We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience of Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Lataniers Bleus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were welcomed into Josettes beautiful home and stayed for 3 nights. Very laid back atmosphere with nothing too much trouble. Recommend staying for dinner - excellent food and wine (veggie option on request) and very social evening, although helps if you can speak a little French. Recommend visiting Black River Gorges National Park - good walks - and also a trip along south coast which was stunning - not much else to do though other than boat trips and chilling out. One night we ate at Cosa Nostra in Tamarin - excellent pizza and homemade tiramisu! Recommend for thoroughly laid back time in lovely Mauritian home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fysh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Les Lataniers Bleus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

This accomodation offers very good service, a very friendly and helpful staff, great food and cozy rooms to stay. The location is beautiful - if you prefer, you can enjoy your meals directly on the beach or on your own porch - everything ist possible.
I would recommend Les Lataniers Bleus to everyone who prefers a small and familial place to a crowded, noisy and touristy hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassolldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We spent our holidays in September 2010 at Lataniers Bleus which is situated at the beautiful West Coast of Mauritius. The rooms are well equiped and from the large open terrace we had a wonderful view to the beach and sea. The terrace is also the place where breakfast and drinks are taken and where the excellent dinner is served upon request. For gardeners - you should not miss to have a special look to the extended beautiful styled garden which shows many plants originated on the island. A warm thank you to Josette and all of her exceptionally friendly staff who made our two weeks' stay a perfect one in each way. All our questions and demands were immediately handled by Josette. Her philosophy is "there is only yes or no" and we can say that our questions were always answered with a "yes" so that our stay had become a great one in each view and we are really looking forward to have another stay followed at Les Lataniers Bleus.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schabau195663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had an amazing stay and thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Mauritius.

It was our first time to Mauritius and we definitely hope to return. It is a magical island that has so much to offer. In the 10 days we were there we managed to do so much from just relaxing on the beach in the sun to game fishing in the Indian Ocean. We also went and explored Casela nature and leisure park where we had the chance to quad bike through the nature reserve and see all types of wildlife.

Les Letaniers Blues is situated on the west side of the island in a great location called Rivere Noire. There are some amazing places to explore only a few minutes away by car, like the rum distillery in Chamarel or taking a Catamaran trip from Le Morne. The Casela nature park is also only a few minutes away by car. If you prefer just to relax however the hotel offers a tranquil garden and beach that you can soak up the sun on in total paradise.

There are some good places to eat close by but we also took the opportunity to eat with Josette, the owner and other guests over a true Mauritian meal. It was great to meet other people and get a feel for the real Mauritian culture. The service was outstanding and we felt very taken care of throughout our stay.

We would definitely return in a heartbeat and choose Les Lataniers Bleus to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravBud488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have just returned from a 10-night stay in Les Lataniers Bleus. One of the reasons I choose this B&B is because of the positive Tripadviser reviews (which I typically read, but have never contributed to :-). So I had high expectations going in, and must say that these expectations were exceeded while there, hence this review. Some of the great things included being right on a beautiful beach (we have 2 boys, ages 5 and 7, who would go exploring every morning), the great dinners prepared by the affable Nan (who cut his teeth on the cruise ship circuit), as well as friendly and knowledgeable service provided by the vivacious owner Josette and her staff. She would go out of her way to ensure we had an active schedule of fishing, tours and adventures. Another great aspect of our choice was its location on the west coast. Having driven to the north a couple of times, we really liked the quieter, less developed Riviere Noire area. The Casela Adventure Park is a 10-minute drive away, and kept our kids occupied for 2 days on zip lines, playgrounds and fishing (unfortunately they were too young for the quad biking). Bottom line, I felt like I was a guest in someone's home on this trip, which added to our experience. For those looking to add another dimension to their trip, and can do without the 5-star hotel infrastructure, I highly recommend Les Lataniers Bleus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTASingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Josette, Keshavan and the team are warm, gracious and helpful hosts. The expereince is a world away from an all inclusive hotel package. And this is exactly what we were looking for!

Staying in a small complex provides you with the chance to get to know the team and is a wonderful opportunity to learn more about local mauritian life. You truly feel like a guest rather than a client/customer. This is the place for quiet walks, sun-baking and reading. Not surrounded by late night venues and lots of tourists. Again, exactly what we were looking for!

The location is very secluded - private beach and calm water. The west coast is great for swimming, snorkelling and sun baking. We also stayed in a guesthouse on the east coast, which was equally as lovely but without the benefit of a sensational location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed at Les Lataniers Bleus for two nights with some colleagues for business. The bungalows were spacious and comfortable, and were just within a short walking distance of about 1-2 min to the lovely beach. The public beach is another 5 min walk away. Breakfast and dinners were served at the restaurant facing the sea. You get a lovely view of the blue ocean while dining, which is a delightful experience. The dinners were also fantastic. The cook serves up delicious starters, Mauritian cuisine and deserts.

The lady boss, Mrs Josette, is a very sincere and friendly lady, she makes guests feel totally at home, comfortably.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere Noire
0.3 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
414 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Lataniers Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lataniers Bleus

Address: Royal Road, La Mivoie, Grande Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Grande Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grande Riviere Noire
Price Range: $126 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Lataniers Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Lataniers Bleus is a small complex of 3 private villas situated within a lush tropical garden on a beautiful sandy beach at La Preneuse on the west coast of Mauritius, 3 km from the village of Black River, Shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Lataniers Bleus Mauritius/Grande Riviere Noire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing