We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the Ocean and early Sun rise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bohol Vantage Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Dauis B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked here last year (around March-April 2012) thru online booking with a promo price, just for a few days, but extended to almost 3 weeks. Have a friendly staff, our breakfast is very good and it is included to the room price, and our room deluxe (with terrace) is always clean.. A bit far from the beaches, but its still the best for us as a couple to stay in a quite place with a nice view to the ocean, 2 bridges to the city, and the early sun rise. And thanks also for having a motorcycle rented- with discounted price.

Room Tip: Deluxed room overlooking the Ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vangie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Bohol Vantage Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

A bit far from the beach (and anywhere), but they have scooters for rent, so its not too bad. The best thing is the view of the ocean--from the dining area and from your room (if you get the deluxe room)

Nice service and clean room -- a little problem with ants, which isn't what one wants when you pay that much for a hotel, but other than that, it was great.

Stayed two nights

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked the Discover Bohol 4d3n package for about 13,700 each. Hanno, the owner of the resort is from Germany and has settled in Bohol since 2007. He is a very enthusiastic man who has a passion with his resort. He picked us up at the Taglibaran airport holding a yellow sign. He's a big man, so you won't miss him.

The place itself is awesome, welcoming you with amazing views of the city, the mountain, and the sea. This is not a beachfront property, but more of a mansion on a hill, hence the name Vantage Point.

He had staff living and working at the resort which was a good thing because they are always ready to attend to your needs. They are not as pro-active as I would like, so you always have to ask them what you need. Even then, they are the most kind, nice, and accommodating people I have ever encountered on any of my vacations.

The package included dinner that night at the restaurant, which had a breath-taking view. The food at the restaurant ranks from so-so to great. We went to Bohol in their low season (Dec 9-12) which means the place was being maintained as the workers re-paints the place, and aslo there are certain items on the food menu that were not available due to lack of ingredients. The plus side of this was my wife and I were the only guests in the place. Even our tour was private. We love this part the most.

The room itself was large, complete with air conditioning, fridge, TV, dvd player, hot/cold shower, working toilet, large bathroom, large balcony complete with a wooden hammock and of course the beautiful view of the sea, which will give you a lot of serenity.

On the 2nd day, we had breakfast (included in package) and was picked up by Louie the driver at 8:30 am. He was also a very nice man who freelances as a driver, but his wife works at the Vantage Resort.

We first went to the Chocolate Hills as this was the farthest point of the tour. The vehicle he picked us up in was very nice and in newer condition. The Chocolate Hills is a collection of small hills, in the shape of Hershey's kisses chocolates. Apparently in the summer (April-May), these hills get burned by the sun and turn chocolate brown, and that's how they got the name. When you get to the place, you walk up a tower where you can take pictures of the hills.

Next stop is the Tarsier Zoo. The guide let me to believe that these are extremely small, but as an adult they are actually not that small, more like the size of a small melon. You walk into this small park with trees and you can see the tarsiers holding on to the trees. You can take pictures of them and after you can buy souvenirs.

Next stop is the Xzootic Zoo where you can see these large domesticated pythons. These huge snakes have been bred and are totally harmless. This was quite disturbing since you can literally sit on them or lay down on them and they won't move. There are other animals in the small zoo such as two large ostriches, monkeys, owls, hawks, and small wild cats.

Next stop is the Hanging Bridge. This bridge completely made of bamboo and was quite scary crossing it. Every step it made a creaking sound and the bridge itself bobs up and down a lot. It was a fun experience though. On the other side of the bridge was just a souvenir shop. We bought taro cake, coconut juice and some drinks to quench the thirst as it was getting very hot.

Next stop is one of the oldest churches, built by the Spaniards when they first colonized the Philippines. They make the women cover up as it is regarded as proper attire when entering the church. The church was amazing inside and picture taking was allowed.

Next stop is the Blood Compact site, which is a statue commemorating some kind of an agreement between the Filipinos and the Spaniards. Take a picture and you're done.

The next day, you have to leave the resort by 5am as you are off to see the dolphins in the wild. The location of the boat launch is where the beach-front resorts are located. There it's mostly Europeans who stay there. The sun rise was so beautiful you have to see it for yourself. The sun looked huge and bright red, illuminating the clouds around it---stunning.

The boat takes about an hour to get to the main dolphin sites in the sea where they normally swim. It took us about another hour just searching for them. I was getting impatient and told the boat guide to just take us to the snorkelling island. As soon as we started heading to the island, the dolphins show up! There were three groups of about 10 that swim through the sea. They look very small but it was an amazing sight to see.

Once you get to the island for snorkelling, you have to pay to rent the equipment. It only cost about PHP1,000 or $24CAD to get everything for two people. The guide then takes you out to the sea to go snorkelling. Easily THE best snorkelling experience I ever had. You see the coral bed just drop off like a cliff into the deep waters. It gave me an illusion of flying over a ravine. We saw a lot of fish and other creatures like a barracuda and sea turtles.

Next stop, Virigin Island. On this island there are many shops for snacks like my favorite, banana-cue, which is a banana fried with brown sugar. The result is a banana with a caramel coating so delicious. The only downside of this place was that the pearl vendors will not leave you alone as they aggressively sell their products. If you ignore them or just say that you don't have money for them, they will eventually leave you alone.

The boat guides then take you back to the beach-front resorts. There my wife and I ate at one of the restaurants in the resorts. The food was delicious and low cost, about PHP200-300 per plate ($2-$4 CAD).

We were then driven back to the resort where you can use the nice swimming pool to cool off. At night they served us pizza, which was awesome! On this day, we just wind down, as we prepare to go to Boracay the next day.

THANKS to Hanno and his amazing staff! I tipped them and also the driver and the boat guides.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and are designed so you always have a view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ronpavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The owner, Hanno, is very hospitable. He personally fetched us from the pier. After we drank our welcome drinks, the staff lead us to our room and when we asked if we need to settle our payment now, Hanno trusts us and said we can settle it tomorrow. The american breakfast was awesome. When asked what we wanna have (eggs, sausage, bacon or toast), we said all!

The room (part of the 3D/2N Discover Bohol package) was spacious! We thought that having the lowest room might not have the best view but no. We saw the sun setting and moon rising from our room perfectly, it was breath taking.

The prices from the mini bar is reasonable and less expensive compared to the other hotels that we stayed. The food at the restaurant though is expensive but worth it. We always had a blast after dinner, the foods are delicious and the staffs are very friendly. The restaurant closes at 9pm but we fell asleep and woke up hungry past 9. The staff explained that the kitchen's closed but she was considerate enough to let us order appetizers since we were really hungry. So we ordered A LOT of appetizers plus an extra large pizza with our chosen toppings, she said in a low voice (but I heard that) "grabe" lol

We had our own van for the tour and our driver was quick and friendly.

We love the pool! In fact we take a dip early morning and before we go to bed.

We had a WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE at Bohol Vantage. In fact we extended 2 more nights of our stay there.


p.s.
I like the shimmering lotion in the basket of toiletries

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melodyheartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The first thing that greets you here is the breathtaking view and the fresh breeze. We loved everything about our stay - the quality and choice of food; the stunning view whilst eating; the peacefulness of the place; the charming, smiley, friendly service and our beautiful room, again with stunning view. The balconies are huge and we loved lounging around in the wicker hammocks. Would love to visit again. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fantastic !!


We stayed at Vantage in mid March to early April. We originally booked in for five nights but quickly extended this to twelve nights. We were very impressed with Vantage. It really felt like a home from home. It’s not on a beach, but this was not important for us.
Our room was perfect, very clean, light and the bed was comfortable. No problems with the air conditioner.
The Mini-bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. Bathroom is very clean and well stocked.
Vantage maintains very high standards throughout. Breakfast is very good and evening meals also. The staff are always very friendly, cheerful and very helpful.
We hired Vantages’ Yamaha 125 motorcycle for the whole of our stay. The hire rate is very reasonable and worked out the cheapest and the best way for us to get around. Helmets supplied.
The view from the rooms and restaurant is fabulous. 180 degree panorama.
Sunrise is amazing and it’s well worth waking at 5am to watch the sunrise !!
We booked with Vantage, the Dolphin Watching trip. It’s an early start but well worth the effort. We weren’t disappointed, there were about 15 Dolphins and they came very close to the boat.
We were very sad to leave and we will definitely be going back.
A very big Thank You to all at Vantage…!!!! We had a fantastic stay…!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcus4444076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

When reviewing a place to stay, especially in this type of forum, one needs to take several things into account.
As others have stated the views are the best, from both their restaurant and the rooms.
That is a fact.
Our room, a Superior Room, was smallish but adequate.
Everything in it was spotlessly clean. One minor dislike was that they have vertical blinds and when the sun rises the room is fully lit. Makes it hard to sleep beyond sunrise if you like the dark to sleep in, like we do.
The staff were superb. Friendly, helpful and cheerful.
The downside to this place, through no fault of their own, is the transport.
Boholano taxis and pedicabs will rip you off to the max.
A taxi will charge you double the meter rate because you are a foreigner and especially if you are on the island of Panglau. They tell you this straight up. There is no good reason for this and they should be ashamed.
Pedicabs are worse. Their rate is local x 10!!!
We hired a scooter from the hotel for P600/day which made getting around the island far less costly than it would have otherwise have been and we didn't have to put up with the incessant sales pitch nearly every Pinoy cabbie seems to have.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinoInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauis
1.6 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
396 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
183 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mithi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,457 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohol Vantage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohol Vantage Resort

Address: 1 Panorama St. | Mayacabac, Dauis 6339, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island > Dauis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dauis
Price Range: $35 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bohol Vantage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-Holiday resort with 14 spacious rooms/apartments, located on Dayo Hill, Panglao Island-Near to the white sand beaches of Panglao Island and also Tagbilaran-Each room has large terrace with the magnificent view-Le Panorama restaurant and the poolbar offer European and Asian foods-Ideal place to enjoy Bohol´s nature, places of interest, the beaches and to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bohol Vantage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohol Vantage Resort Bohol Province/Dauis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing