We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4/5 for the Restaurant 2/5 for the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seillans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 719 helpful votes
“4/5 for the Restaurant 2/5 for the Hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Given there is no separate listing for the restaurant and the hotel and I would like to review both, then I shall do them both in turn. We stayed here with a group of friends for 2 nights and had dinner upon arrival.

The ambience at the restaurant is superb, the combination of stone fronted walls, "still life" type photography on large canvasses, ceramic fruit and veg under glass domes (why Nicolas the owner does not consider selling them at commission is beyond me, they are beautiful!) Open style kitchen visible from most tables adds a nice touch, as do the wooden holders for menus, etc, and then there is lovely food. Lovely amuse bouche of marinated anchovy was a nice surprise, the lobster ravioli entree also very good even if pasta was significantly overcooked so much so that meat was almost sitting separately hidden by white foam of something indiscernible. The main, however, of le loup (sea bass) fish with confit of lemon served with lovely mixture of sun dried tomato and veggies, was excellent. My friends had sweetbreads, which was too large and too rich on its own, it would have been better accompanying small piece of meat. Service, mostly by Nicolas the owner was attentive and unobtrusive. Ambience is amazing and makes up for any shortfalls. Good value restaurant a must when staying in surrounding villages of Callian, Montareux or Fayance.

As to hotel, overall, it was good, rooms full of eclectic nic-nacs, clean, with decent toiletries and cosy interiors (though no sunblock at all on windows, so bring eye mask if light bothers you). There was funny musky smell on the ground floor and the stairways we couldn't tell why, and friends in room Rose and the double around the corner from them had noise issues, as many rooms have swinging type doors in the bathroom, and they make horrid noise resounding in other rooms. We all said we would stay here again, however a particular experience with one member of stuff has spoilt the whole experience for us. The certain Ms Hellmuth who took care of front desk on Sunday and Monday, 4 of us who were in 3 different rooms are frequent travelers but none of us experienced anything like it. It seems the person is either untrained, or really hates her job.

It started with the fact that this staff member was responsible for breakfast, she was unfriendly, did not fill egg cooker with sufficient water, eggs literally half cooked, she just simply showed no care for any of the patrons. Later in the afternoon, we were going out and were loudly told by her that the hotel will be shut (this is at 4pm on a Sunday). Why was not made clear to us as she spoke German, she has to leave, this much we understood. She got extremely annoyed when a group of 6 guests arrived to hinder her "escape". We found it amazing that a hotel could shut just like that with not a single person in a hotel to welcome guests. Ms Hellmuth told us we can use our keys to get back into the door she was so desperate to shut and escape. Imagine our surprise when we returned from our drinks in the village later in the afternoon (La Gloire de mon Per - excellent setting and service just down the road from the hotel), to find the door locked and noone around, and our keys not working at all. We knocked on every door, and getting increasingly anxious about it, were "rescued" by another guest nearly an hour later. What this staff member did not bother to tell us is that there was little tag on our key with some sort of code that has to be used, and 2 of our keys had no such tag at all.

However, the following morning took the cake. As she was desperate to escape Sunday night, we asked her to book us a taxi for 18.45 as we had restaurant booking at Moulin de la Camandoule in Fayence (excellent place!) at 7pm. We asked in English and there was at least 3 of us to witness the request. She rang someone. No taxi showed up, we were anxious to miss our booking at Camandoule, to cut the long story short, she booked it for an hour later, which Nicholas the owner discovered when he luckily happened to pass through the hotel in the evening, as when no taxi could be had, ended up driving us there in his personal car, which we much appreciated. To make matters worse, the next morning Ms Hellmuth started her discourse with us upon check out, with the following: "there was misunderstanding last night... you told me X, it was your fault". We were shocked! We were there and heard, and even if all 4 of us were wrong, good service would have dictated that she said "I am so sorry for the taxi issue last night", no, she argued, pulled faces and was sarcastic and rude. Then she announced in loud German (only one of our party spoke German) that bill is to be paid, and then in English that the restaurant bill from night before was split in 4 already, how, why was never explained. She refused to produce the restaurant bill so that we could at least sort out amongst ourselves, since we all had different things the night before. When I suggested that to make things easier in the future, maybe it would help if they asked if the guests want the bill split in this manner and then have no hope of reconstructing it, she sarcastically answered that she was "sorry for our problem", and when we pointed out that there was no need for sarcasm, pulled a face and was extremely rude. To be honest, we felt treated as badly as the owners' dog that for whatever reason she dragged out of breakfast room where everyone was more than happy to pet it, and chained it to heater in the front room. Awful service, that left terrible aftertaste and decision that we would try to stay somewhere else next time. Shame really because the owners are lovely people who clearly have put their heart and soul into the hotel in the 6 years since buying it.

If the rude woman wasn't there, I would recommend this hotel most certainly, especially as its great value 73 euros for single and 115 for double (and same for twin my friend and I shared (room called Patchouli which is lovely). Beds are very good; 15 euros for breakfast is probably not worth it but its convenient. Bonus of the gorgeous restaurant for dinner is what makes it particularly a worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: Patchouli is roomy and faces onto quiet street so one can sleep with open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
43
116
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is just like a living doll house, filled with beautifully presented trinkets and treasures.

The cobbled square outside where you dine is just gorgeous, with a lovely fountain in the middle and an old town wall as the back-drop.

Food is very good and wonderfully presented.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor which was a bit small especially the shower, but I think the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ate here on our honeymoon on the recommendation of the concierge at the Four Seasons resort. What a surprise. This place has the best ambiance of any restaurant we've dined at, and we've dined at many nice places. I probably shot 20 different pictures all from my seat, where we st outside near the fountain.

We sat down at 8pm when the sun was still up, and got to watch the moon come up over the village by the time we were finished at 10pm.

The food was excellent, and very unique. Adventurous eaters will love it, but if you're looking for standard foods, you might not like it as much.

The waiter was very friendly and translated every item on the French-only menu into English for us, and also helped us select a great local wine. The staff was very attentive.

This review is for the restaurant only as we did not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregpoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The dining room at des Deux Rocs is very special and the table setting is interesting and unique. The food was interestingly prepared with care and served promptly by a very pleasent waiter who was very helpful despite our poor French. This place is really worth a visit and dining outside in the summer must be wonderful. My only complaint was that the dining room was quite cold with the only evident heat coming from the ovens in the kitchen, it could have been cooler than usual but the temperature in a dining room should be comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywonderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel des 2 Rocs for two nights earlier this month, in April 2012, and had a wonderful stay once we got past the road destruction in front of the building. Earth digging and moving equipment completely blocked the way to the hotel so we had to back back down the narrow road park in the village's main parking lot. Still worked up from that drama we checked in, and were rewarded by being told we had been upgraded to a bigger room. It was absolutely lovely - large, filled with antiques, paintings, very comfortable chair. The bed was large and comfortable. And there was a bathtub, which I used both evenings to relax before dinner.

We both had some kind of stomach bug (contracted before checking in) but in spite of this we ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was a bit quirky but beautifully presented and delicious. The menu is presented on a wooden paddle, like an old hornbook. The dishes have symbols next to them to denote traditional, contemporary, light. Most of the dishes have some kind of twist - for instance my husband ordered a terriine that was made of the all the ingredients for a pot au feu. All nicely diced and gelled together. Very pretty, but different.

But I think the real gem was the waiter, a very capable, helpful, friendly young man. He spoke very good English, which he used when speaking to my husband, but spoke French to me since it was evident I wanted to use my French. He helped us choose a local wine, and then when he noticed us taking a picture of the label he brought over a brochure about the local wines and told us how to find the winery. When I told him the second night I was having stomach issues and wanted something light he helped me choose the fish, and then asked if I wanted maybe mashed potatoes with it? His attentiveness made an already pleasurable stay really special.

Unfortunately it poured most of our full day in the area so we didn't get to see as much of the surrounding villages as we would have liked. We just may have to return, maybe when it is a bit warmer so we can eat outside by the fountain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dapurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here in October 2011 and found the hotel quirky but charming and we had a wonderful evening meal by the fountain. Our triple room was pleasant, but the water from the shower dripped behind the bath and must be causing a serious problem with mould. The single bed was very narrow and had no bedside table and the lights were so few and so dim that it was difficult to read at night. At breakfast the next day we were treated in an unfriendly way. Later, when I asked for an iron, I was treated with not just unfriendliness but with barely concealed rage. It was a Monday and the hotel owners' day off, so when one of the only two lights in our room blew a lightbulb and we knew reading would now be IMPOSSIBLE there was nobody to ask for help. I had to penetrate the kitchens and found the owner. He replaced the bulb but with barely concealed irritation. I felt I was intruding in his private life rather than being a paying guest. It's a shame as the village is wonderful, the restaurant highly romantic provided the weather is fine enough to eat outside and not in the rather unpleasant dining room, and the hotel is in an ideal situation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margauxfrance, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Before going further, we wish to thank our prestigious customers for having taken some of their precious time in order to post comments on our property.

All remarks are constructive to us and it is very important to have our clients feed back in order to improve the quality of the service provided and exceed our clients expectations to make their stay a memorable one.

We would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comment, as we find it not objective and extremely nasty.

Perfection does not exist; let us mention that this is true for both sides. Even though it is not our wish to enter into details; we would have enough reasons to comment on the outrageous behaviour during your stay with us.

Our only and exclusive objective is to sell dreams and make customers happy. For some staff at the hotel this has been the main concern for many years and probably the most important one of their life after their family.

We live on site with family and never, never has it been a problem for us when a customer speaks to us, request a service, we asked to change a light bulb! Even during our day of rest with family and the customer comes to pick us up in the "PRIVATE" the house with the light bulb!

It is obvious that there are many bad times in this review and if we did not like welcome ghest at home, we would have chosen another profession ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a lovely and quirky hotel with a world class restaurant. The owners are friendly and tolerant of those of us who speak French really badly. Our room was comfortable with a view over the 'deux rocs' and the fountain after which the street was named. The village is really beautiful and my partner and I really enjoyed exploring the streets and the surrounding area. The hotel's restaurant is truly exceptional. I had the best meal here that I have ever had and I have been around a bit! The chefs put such effort into all aspects of preparing the meal - it wasn't cheap but it was a truly memorable meal. I can recommend this hotel very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seillans
2.4 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Oliviers
Hotel Les Oliviers
#3 of 5 in Fayence
113 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lachens
Hotel Du Lachens
#1 of 1 in La Bastide
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
201 reviews
8.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bain
Grand Hotel Bain
#1 of 1 in Comps-sur-Artuby
123 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Chateau de Taulane
Le Chateau de Taulane
#1 of 1 in La Martre
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs

Property: Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs
Address: 1 place Font d'Amont, Seillans, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Seillans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Deux Rocs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing