We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provence at it's best”

La Gloire de mon Pere
Reserve with
La Gloire de mon Pere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Seillans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Provencal post card with the terrasse set up around the fontain in the shade from the old planes trees.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Provence at it's best”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The restaurant is exactly what one wants when discovering Provence. Cosy, full of local people and with traditional food. I've been there few times and always had a good experience. I find the meat better than the fish. The starters are all very good, my preferred is aubergine cannelloni with goat cheese. The desserts are all fantastic ( 'cafe gourmand' is also great - with a full selection of tiny treats). Very friendly staff. Although, I must admit, in summer they can get overwhelmed... The best time to go is when the weather is good and you can sit outside by a huge tree and a fountain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monikah145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    216
    49
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to this excellent restaurant and it did not disappoint. The service was excellent and the food superb.
Eric the owner is charming and makes you feel very welcome.
A must if you are in the area!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EJM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayence, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Its a question of bums on seats”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Its a question of bums on seats... have eaten here often over the last 6 or 7 years now it has absobed the competition en-face I am not sure that they are hitting the mark as often as they did...will continue to report!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BiboErgoSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely "breakfast", coffee, and two dinners”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really enjoyed our first night in Seillans, when we had a Saturday night dinner indoors (because of rain) on the 1st of September. They were accommodating as I am pregnant so I cannot have underdone meats, raw milk cheeses, etc. My young daughter was treated really well and overall we loved the meal. Only issue was that the owner's mother who acts as billing professional told us service was "not compris", and it totally was, so as we had been 7 for dinner, we paid quite a bit extra that was cheekily requested of us.

The next day we returned and sat outside late in the morning at the square for coffees and ice creams and it was perfect.

Our last night we returned for dinner and it was again, lovely - - this time outside, and even though it was September, the mosquitoes were rather active.

Our final morning we returned for a coffee, and learned that you need to hop down the "Grand Rue" to the boulangerie for your croissant. That said, it was brilliant to bring your own, and then have a lovely seat at the square for the cost of simply a cafe.

We plan to return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We thought that we were returning to Le Relais d'Olea, which we had very much enjoyed last year (so much so that we returned 3 times), and sat at a table on the familiar side of the Place du Thouron.

The food was uninspiring (eg pasta which tasted as though it came from a packet rather than freshly made) and it was only mid-way through our meal that we spotted the change of name over the restaurant. The Gloire de mon Pere has now taken over both sides of the square, and unfortunately it has also brought down the quality to the lowest common denominator.

There are far better restaurants in Seillans / Fayence than this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloire de mon Pere also viewed

Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Gloire de mon Pere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing