We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just unfriendly, outright rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seillans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here in October 2011 and found the hotel quirky but charming and we had a wonderful evening meal by the fountain. Our triple room was pleasant, but the water from the shower dripped behind the bath and must be causing a serious problem with mould. The single bed was very narrow and had no bedside table and the lights were so few and so dim that it was difficult to read at night. At breakfast the next day we were treated in an unfriendly way. Later, when I asked for an iron, I was treated with not just unfriendliness but with barely concealed rage. It was a Monday and the hotel owners' day off, so when one of the only two lights in our room blew a lightbulb and we knew reading would now be IMPOSSIBLE there was nobody to ask for help. I had to penetrate the kitchens and found the owner. He replaced the bulb but with barely concealed irritation. I felt I was intruding in his private life rather than being a paying guest. It's a shame as the village is wonderful, the restaurant highly romantic provided the weather is fine enough to eat outside and not in the rather unpleasant dining room, and the hotel is in an ideal situation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margauxfrance, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Before going further, we wish to thank our prestigious customers for having taken some of their precious time in order to post comments on our property.

All remarks are constructive to us and it is very important to have our clients feed back in order to improve the quality of the service provided and exceed our clients expectations to make their stay a memorable one.

We would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comment, as we find it not objective and extremely nasty.

Perfection does not exist; let us mention that this is true for both sides. Even though it is not our wish to enter into details; we would have enough reasons to comment on the outrageous behaviour during your stay with us.

Our only and exclusive objective is to sell dreams and make customers happy. For some staff at the hotel this has been the main concern for many years and probably the most important one of their life after their family.

We live on site with family and never, never has it been a problem for us when a customer speaks to us, request a service, we asked to change a light bulb! Even during our day of rest with family and the customer comes to pick us up in the "PRIVATE" the house with the light bulb!

It is obvious that there are many bad times in this review and if we did not like welcome ghest at home, we would have chosen another profession ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a lovely and quirky hotel with a world class restaurant. The owners are friendly and tolerant of those of us who speak French really badly. Our room was comfortable with a view over the 'deux rocs' and the fountain after which the street was named. The village is really beautiful and my partner and I really enjoyed exploring the streets and the surrounding area. The hotel's restaurant is truly exceptional. I had the best meal here that I have ever had and I have been around a bit! The chefs put such effort into all aspects of preparing the meal - it wasn't cheap but it was a truly memorable meal. I can recommend this hotel very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pmforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Disappointing to read negative reviews by the Moaning Minnies who lack perspective. The luxury of this hotel is constrained by its inaccessible location and centuries old building. The owners do a fine job in reflecting the character and idiosyncracies of the location, with a family atmosphere that includes the discrete presence of pets and children. The service is under-stated but attentive when required. The food is exceptional. It is a comfortable rustic hotel in a beautiful setting with neat and clean rooms, albeit that some of the hotel shows its age - that is part of its charm. We had a memorable two day stay in this lovely village in the early Autumn with an outstanding evening meal complemented with two high-quality local wines. Those expecting the Carlton or Majestic in a perched village should probably stay somewhere else...

Room Tip: Rooms reflecting pricing tiers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lanod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We thought this place was great. Perhaps a little quirky for some but the furniture and furnishings suit the building beautifully and we thought it was very tasteful. We stayed in the Mimosa room which is one of the biggest rooms. It was full of character, really spacious and the bathroom was immaculate with good quality repro fittings.

There is no room service/air conditioning etc but we didn't really expect that in a building from the 1700s in a sleepy wee town like Seillans.

We ate in the dining room one night and in the square by the fountain the next. The food was fantastic and the staff very professional. The young maitre d' was excellent and very knowledgeable about wine. Special mention for the cheese course with local tangerine and lemon jams to accompany the local cheeses.

Other reviewers have commented on the owners' lack of welcome. Whilst they certainly could never be accused of being chatty they were very polite and helpful and pretty cool. And they have a great dog.

If you like travel lodges/Ibis hotels etc this is probably not for you.

Room Tip: The Mimosa room was a lovely big bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

It is a crazy drive to get here but once you do the hotel is charming and it is a nice setting. The bed is very comfortable and there is everything you need here. Breakfast is yummy. Most of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and indulgent of our bad French. The shower could be improved by having glass door so the water doesn't drip onto the bathroom floor but overall a very pleasant place to stay and explore the region.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have stayed in the village before and thought the hotel looked lovely so we came back for a long weekend. They have 3 grades of rooms and we had a Deluxe room which I think was well worth it as still only about E 135, We saw the smaller rooms and they are also perfectly nice though. The hotel is charming and nicely decorated with French antiquey stuff throughout. The lighting is moody rather than bright but this is something we have found consistant with French character hotels. The owners actually run the place and are very nice to deal with. They have a fantastic outdoor courtyard restaurant as well as the indoor one.

The restaurant is expensive though and Although we ate there a few years ago we didnt this time as its just too pricey. Breakfast is E13 and its not bad value with a good selection of bread and pastries and the usual continental meat and cheese selection. Never got that bit, who wants cold meat and cheese for brekky ? continentals apparently !
(I actually watched a guest across the courtyard at breakfast make a little meat and cheese sandwhich on his baguette. Then dip it in his coffee before eating! Ugggh !)

Anyway. There is a lovely courtyard with a fountain and maple trees about 2 minutes walk down the lanes from the hotel. It has a couple of very nice restaurants as well and is an extremely pleasant place to eat and drink.

Whats nice about Seillans is that its very pretty and only 45 mins from Nice, away from all the chaos down at the coast. Its a nice drive across to Grasse or down to Frejus then along the Corniche D'or to Cannes. Loads of things to see and do locally. A nice trip is up to the village of Mons which is in the hills behind Seillans and Fayance. Fayance has a very good saturday market.

Happy togive any tips to any potential visitors

Room Tip: ask for the first floor to save stairs use
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Just spent a two-day week-end at Hotel des Deux Rocs. The hotel is ideally located at the top of the village of Seillans, meters away from the small traditional provence-style streets.

We stayed in two large rooms on the first floor (one decorated with Napoleon memorabilia and the one next to it) and it was just great. These two rooms are very large, with a very nice decoration done with a personal touch from the owners.

We had dinner at the hotel on Saturday night. First the owners provided us with two simple but 'gastronomic' kid meals (not the standard burger & fries). Then, when our turn came, it was a full delight: I had the impression that all the best local products were found on my plate (try the olives, the cheeses, the beef,...) Great upscale meal in this charming hangout!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seillans
2.3 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
7 mi away
Hotel Du Lachens
Hotel Du Lachens
#1 of 1 in La Bastide
99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Oliviers
Hotel Les Oliviers
#3 of 5 in Fayence
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
14.6 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#15 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
337 reviews
20 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#41 of 126 in Cannes
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs

Address: 1 place Font d'Amont, Seillans, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Seillans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seillans
Price Range: $105 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant des Deux Rocs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Deux Rocs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing