We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights at the end of our month long honeymoon in NZ. The apartments are beautiful, lovely decor, fittings, and everything you need to make stay comfortable. Toiletries were nice in the bathroom. View is amazing!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is truly the best located of all those we saw as we drove through Northland. The views from the room we had were stunning. The room itself was beautiful and were well decorated.

The negatives were that there were dead spiders and other insects along the walls. Given that it would take 1 min to vacuum them, I thought it was disappointing that they were there even after our room had been serviced. The other was the aunts. We had to spray and wipe down the kitchenette many times on arrival and throughout our stay. We couldn't make use of their tea and coffee because there were aunts all over them! Not sure what they could do to fix that but it was the one detractor from being a 5 star hotel.

Despite that, we loved the place and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protraveller1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfect weekend away, very tidy accommodation with an amazing view and living space. All the facilities available and a quick walk to the beach. Close to some fantastic beaches in New Zealand's far North.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghan004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I'm afraid to say too much in this review as then the secret will be out! We stayed in Villa Number 22, a corner unit at the front, so the views were spectacular. The whole place is comfortable, spacious, well equipped, homely, views you can just sit and look out at all day, so if it rains it doesn't matter. Steve and Shanny were great. One of us had a (really good) birthday and we needed a tin and scales to bake a cake and they lent us theirs. Good location, near Mangonui, near Kare Kare Peninsula, and a great beach just at the bottom of the road. Highly recommend Doubtless Bay Villas, we'll definitely come again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ailsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had a 3 night stay with friends who had a 2 level 2 bedroom villa for a week. I stayed in an immaculate, spacious studio apartment directly below, with uninterrupted views of Doubtless Bay and the hillside from the floor to ceiling side window, an extra bonus from being in the end villa. Opening two internal doors created a 3 level 3 bedroom villa with views to die for. The verandah off the living/dining area comfortably seats 6 for outdoor dining and the kitchen was very well equipped, which made cooking easy and enjoyable. There is also a toilet and separate laundry on the living room level. Picturesque Mangonui, with its great fish shop and 1904 Cafe, is a 5 minute drive away and the walk to the beach is about the same. There's a tennis court with great views and the hosts were happy to provide racquets and balls. Everything looked clean, new and well maintained. The only thing to complain about was my tennis playing.

Room Tip: No. 22, the end villa is great because of the side windows. The second bedroom upstairs had brillian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My family and I stayed in a beautiful villa for a week, it was wonderful and oh so relaxing. Our villa was equipped with everything you could need, great kitchen and amenities, comfortable beds, large lounge, and a hop-skip-and-jump to the closest beach. There are many fantastic beaches and walks to explore nearby, the managers are very knowledgeable and ready to help! Nothing better than waking up to a great view and ending your day with sundowner's on the balcony overlooking the bay. Easy to get to too! Thank you Doubtless Bay Villas!

Room Tip: We had the left corner villa at the front - I think it has the best view! And shot-gun the master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent here 3 nights. Every thing I read about this place is true ! I strongly recommend it and we hope to come back some day...... Mangonui at 5 km is a very pleasant place to visit and to have coffee at the 1904 café. There is a good supermarket at 2 km and at Mangonui, just across the café. We bought food & wine and had a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
0.3 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cable Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range: $145 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. all Villas and Studios are non-smoking. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing