We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional villas and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional villas and views”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I chose a 2-bedroom villa for my family to stay towards the end of our trip to Northland. It was a great choice and everyone was impressed to have a spacious apartment style place to relax for a few days. The villa is extremely well equipped with all the necessities you'd find at home. They've really thought of everything. The full-size kitchen is well stocked with amenities and includes a dishwasher with powder so we ended up cooking one night. The downstairs area is the open plan kitchen, laundry, dining room and living room with balcony overlooking the ocean. Upstairs are two bedrooms with ensuites, the master bedroom has the best view with a private balcony also overlooking the sea. The villas are perched on a hillside giving wonderful views across the blue sea, which is just a short walk away. Definitely recommended if you're looking for something special

Room Tip: The two bedroom villas are two levels giving great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Cyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa in the front block, for 6 nights. Spacious kitchen, dinning room and lounge; superb ocean views - it felt like we were on a cruise ship looking out at the horizon!! Dinning table had chairs for 6, full laundry and kitchen. Everything is pretty much new, the hosts (Shanny & Steve) are freindly and welcoming - even gave us some of their homemade fudge. There's no direct access to the beach, which is a pity - you have to walk down the road, only takes 5-10 minutes. Also, the towels were quite stiff and firm for my liking. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the Cable Bay beach beneath us. Very relaxing.
Take a sun umbrella if you are there in the summer as there's no shade on the decks.

Room Tip: best rooms are either 23 or 22 as they have unabstructed views. They are in the front block which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

These Villas are fantastic . Even better than the photos. We stayed 4 nights at the end of a hectic fortnight's travels and just stayed still for 4 days. The view is mesmerizing, beach lovely to stroll, safe swimming and a shop with ice creams. The accomodation itself is luxurious and beautifully presented and maintained, but still comfortable to lounge in. Kitchen has everything you need and plenty of basics such as washing up liquid, laundry and dishwasher powder provided. Do spend the extra to stay in the one bedroom villa ; studio suite is fine but one bedroom has so much more space. If you feel the need to go out Coopers Beach is also lovely to stroll and swim and had best meal ever at Waterfront Cafe and Bar at Manganoui.

Room Tip: One bedroom villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Promise59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great place to stay too unwind. Managers were lovely. Very approachable and knowledgeable about the area. The villa was immaculate, very modern and spacious. Would loved a tv perhaps in the main bedroom and perhaps a spa would be gret to offer too.Differenly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammyj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I hesitate to write a review because the views and accommodations were fabulous. If too many people find out about this quiet spot it may become too popular. We only spent 3 nights, but could easily stay longer. Not only was the most beautiful beach right below, but Sitting on the patio watching the world go by was fantastic.

Go here if you like quiet elegance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved our three nights in a two bedroom villa here. We were originally planning to stay in Russell, however, because of the time of year we couldn't get accommodation. We are so glad we chose Doubtless Bay Villas instead! The villa was very modern, spacious and being in number 19, we had front row views to the bay - gorgeous! Shanny was very welcoming and approachable and showed us around our villa.

Cable Bay is lovely and we enjoyed swimming and spending time on the beach. The beach was popular, although not at all crowded.

Our only minor suggestion would be to include a bbq on the balcony of no. 19.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The studio unit was perfect with an epic view overlooking beautiful Cable Bay. The room was clean, modern and quiet. My fiance and I had just intended to stay 2 nights but couldn't resist extending for a 3rd. Tennis courts with a view were another bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
3.0 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
10.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.2 mi away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Property: Doubtless Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing