We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always wanted to do this! We kept our distance, others did not”
Review of Dolswim

Dolswim
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always wanted to do this! We kept our distance, others did not”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There were so many of them and so beautiful and graceful. They were jumping and appeared playful. Our company explained we would only be entering the water if this was the case and we were happy with this. Our guide made sure we were happy in the water, took people out in small numbers and did his very best to get us as close as possible. I was very jealous of his job. It was a very memorable experience topped off with some snorkelling.
The only issue with this experience was the determination I witnessed of a few people from other boats/ companies (?) to seemingly chase the dolphins, but this was not connected to Dolswim.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    50
    20
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a wonderful half day drip with Dolswim, I took the package that included the trip to the Ile Aux Benitiers for lunch and it was definitly worth the money.

The guides are friendly and helpful and swimming with the dolphins was amazing. Unforgettable, and they respect the dolphins unlike some of the other companies. After about 2 1/2 hours with the dolphins we stop for some snorkeling before dropping some guests that did not opt for the lunch. The also pact some music gear for after lunch show.

On the way to the lunch they stop at the rock formation in the lagoon. The lunch was very good with fish, chicken and sausages with lots to drink - rhum, beer, wine, soft drink and water.

Definitely would recommend Dolswmin and the half day lunch package.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Respectful of the dolphins”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I went on the half day trip with dolphins, snorkelling, and Ile aux Benitiers BBQ. I highly recommend Dolswim, both because of the quality of the experience and because of the fact that they emphasize a respectful attitude towards the dolphins. These are wild dolphins in their natural environment! Staff are helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable; you are told about the dolphins beforehand, there is a safety talk, and they make sure that everyone is comfortable in the water. We saw a few dozen spinner dolphins, some of which jumped out of the water and spun about, and we also were lucky enough to have a few curious bottlenose dolphins come over to check us out. Each of the 4 couples on our boat got 2 chances to go in the water. I was satisfied and this is easily the best excursion of the several we did.

We paid an extra fee for Dolswim to send a car to our hotel in the north of the island to pick us up, which was less than the hotel taxis would have charged us. It was a very early morning - we were picked up at 6am. When we arrived there was a small but tidy office with changing rooms, a toilet, and a shower. Guests were split onto various boats and we headed out. Ours was one of the first boats out but as the morning went on I counted nearly 20 boats, and this is something I would like to draw attention to. As mentioned these are wild dolphins in their natural habitat, and while Dolswim made sure to follow the rules (staying to the side of them as much as possible, not chasing right behind them, not going to the middle of a pod, etc) some of the other boats did not. Towards the end of the dolphin watching part of the morning, you started to get the sense that the dolphins were feeling harassed by the number of boats in the bay. Dolswim apparently goes to different areas to avoid bothering the same dolphins day after day, but I don't know about other companies.

The BBQ lunch was quite tasty. A few notes about the Ile aux Benitiers - there are no toilets, so be prepared to go in the bushes or in the sea. There are also quite a few people trying to sell you things, but the Dolswim staff warned us of this before landing which was good. This got pretty annoying as there is a steady stream of people coming up to your table trying to offer you necklaces, sarongs, carved dodos, reggae CDs, etc. They greet you in a friendly manner before opening their bags of things to sell but if you tell them no thank you they will leave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AutumnFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose to go for the dolphin swim and whale watching trip, and overall had an amazing experience.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and did their best to make the experience memorable. The dolphin trip went very well and we managed to find a big pod of dolphins after a 15 minute speed boat ride. Each couple on the boat was given the chance to swim twice with the dolphins, and although you can't touch them you still get pretty close to them.

After a couple of hours we went back to the shore and transferred to a bigger boat for the whale watching. To be honest I wasn't expecting to see any whales as it was made clear that it's in no way guaranteed and the probability of finding them is quite low, I don't think it's even 60% as they say on the website as our guide told us it was more like 3 out of 10 trips that you get to see them in. But I thought that for a little extra cash I can at least get the chance to try and see whales in their natural habitat which isn't something you get to do everyday!
So you can imagine my delight when we managed to find about 20 sperm whales after half an hour of going deep into the ocean. We spent a long time taking photos and watching the whales. At times they would dive into the deep and disappear, but we managed to keep track of them, even saw a baby whale which was very cute.

I recommend you bring some nibbles with you so that you don't get hungry later on as you need to get there pretty early and skip breakfast at the hotel. However you don't really need to bring water as they offer complimentary water and soft drinks on the boat. You'll also need to arrange your own transportation to get to the pick up spot or you can also ask them to arrange one for you at an extra cost, which was reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank londoner_316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantasic Day!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would highly reccomend this company. We left our hotel in Balaclava at 6 the morning to get to the Black river area by 7. Ask your hotel to pack you a breakfast picnic basket. We got to this company's office and was met by very friendly staff. The office was clean and neat and even had a coffee machine for an early morning cup of coffee. We quickly had our packed breakfast and then we received a coloured ribbon to tie around our wrist. Blue ribbon meant that we had a lunch included in our package. Then we were taken down to the boats. VERY friendly staff and very professional. They all wore the same shirts, which made it nice to identify then between all the other boats and staff. The boats are neat and the staff knew exactly what they had to do. You go out for a quick briefing and then to where the dolphins are. There were loads of boats and people swimming around in the water. Our skipper was very professional in how he managed the boat and we had a guide who would tell us when to jump in the water. Only two people at a time were allowed in the water and you had to stay with the guide. Some of the other boats just let the people jump in and swim around aimlessly. Everyone that went into the water had the opportunity to see the dolphins. You cannot touch them as they are wild, but it was a great experience. Then after everyone had their turn, we went to a coral reef for snorkeling. Absolutely beautiful. Take some bread with to feed the fish as they come right up to you. This company has nice snorkeling gear and everything is kept neat and tidy in baskets.
From there we dropped the people with different colour ribbons off and our boat was packed for the lunch trip. Again, everyting neatly packed away in cooler boxes or baskets. We went to an island about 10 minutes by boat from where the offices are.
They provide you with shoes as the sand have some type of "knife" coral that could cut your feet. Also the shoes are neat and clean and also kept neatly in crates. On the island they have tables and a sitting area. They provide drinks and snacks while they prepare your lunch. There are also curios to buy. Only problem is... no toilets, but there is a big bush or a big ocean!
Lunch was really delicious and the rum was pretty good!
We really had a great day, probably the best we ever had in Mauritius. Next time we return to Mauritius, we will definately use this company again and we will probably stay at a hotel closer to the black river area. It just seems like a much nicer area to stay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolswim also viewed

Mauritius, Africa
La Gaulette, Riviere Noire District
 
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Dolswim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing