We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shared eco houses not worth the trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ban Khiet Ngong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Ecolodge
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shared eco houses not worth the trip”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I spent two nights in one of the eco-houses, with two rooms per building and shared bath. The setting itself is beautiful and tranquil, and it was fun to see the elephants grazing in the meadow beyond the lodge. The views from the shared houses are somewhat obscured by random vegetation and the grounds are weeding and poorly kept relative to the higher priced bungalows. The first night I was there a large group of men stayed in the rooms across the path from me. They were very noisy, and I could smell their cigarette smoke and hear their radio playing into the night. They left lights on in the shared baths and there were insects everywhere. The next night they left and the place was much more tranquil. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms. I believe that my experience would have been better had I splurged on a bungalow.

Room Tip: Splurge on a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
I would like, as usual, to thank the guest for the review.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience at our lodge has been spolied by bad behaviour of other guests, unfortunately we cannot monitor what's happening in each room therefore everything is left to the level of respect between each other and we can't do much more.

I completely agree with you that staying in one of the comfort bungalows would give a much better experience than staying in the eco rooms (especially when there is unpolite people staying next to you) but I also understand that not everybody has the necessary budget for the more expensive rooms thus having to find a compromise.

Regarding you comment ".. views from the shared houses are somewhat obscured by random vegetation and the grounds are weeding and poorly kept relative to the higher priced bungalows", as you may have noticed we do gardening only in the area close to the reception/restaurant and a little near the bungalows by choice. There is a very thin layer of soil above the rocks in this area (if not flooded during the rainy season) thus being very difficult to grow anything if not natural existing vegetation (weeds as you call) or by adding a thick layer of soil.
Furthermore the watering of such a huge area around all the rooms would use (better, waste) thousands of liters of water every day, for such reason and since we decided to have an "eco"
approach in our lodge we have left everything as it was if not for some cleaning now and then, you should see how would be overgrown the area if we wouldn't do that, especially during the rainy season.

With regards.

Massimo Mera
Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
61
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just came back from an holiday trip to Laos and Kingfisher Echolodge has been a wonderful two days experience. The lodge is very charming, immersed into nature, peacefull and away from touristic circuits. Don't miss one day elephant trip in the jungle! It is great, the boy who guide is smart and shows a lot of curiousities about plants and nature. We found a warm welcome from the management of the lodge, Massimo and his wife are really worth to meet and the restaurant is a top quality! I deeply recommend a stop by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, it is always a pleasure for us to have nice people like you at our lodge and we always appreciate our guests appreciation!

We hope to be able to welcome you once more in ban Khiet Ngong.

Massimo Mera
Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Provides a different perspective on Laos as its away from the tourist trails on the Mekong.was initially skeptical of the location, but if you want a glimpse into the rural heart of Laos, KF Lodge is a good place. The activities are all run by residents living in the nearby villages, and most of your money goes to them, the elephants and the nature reserve.

We did two days of elephant related activities, but frankly, I think one day (considering it was only a 3 night stay) would have been enough. riding elephants isn't the easiest thing!

Room was clean, well designed, generally comfortable. My mattress was a little worn (could feel the springs) but I'll admit I'm a bit fussy.

Food was really excellent. The fish dishes were the best.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izabellachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a truly lovely spot. It has a real rustic charm to it. Due to our late booking we had one night in the comfy bungalows and one night in the eco room (eco for economic). The comfy bungalows are well worth the extra money. You wake and with a little luck you will see the village elephants eating out in the wetlands. They also work with the villagers and outsource transport arrangements to them thereby giving them work. Well worth doing an elephant ride (owned by villagers) but ensure you book early for the full day elephant safari as english guides are limited. Only downside to be aware of is that the eco rooms have paper thin walls! The restaurant is also well set-up and the food good. Loved it!

Room Tip: Comfy bungalows are worth the extra money as you get your own bungalow including bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

If tranquillity, excellent food, wonderful scenery, friendly atmosphere and low impact on the environment are important to you then Kingfisher Lodge has it all.
Kingfisher Lodge pays careful consideration to the environment without compromising on comfort.
Staff are employed from the local community and a contribution of your accommodation fee goes to the local community including Khiet Ngong School which Massimo and his wife have supported for several years.
We went on the early morning bird watching activity, the guide spoke good, clear English and had a knowledge and enthusiasm for the local wildlife and was keen to answer any questions.

For my husband and I this is our third trip to Kingfisher Lodge and again delighted with our stay.
My son also stayed at Kingfisher Lodge this time and fell in love with the place straight away!
Knowing we are staying at a genuine Ecolodge helps us enjoy principles close to our hearts, low impact tourism. Each time we visit Kingfisher Lodge we feel home from home and are truely sad when the time comes to leave.
We wish Massimo Mera and Bang On all the best success for the future!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Lee and Dawn,

On behalf of all staff and management I thank you very much for your nice review of our lodge, we have been honored to welcome you for the third time here at Kingfisher Ecolodge and we hope to see you again.

Warmest regards from Laos.

Massimo Mera
Managinf Director and owner of Kingfisher Ecolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed there with my wife for 4 days and we just didnt want to leave. In the middle of nowhere with the elephants trompetting during the night. Romantic, adventurous, quiet, good food, and good hiking in the jungle. If you are around, you must stop by.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayyyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a lovely Bungalow with a nice view of grazing elephants. Although the elephant training is a bit pricy (but it mainly benefits the villagers), we really enjoyed it an highly recommend it. The Italian manager ensures that excellent Italian food is served.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mahout333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingfisher Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Ecolodge

Property: Kingfisher Ecolodge
Address: Ban Kiet Ngong, Ban Khiet Ngong 16000, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Ban Khiet Ngong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ban Khiet Ngong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingfisher Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge located in Xe Pian National park, southern Laos, not far from Wat Phu temple. Restaurant service and eco activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Ecolodge Laos/Ban Khiet Ngong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing