We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in Mauritius” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Lataniers Bleus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Lataniers Bleus
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a most delightful small hotel on the SW part of Mauritius and most expertly run in a friendly hands-on way by Josette, the owner. Pleasant rooms with air conditioning and good bathrooms and showers. My wife and I had a few days there in Oct 2011 (and wished we had stayed longer) before we flew on to Rodrigues. Mainly occupied by very friendly French families. A very pretty and uncrowded beach, breakfast under a tree beside the beach, a trust basis bar where you help yourself and record your purchase, and a dinner-party style supper with all 16 guests at one table. And fantastic value for money being a lot less that half the price of many large crowded hotels. Go for relaxation, and use as a base to explore this interesting part of Mauritius including the Black River Gorges National Park (super hiking) and Isle aux Aigrettes the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation eco-tourist island. We will return!

Room Tip: We had a room which was part of the main building with good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    44
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
56
209
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you want to experience what a Guest House has to (and should) offer, then look no further than Les Lataniers Bleus. The setting and accommodation is perfect, the small number of staff are helpful and personable, the service is individualised, the cooking wholesome, fresh and tasty and the true feeling of the 'Island Life' just spot on. Beautifully located close to Le Morne, Tamarin Bay and Flic-En-Flac, with the highlight being swimming with the Dolphins just off the coast near the Guest House, Les Lataniers Bleu is a must stay if travelling to Mauritius!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdeweydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

It's a good place to stay, recommended by the Lonely Planet guide and therefore definitely not cheap but some rooms are on the small side or not perfectly clean and for the price paid you would expect some more. It's a friendly atmosphere, Mme Josette is a businesswoman who opened this B&B as one of the first on the island, she is very welcoming and help people socialize with her dinners but as many strong women are, she can be a bit pushy at times (like a mom). Breakfast on the beach/garden is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you’re an independent traveller and want to discover the real Mauritius, away from the all-inclusive international resorts where, frankly, you could be anywhere, Les Lataniers Bleus is the place for you. The ambiance is very much that of the French Chambres d’hotes . The guests assemble before dinner for a rum cocktail, entertained by the delightful, informative and helpful manager, Josette, and dinner itself is a communal affair with everyone sitting around a big table on the terrace, overlooking the gardens and the sea. The food is excellent, local cuisine and very good value and we enjoyed the ambiance, chatting about the day’s adventures with our fellow diners, most of whom were French. Breakfast is taken by the beach overlooking the sea and the coral reef – I can’t think of a better way to start the day. Our room in the main house was large and comfortable, and a kitchen where we could make a cup of tea with a fridge well stocked with cold drinks helped to make us feel at home. Les Lataniers Bleus is a great base for exploring the lovely Black River district including the Tamarin Falls, the coloured earth of Chamarel, the lovely beaches of the south-west coast, one of the best Martello Towers we have ever visited just a short walk down the beach, and of course – if you like hiking - the Black River Gorges National Park. We would have loved to stay longer and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Les Lataniers Bleus. The house is very beautiful, situated right on the lagoon and a lovely breakfast is served every morning out in the garden overlooking the water. This was also a perfect spot to watch the sunset in the evenings. Our room was very nice, clean and beautifully decorated, with ensuite and separate entry. The hospitality was so warm from all the staff, especially Madame and the communal dinner served during the week is a must. The whole place felt like having the comforts of home in a magical location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very friendly welcome and excellent stay. Had a lovely room facing the beach and large bathroom. Enjoyed two evening meals - good food and very interesting company. Josette was an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

When we walked through the lush garden and met our new friends for the next couple of days, we felt that this was paradise on paradise island. We came accross Les Lataniers Blues by coincidence, and counted our blessings we did. Keywords of the place: flowers, sunsets, awesome beach chairs, warmt, hospitality, wonderful dinners, great home made digestives, excellent service and sweet memories. If Mauritius is on your bucket list, be sure to spend some time at Les Lataniers Blues and swim with the dolfins while you’re at it.

Room Tip: Poolroom is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamgraffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere Noire
0.3 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 3 in Riviere Noire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
8.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarina Golf & Spa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Lataniers Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lataniers Bleus

Property: Les Lataniers Bleus
Address: Royal Road, La Mivoie, Grande Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Grande Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grande Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Lataniers Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Lataniers Bleus is a small complex of 3 private villas situated within a lush tropical garden on a beautiful sandy beach at La Preneuse on the west coast of Mauritius, 3 km from the village of Black River, Shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Lataniers Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Lataniers Bleus Mauritius/Grande Riviere Noire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing