We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison d'hotes du Clos de la Rose
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I don't want to write this review as I don't want anybody else to go the Clos de la Rose. I want it to remain my secret because it is simply incredible.

Veronique and Brendan have a beautiful country house that is furnished and decorated tastefully and with a personal touch. We spent two nights here. The room was bright, airy, relaxed, cosy and I can't remember the last time I've slept so well. Each night we ate Veronique's delicious four course dinners with local champagne and each morning she put on a superb candlelit breakfast. She even made us packed lunches to take with us on our day out. The surrounding area is quiet and we had a great day cycling around the area (beware of some steep hills!) and taking in the countryside.

Veronique and Brendan have struck the perfect balance between welcoming you into their home and letting you have free reign over the place. I didn't feel at any time that we were intruding into their family space.

A wonderful two nights that I won't forget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vallauris
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a real guest house. Not a house providing a bedroom and no more....
location is ok, house is really nice, food is DELICIOUS
we feel confortable there and we spent two nights
I strongly recommend Le Clos de la rose

Room Tip: Both are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Clos de la Rose is a beautiful B+B which is in an area that is full of beauty and enchantment. The proprietors are wonderful people who made my wife and I feel perfectly at home, but were extremely respectful of our privacy. Brendan and Veronique were very helpful and their suggestions for restaurants and sites, as well as champagne houses, were right on the money. Veronique is a very talented cook and we enjoyed two great dinners at the B+B. The house and the rooms are very well maintained and reflect exactly what we expected for a home that was built over 150 years ago. I can't imagine why anyone would complain about the accommodations since we found them to be exceptional in quality. We travel extensively and our experience at Clos de la Rose was one of the best we have had anywhere in the world. We are already making plans to visit this incredible place next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest room in the main house and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we booked the cottage for 3ppl and a baby.
everything looks great from the outside, beautiful garden. the room looks great, the bad for our baby was ready.
but then the small things started to come up...the TV that did,t work, the shower tube keep on falling from the hook, the toilet flush was broken, the spider net...but those are just the small things (you don't complain about), but they make you wonder why do you pay this amount of money if they don't care to maintain the place.
but then we smell something bad, it was the moist, covering the wall (behind the sofa). when we complain about it, they put something to absorb the smell, and offer us another room (paying extra 50 euros).
we didn't want to pay so we stayed in the room.
the sofa that the 3rd person was sleeping on , had a tiny mattress, and the had was exactly on the spot of the humidity. this person didn't sleep much that night.
when we complain about it, the answer of the owner was, that it is an old house, with humidity because of the plants, and that we are the first to complain about it. again she offered us to change the room for extra money.
I think that a min amount of dignity should have been there, even if most of the people don't smell the mildew, it is still there, and very unhealthy. and some people are very sensitive to humidity. there for the price should be change according to the real condition of the place, or a note should be made that the place have a humid wall.
in our case I think they should have been generous to give us another room for free, or to find any other way to make up for it. but they did it the other way around.
they did give us another bad, but they were not happy about that.

beside that I can say that the food was very good, but did not justified the price.
and for a "chambre d'hote" I wish to feel more like a welcome guest (even if we complain) then as a bother.
it is a pity, cause the place is beautiful..we will not come back to this place...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koshkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Veronique looked after us for 3 nights, we had just arrived into France after an extremely busy day which commenced in London, & she to care of all requests that we had which made it easy for us to relax & settle in. Our room was clean, comfortable, & the bed & shower was fantastic. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Le Clos de la Rose was a perfect respite from Paris for my wife and me on our final night in France. It is located on the edge of the Champaign region and about an hour’s drive from Paris. Trains are available to make the commute easier, and it is just 40 minutes from Charles de Gaulle. We arrived in the middle of the day to this beautiful home surrounded by flowers and history. The house is beautifully decorated and perfect for a couple. Veronique greeted us warmly and showed us around her home. It was French Country style with charm and well thought out décor.
The room was easy to settle into and the shower was amazing. We had bread and cheese for dinner, but there are many restaurants within a 10 minute drive and dinner is available from the hosts. The room, though, was so comfortable that it made us want to sink into relaxation. The views from the many windows are of fields and countryside and seemingly far removed from Paris. But, as I had business in the city, I was able to get in quickly – even on a Friday.
The breakfast was amazing and had meats, cheese and breads as well as house-made jams. Veronique made this wonderful Strawberry-Banana jam that melted in your mouth. The caramelized banana flavor shinned through and made a huge impression on me – so much so that I asked for a pot to take home. The strong coffee and fresh squeezed juice were a perfect start to the morning and Veronique continued to be a great host.
Alex and I wandered around the garden before we left and were impressed with the well maintained space with a grilling area and beautiful roses all around. And, we were off to Soissons and Reims with just a short car journey ahead. It was truly a memorable stay and a bit too short – it would have been nice to stay for just one more night but we had to get home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We spent the last night of our vacation at this lovely country house where we were treated as special guests by hosts Veronique and Brendan. Upon our arrival we were served tea and learned a little about the history of the house and the family that lives there. We took a short walk through the woods and the nearby hamlet. Dinner in the library was special; we could tell Veronique loves to please her guests. We chose the warm meal started with her own unique recipe for a tomato apple soup - excellent. The main course was a hefty portion of her special chicken, bacon, mushroom pie and a salad - so good we had to eat every bit. Next we compared two local brie cheeses - delicious and ended with a delicious chocolate mousse. We were so glad we chose to have dinner there. After dinner Brendan and Veronique gave us excellent directions via local roads to our destination , Charles de Gaulle airport - normally 1 hour away but 1 1/2 hours in rush hour. We couldn't have made a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cyr sur Morin
0.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source
Auberge de la Source
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
160 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chateau de Sancy
Chateau de Sancy
#1 of 1 in Sancy-les-Meaux
17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau des Bondons
Chateau des Bondons
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-sous-Jouarre
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Essomes-sur-Marne
Hotel Ibis Essomes-sur-Marne
#1 of 1 in Essomes Sur Marne
170 reviews
19.5 mi away
Manoir de Beaumarchais
Manoir de Beaumarchais
#1 of 1 in Les Chapelles-Bourbon
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gueule Aux Loups
La Gueule Aux Loups
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'hotes du Clos de la Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'hotes du Clos de la Rose

Property: Maison d'hotes du Clos de la Rose
Address: 11 Rue de la Source, 77750 Saint-Cyr sur Morin, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Saint-Cyr sur Morin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cyr sur Morin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le 'Clos de la Rose' is a romantic 18th Century property hidden in a garden with roses, birds and some very old trees. The cottage (with all modern comfort) is located in a delightful hamlet in the Seine et Marne region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison d'hotes du Clos de la Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing