We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tesoro Escondido
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Angela(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bocas Inn(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oasis(Carenero Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
250
37
13
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
37
13
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeprivate beachthe ownerin townplaya bluffother guestsher husbandwaves crashfeel right at homewe loved our staytaking carea lot of funan amazing placethe main housesolar powergreat hostsmonique
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 318 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

First the drawback (and only drawback): it is a bit far from Bocas Town and waiting and paying for taxis is a bit of a pain. That aside, Tesoro Escondido has been one of the best places to stay in all my years of traveling. The annoyance of the taxi ride is well worth getting away from the bustle of Bocas Town to enjoy the beauty of the ocean and trees that surround Tesoro Escondido. I love walking around in bare feet and I did so without picking up annoying sand everywhere I walked. The hotel is kept extremely clean. Maxi and Jane were excellent hosts and incredibly helpful when making daytime plans. The group breakfasts and dinners at Tesoro add to the experience as a great way to meet other travelers. There is a vibe about the hotel that commits you to relaxing and feeling like you are on vacation in a tropical paradise! This was the cheapest yet the best place I stayed in all of Panama - the value is truly amazing. It defies the "you get what you pay for" saying. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hostel type hotel is located on Bluff Beach on Isla Colon. My husband and I stayed in the Mariposa apartment which is well equipped with everything you need and best of all, a refrigerator that actually keeps things cold. Their staff is super friendly and a lot of fun. They treated us as if we were lifelong friends. I only wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiegots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was exactly what we were looking for. It's away from the party town if Bocas and very quiet, except for the powerful waves crashing just off the decks.

The kitchen is well equipped and the "free box" saved us! We so appreciated being able to cook our own meals and use some of the staples we forgot to buy in town.

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about what to do for day trips, although we found it hard to get out of the comfortable chairs and hammocks at all!

I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for peace and quiet with a good view.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MKWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived in Bocas and found this eco lodge to be absolutely perfect! It's located right on the beach. The atmosphere is so relaxing and peaceful, it was a great experience. We had reservations for 2 nights, but ended up staying 4 nights because it was so great. The owners are very warm and friendly and the staff there are wonderful. The rooms are clean and very spacious. At night, you can hear the waves crashing on the beach. There are monkeys and sloths that live in the trees nearby...really fun to watch. They offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner at very reasonable prices and the menu was absolutely delicious. During dinner, you can eat with the other guests staying there and socialize. They also have a full service bar to enjoy a drink after a long day at the beach. During our stay, we explored Bocas and took a snorkeling day trip. The staff arranged for a taxi and was very helpful recommending tour companies in town.

The Tesoro Escondido is truly an amazing place. We were so impressed during our stay that we'll be having our wedding there next year. We're so excited to share this treasure with our family and friends. It's the only place you should stay when you visit Bocas!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic hostel type hotel located by Bluff beach on Isla Colon which is awesome because you're so close to town yet out of the mess. It's up a hill, situated on a cliff over looking the sea, surrounded by trees. Everyone there was super great..friendly and helpful! It's a colorful place with lots of hammocks and levels. We paid $55/night for a room with a private balcony and bathroom. The bed was pretty comfortable and falling asleep to the waves crashing on the shore was the best. If you're looking for extra seclusion- it's not for you. But if you don't mind a little community vibe it's in a great location on the island with excellent views.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LaMunyeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews