We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Castello di Sinio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in Italy”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from a wonderfull seven days at Castello di Sinio we havebeen to Italy many times and stayed in excellent hotels before but this has to be the very best.Denise the owner is a real force of nature extremely knowledgable both about the area and the wines and keen to share her knowledge with her guests.The Hotel is beautifully restored and comfortable and the food the best we have ever had Denise being the executive chef.All the staff are wonderfull and nothing is too much trouble for them.How Denise makes the time to do everything that she does that makes your holiday so special we dont know .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    15
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
311
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Proprietor Denise Pardini creates an enchanting experience in this magnificent medieval castle located in the heart of the Barolo. Ms. Pardini and her staff do not miss any opportunity to enhance your stay with unique finishing touches and personal attention. The property is centrally located in the Barolo. They have deep knowledge of the region and proved to be an excellent source for reccommendations on wine tasting or local activities. For a 5 Star dining experience you need go no further than her restaurant at the Castello. She offers world class cuisine prepared with all local ingredients with wines from the best local winemakers. This is our second visit to this property. They exceeded our expectations on both occasions. We especially appreciated the greetings by Enrique. Bravissimo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Once upon a time there was a princess who transformed a Castle into an exquisite hotel in the heart of the Piedmont wine country. The princess turned into a lovely Queen of Castello di Sinio.

At the end of 2012 summer, during my annual visit to the aeternal city of Rome, I decided to take a break from the scourging summer heat of the city and embark on a journey from Lazio to Piemonte.

From Rome's Stazione termini, I throttled through the Frecciarossa towards Torino with a final stop at Asti. The perfect Gentleman chauffer welcomed me in the train station of Asti. After another forty minutes of driving through the freeway and vineyards of the Piemonte region we finally inched our way towards the entrance gateway of Hotel Castello di Sinio.

As I embarked out of his Mercedes Benz, I was immediately distracted by the late summer colors of blue skies and pale rolling hills of the Piemonte Alba Region, while the old Medieval Church across the Castle gleamed at me in a welcoming fashion.

I was drawn by the colorful floral arrangements that circled the intimate garden that delineated the lobby entrance and a beautiful alcove that I later learned to be the al fresco buffet dining area.

I walked into the reception lobby of a Medieval Castle welcomed by the most amazing customer service staff - luggage checked-in, a bubbly glass of wine as the elegant lady of the Castle gracefully provided an Overview of the Alba region - where to go, what to do and detailed tips on how to maximize pleasure amidst this quaint paradise. She further customizes the experience by querying what each guest's goal for the duration of the stay. The first time encounter was - not only a first class luxury service, but likewise an attempt to cater to each individual, a couple or a small group's needs.

I had the option of taking the elevator or stairs to settle into my room. I opt'ed for the stairs to attain a better view of Medieval Piedmont experience - I was not disappointed - for each step I took a window to my right provided me with an ascending view of the very particular medieval town, each floor invited me to a perspective that was "beyond a photo-journalist's" diary.

The room was an amazing experience - a bed that was of a 6 star quality with linens of the Frette quality, bathroom amenities that would make the best of the best cry out of embarrassment - lotions, shampoo, soap and bagno schuma, conditioner and all of the non-thinkable amenities such as cotton makeup removers, nail filers - you name it - they had it.

Beyond the first class amenities and a flat screen TV with consistent access and hi-speed internet free, the castle grounds offer an amazing boutique swimming pool that has abundant sunshine and overlooks the medieval church and the little town below. Running water echoes to break the still and serene atmosphere. I was immediately transported back into medieval paradise.

The location finds you to be a stone's throw away from the grapevines of the "majors" of Italian wine - Barolo, Asti, SerraLunga, Barbaresco - and all those who think "they are in the know", think they are - you are there. The town is quaint and small while the rolling hills is surrounded by acres of vineyards that infinitely fill the landscape. During the morning, I indulge in hours of jogging up and down the hills for a full cardio workout while absorbing the breathtaking view of Northern Italian wine country.

During the evenings of Wednesday through Sunday you will have the option of dining at their fabulous restaurant. The dining experience at the Castle is yet another magical moment. You are welcomed by a professional restaurant manager, Davide as you walk into yet another chapter of a medieval fairy tale. The walls are made of artisan pale bricks with medieval ornaments decorating the wall that reminded me of what a fortified city-state used to be. After being settled into your table, each guest is given personal attention by the "Executive Chef" and the Queen of the Castle, Denise Pardini.

It was an amazing experience that everyone should experience. Castello di Sinio is a fairy tale that delivers the best wine country value in the world bar none with a view of the Alps, rolling wine country hills, whilst during winter time - white truffles! You have not experienced paradise until you've been at Hotel Castello di Sinio."

And then we all lived happy ever after.

The End.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aspasiaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Castello, where we were in the region as I'd planned to make a proposal to the missus. The lovely ladies who run this palce were so helpful, discreet (with all my requests!) and charming and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was charming, in an Italian rustic farmhouse way and had a wodnerful individuality about it. We enjoyed a magnificent meal at the restaurant with some fine wines, and enjoyed the company of Denise. How she has the tiem to cook, host, charm etc etc I dont know, but she and her team deserve alot of credit. Theres nothing realy to do in the village itself, but there are many options for dining etc around and Alba wasn't too far. Recommend the impressive line up of digestifs when you get back at night, a really nice touch, as is the good array of books in their 'library' To top it all off theres a wonderful buffet breakfast offered, that you can enjoy on the terrace, and the pool was great to banish the fizzy head from too much Barolo and digestifs from the nigth before. Only gripe was the coffee (not a patch on NZ coffee!), which we couldnt drink, but who cares!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LubricationWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Last time I wrote a review, I had a tiny complaint about the lighting in my room at the Castello. It turned out that rating the room a 4 star because of this lowered the entire rating to a 4 star, I guess this is what happened because I rated everything else 5 star.

It turns out Denise took my criticism to heart and now the room has completely revised lighting!! It seems that Denise does not let any criticism of the Castello, no matter how insignificant, go uncorrected.

Great place to stay and we will return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We spent three blissful nights at Hotel di Sinio in September. We expected picturesque, comfort, and location. And it delivered on all 3. The village is precious, and the hotel a bijoux. Every care has been taken to restore this castello. It feels like homey luxury. Not stuffy, but certainly pampered. The proximity to the Barolo and Barbaresco villages is perfect. But. We were truly blown away by the service. With backgrounds in sr mgt in hospitality our expectations are tough to meet. Denise, the owner/chef/concierge extraordinaire is a tour de force. Every single piece of info that could make our stay more memorable was thougt of- from private wine tours to perfect picnic spots. Her staff ate equally charming and accommodating. Oh. And don't let a night go without at least one mouth watering, multi course meal prepared by Denise and served in hushed elegance in the castello's dining hall. And the wines... Oh the wines.
Suffice to say, Molto Bene! We're fans and we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
462 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is simply wonderful, once you find it. Sinio is a very small town. Take your GPS and finding it will be much easier. The hotel is a castle that has been converted into a delightful respite from the world, complete with an exceptionally fine dining room. It's just plain a great escape, one that is surrounded by Barolo wine country and lots of small towns and restaurants where great food is easy to come by. Lunch out someplace interesting is great fun followed by dinner in the hotel without having to worry about driving back. There is is a delightful small pizza place a short walk away if you need an alternative in the evening. Denise and staff are over the top in terms of being welcoming and helpful. If I could wave a magic wand, I would go back instantly and refuse to leave until truffles, wine and food did me in. Take a good book too. It's that kind of place.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the clock on the church tower in front of the hotel. It doesn't ring at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinio
15.1 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.8 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.1 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello di Sinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello di Sinio

Property: Hotel Castello di Sinio
Address: Vicolo Castello 1, 12050 Sinio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Sinio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello di Sinio 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious restored medieval castle at the epicenter of the foremost wine and gastronomic area in the world. Elegantly decorated with exquisite antiques and rich fabrics, all rooms offer modern amenities including satellite TV, Internet, air conditioning, large bathrooms, and attentive service. Luxuriate in the pool, gardens, and sauna. Unwind in the stylish common areas where you'll find tranquil outdoor seating in summer and cozy fireplaces in cool weather. Modern comfort and old traditions united. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Castello di Sinio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing