mind if you want to see them. It is also close to Disneyland and the train station, just a navette or bus away.
The apartments are very comfortable and they have a kids' club. My son used to love to go there.
There are lots of ducks on the pond water. The pools are great but the personnel is even better

Room Tip: The restaurant/bar is small, so book to eat at Ludwig Castle restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IulianaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Marriott. We are owners of property in Maui and traded for a week here. This stay was much better than our last but I think that was due to the amends Marriott's VOA (Vacation Ownership Advisors) program had to make to us because they really messed up our plans for this trip (too long a story to get into). We dealt specifically with one person and a few supervisors to get our plans arranged and Marriott knew we were not happy. So this was an apology to us of sorts.

Our past visit a few years ago was fine except for the fact that our air conditioner went out in our villa for two days and maintenance could not seem to fix it. We had poor communication with the staff and asked to be moved but to no avail. This time our villa was air conditioned well and we were in a quiet area of "Giverny" looking out over the stream and golf course. We did request this area because this is the area we had stayed in previously. We have grown daughters so we did not need to be by the pool nor did we want to be near a lot of noise. From what we could tell there was noone staying in our adjoining villas because we did not see or hear anyone. We also did request a villa on the end for less noise.

We had a two bedroom villa with 2 1/2 bathrooms, a kitchen and living/dining area. Our villa was well furnished as before but needed a bit of updating because the sofa seemed to be the same one as our last stay (same fabric) and it seemed lumpy in places and worn. This is probably due to the sofabed in it. The beds were very comfortable and the master bath was very spacious. The caulking on the master tub could be refreshed, however. Overall, the villa was nice. We knew what to expect since we had stayed there before. I do think refreshing the furniture would be a good idea. The washer and dryer are always a plus. The patio outside with table and chairs is a very nice spot to read or enjoy a glass of wine. The kitchen is very well stocked and we appreciate the "American" coffee maker.

We enjoy the Parisian countryside atmosphere of the resort and the gardens. We also like its vicinity to Paris. The Auchan grocery is wonderful (near the resort property). We went there many times to buy wine, bread, croissants, jams and other groceries. The mall is also nice to walk around. The outlet area is nice too but was not too thrilling to us since we have many of these in the U.S. The resort mini grocery was also convenient if you need to pick up a quick item. The grounds are very beautiful to stroll around and we liked the Monet touch with the bridge and statue in our area. There was even a stray cat lying by the bridge!

We did not use the pool but walked around it and noticed the big chess game nearby-fun for the kids. The pool is very large and nice. The gardens are very beautiful with the blooming flowers but the kids' playground equipment seemed a little out of place in the middle of the gardens. The ponds and stream with the swans and ducks were very pretty. We also did not go to Disney as we were visiting Paris and Belgium so we drove in and out of the city.

The staff was very helpful with questions we had and the Concierge helped my husband with car rental return questions and arrangements. The front desk accommodated my request for an electrical converter.

For our needs, this Marriott property is nice and spacious. We like the condo/house type feel of it. We are mostly out sightseeing during the day so we are not in our villa very much. However, perhaps because of its close proximity to Disneyland, it is very kid friendly. There were many children roaming around and swimming. Most of the time we saw families with small children. So if you want privacy or a quiet resort, you might want to rethink this property or request a quiet area as we did.

Our suggestions about staying here would be to check up on your plans before you go whether by email or phone and make sure your arrangements are understood before you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet area-villas on the end and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom-of-aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned from our stay, this was our fourth visit over a five year period and by far the worst. As a previous post had said , the resort was over run with unruly children, out late on bikes, unsupervised and even cycling through reception unchallenged.Several times they nearly ran us over on their bikes.The staff turned a blind eye as their parents stay at the resort for up to three months, so money talks!!. We also had problems with air conditioning in villa, we reported it was broken and were made several promises of it being fixed. A day later a/c still had not been fixed, my DH said he wuld not be paying for a night which we could not sleep and a day ruined of our holiday. As it turns out the a/c was not fixable so we got a night refunded and changed villas.We also spoke to the manager about the playground being dirty and rubbish lying all over the resort. Two days later rubbish was still there. Very poor maintenance and management.We were told the top maintenance guy has been drafted in from Marbella to sort issues out.( Marbella is a fabulous resort). This resort is not up to Marriott standard and needs serious work to improve. The pool termperatures were not right either. The indoor pool was like a jacuzzi, far too hot and outdoor pool is not heated and was freezing.
As we had such nice visits previously this trip was disapointing. I will be writing to Marriott ref all the issues we had.The one positive was the reception staff, they were friendly and done their best,as problems stem from management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lufcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The resort is beautiful and very convenient to Paris the only downside we were burgled.
There was no apparent signs of forced entry and all windows were shut.We had our keys at all times. The doors are monitored if left open and checked by security so who ever took our stuff had way of getting in.
Hotel staff we dealt with were very helpful but at no time have got back in contact.
We were told that a refurb is to take place in the autumn I hope security is top of their priorities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailly-Romainvilliers
1.9 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,841 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disney's Newport Bay Club
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel l'Elysee Val d'Europe
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.5 mi away
Disney's Sequoia Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France

Property: Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Address: Allee de l'Orme Rond, 77700 Bailly-Romainvilliers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Bailly-Romainvilliers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bailly-Romainvilliers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of our guest favourites in Bailly-Romainvilliers The Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France resort is situated in Bailly-Romainvilliers, in the countryside just beyond Disneyland Paris. It offers fully equipped villas for up to 8 guests with free internet access. The Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France resort offers 2 to 3-bedroom villas, each with living room, dining area, full kitchen and private terrace with scenic views. They also have satellite TV and a DVD player. Each villa is equipped with a bathroom and guests can take advantage of complimentary towels and bed linen. Guests are also invited to enjoy the indoor pool and seasonal outdoor swimming pool as well as the fitness centre. Guests can enjoy a meal at the on-site restaurant. Marriott's Village d'Ile-de-France overlooks Golf Disneyland, a 27-hole golf course near the theme park. Val d'Europe Shopping Centre and RER Station is just 5 km away. In Bailly-Romainvilliers you will find a cinema and a small restaurant. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Bailly-Romainvilliers! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Bailly-Romainvilliers! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! Hotel Chain : Marriott Vacation Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Village d`Ile-De-France Hotel Bailly-Romainvilliers
Marriott Ile-De-France
île-De-France Marriott
Marriott's Village D'lle-De-France Ile-De-France/Bailly-Romainvilliers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing