We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a truly magnificent spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Castello di Sinio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Castello di Sinio in Piedmont to hunt truffles and eat porcini mushroms. It was the height of the seaon for both activities and the wonderful surrounding Barolo vineyards were at their Autumn best with glorious colours everywhere I turned. The Castello has been lovingly and wonderfully restored by Chef/Owner Denise Pardini, an Italian American from California. From my first contact with the hotel I was made to feel most welcome. My Junior Suite was a beautiful room with wonderful bed linen and towels and my bed amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was to die for and, for the short time I was there, the weather was glorious and so I could eat in the lovely garden. Dinner, cooked, served and managed by Denise, was superb. I even managed to fit in an excellent massage. But above all the warmth of the welcome and the generosity of my very professional hostess, in addition to the great service on the desk from the delightful Marika, are my abiding memories of this truly magnificent spot. Happily I will return again shortly for a longer stay and am delighted to recommend it to all travellers who appreciate excellent service, serious comfort and a great kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 496 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We´ve stayed at this charming hotel last October for 3 days. I higly reccomend it!! Very charming,beautiful suite with all the ammenities,very confortable. The recepction was great,the staff very friendly ,kind and helpful, they are very organized and provide you with all the informations you need in the Piedmont area( they give you an insider guide with very helpful informations and tips ). The garden,pool area, reception and bar, all well decorated .The attention to all the details are 5 stars -plus !!!The restaurant is fabulous,one of the best meal we had in Piedmont, be sure to book a dinner!!Denise is doing a great job in her hotel !!!The hotel recommend a truffle hunting and we did it and it was great! We love our stay in this restored Castle and sure we want to came back!!The location is excellent, very close to all the interesting places to visit in this beautiful italian countryside !! Great hotel and great staff, they do everything to please you !!! Be sure to stay here, everything is perfect!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Small things like check out document being ready the moment you walk down the stairs, or wiping your car window with windex because our rental car was dirty. The attention to details takes it to a new level (and well beyond your typical 5-star hotels).

The restaurant in the hotel was also very amazing, but one thing to note is that the service level at the restaurant was not consistent across tables (we were the young Asian table): (1) All tables ordered the signature truffle pasta dish, and all but our table received truffle slices; (2) Most tables had the option of sharing their pasta dish where our table had to swap plates around the table in order to taste the other pasta dishes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HongKongTai_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We returned from a 10 day trip through Frnace and Italy, 3 nights if which were spent at the Castello di Sinio. Our stay there was truly spectacular and was the highlight of our travels. Denise and her staff do everything humanly possible not only to assure that everything is perfect and the Castle, but to be sure that you are having a fantastic time in the Piemonte region. Upon arrival, you are presented with a 10 page outline of everything you wanted to know about the region from wine tastings to restaurants, street markets,truffle hunts, ballooning etc. It serves as an insiders guide and is very thoughtfully organized and accurate. Welcome drinks are served, and then you are given a brief tour of this 1150 year old castle, immacutely restored to period yet providing all necessary modern conveniences. Denise, the owner and Executijve Chef is a wonderful person to sit and chat with, and she makes herself available throughout the day and night; the latter during dinner--which is an extraordinary culinary experience in the medieval dining room, not to be missed!! Castillo di Sinio is not to be thought of as just a great place to stay, but rather a destination onto itself!! Bravo Denise, and thanks for creating such a special place with lots of memories! We can't wait to return soon!!

Room Tip: All excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I have been to Hotel Castello di Sinio three times and Denise just gets better and better. We thoroughly enjoyed our last stay again. The staff is very hospitable and the extras on all the hospitality including keeping breakfast open for us late sleepers and wine and after dinner drinks she left for us with a nice note are just the beginning. Denise does a great job giving guidance on the area in terms of wine and food and many activities to do. We can't say enough about how great the place is ... its a real find ! Denise we look forward to seeing you again soon... Christina and Chip

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CChipBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We followed our GPS to the Hotel Castello di Sinio (a TomTom will take you through the small town, but cutting to the left before Sinio will give you a MUCH easier route to the hotel), renovated by the owner Denise Pardini who is a re-transplanted Italian/American and is a gifted chef as well. Yup, it’s a 900 year old castle all right. Overlooking vineyards, this place could easily be a movie set. The building dates from the 12th century and the timbers and planking are incredible. Our room had a terra cotta tile floor, a plethora of every imaginable toilet amenity and was newly renovated. The room we booked is a “superior” at about a couple hundred Euros and is decent sized at 24 sq. Meters (about 260 sq. ft.), but faces the courtyard. A 36 sq. meter room which faced the vineyards is 100 Euros more. The hotel even has a (admittedly pint sized) swimming pool. Staying at this hotel give one the feeling of being welcomed into Denise's family and into her castle home. Monica (more or less front desk), David (more or less concierge/sommelier) and Denise are generally available in the hotel lobby (living room?) to recommend things to see and do. They provide each guest with a 25 page document they have created with (very) candid reviews of local eateries, colored annotated maps and suggestions.

After dropping our bags in the room, we were indoctrinated by the concierge (actually a jack of many trades) into the content of the book the hotel prepared for us to tell us what there is to do and eat in the area.

The dinner at the hotel was extraordinary – probably among the best we have had on the trip so far (my starter was a “linguine” neri (I think this version was tagliatelli) made with squid ink (sepia) in a sauce of clams, mussels, cherry tomatoes, zucchini shavings and Pernod (an anise flavored liqueur). My main was the now repetitive fried duck comfit on a bed of mixed veggies. Dessert was a strawberry/lemonccello tiramisu with strawberry sherbet and lemon ices. This is wine country, so choosing from the long lists is a challenge for a novice (I’m barely beyond the red or white stage).

The next day, we figured that we would behave like everyone else and go wine tasting and had David make reservations at a winery. Dinner at the hotel was again exceptional and I would put a Michelin star or two on it. I won’t detail the food at the hotel each night other than to comment that it looks like the “cabaret” food you see in cooking contest and tastes as good as it looks.

This is a lovely hotel, run by lovely people with food good enough to have ruined me from eating at other restaurants for a long time to come :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ormont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Castello for two days in August and did not want to leave, undoubtedly it was the highlight of our three week trip across Europe.What could be better than this? absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Denise and her team. The rooms are charming, with every attention to detail. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the surrounding wine region of Piedmont is stunning, there is plenty to do and see, if you ever want to leave the hotel!
Denise, the owner, is also chef and the food in the restaurant was to die for.
We have already planned a return visit for next year, but maybe should be keeping this gem a secret.........................

Room Tip: All the rooms have an individual feel, the room we stayed in, Room 6, had a bathroom upstairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandGThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinio
15.1 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
664 reviews
11.8 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
503 reviews
16.9 mi away
Residenza San Vito
Residenza San Vito
#1 of 2 in Calamandrana
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
456 reviews
5.1 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
9.6 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello di Sinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello di Sinio

Address: Vicolo Castello 1, 12050 Sinio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Sinio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Price Range: $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello di Sinio 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious restored medieval castle at the epicenter of the foremost wine and gastronomic area in the world. Elegantly decorated with exquisite antiques and rich fabrics, all rooms offer modern amenities including satellite TV, Internet, air conditioning, large bathrooms, and attentive service. Luxuriate in the pool, gardens, and sauna. Unwind in the stylish common areas where you'll find tranquil outdoor seating in summer and cozy fireplaces in cool weather. Modern comfort and old traditions united. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Castello di Sinio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing